We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel, location and price”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Kingston and is on the water. The rooms are standard, however, the desk is a well-designed L-shaped (good for business travellers). The staff were very cordial and helpful. Good place to stay in downtown Kingston, especially given the price.

Also, the bathroom felt as though it had heated floors, which is always nice.

Room Tip: The rooms with doors connecting to other rooms are a bit loud, try and avoid these if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalithaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear TalithaN,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us! We do love what we do here for our guests, so I'm glad that it shows! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    293
    183
    86
    44
See reviews for
240
290
24
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and had a marvelous stay.
It is a beautiful hotel right in the thick of things. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, we ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious.
If you are looking for a friendly, comfortable, welcoming and reasonably priced hotel....then the Holiday Inn waterfront is great for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Diane B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of your stay! We love to hear when guests leave happy and love it even better when they share their experience with others. Thank you so much for being our guest and we hope to have you back again!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnprior
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was great! I was there for a convention, and for a smaller city hotel, they put bigger hotels in Toronto to shame. Lots nearby, restaurants and bars, you also have Fort Henry and all the sites this city has to offer.

A special shout out to a couple of the front desk staff Christina and Holly Marie "Hotel McGyver' who went the extra mile to accomodate me.

Only bad point i have to mention is the fitness area on the pool deck has to move. It's too humid and hot, for any kind of half decent workout. More fitness equipment is also needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Ken D,

Thanks so much for your great review! We do love what we do here for our guests, so I am glad that it shows! We always like to make sure that our guests are getting everything they need to have a fantastic stay, so thank you for the applause in accomplishing that! We hope to have you and back again soon for another stay. Take care!

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel. The service from the front desk was excellent. The view of the water was great, and the location was perfect for downtown restaurants and the university. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler743a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear traveler743a

Thanks for sharing your wonderful stay with us! We always love to hear about our staff making our guests smile! We hope to have you back again soon for another Kingston experience!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a little family getaway! We were very impressed with the rooms, cleaned, smelled good, everything worked (lights, tv, etc)! We enjoyed the pool and the staff in the restaurant were great! We had an amazing view from our room! Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel22B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mel22B,

Thanks so much for your review! We do love what we do here for our guests, so I'm glad that it shows! We hope to have you and your family back again soon for another stay. Take care!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Waterfront in downtown Kingston. The hotel itself, while overpriced, was OK...not great, not bad. However, when I travel, which is fairly often, I rely on the availability of wireless internet services. This hotel advertises free wifi, which is really stretching the definition of both 'free' and 'wifi'. The basic connection was weak, unreliable, and cut in and out every few seconds. Of course, if you wanted to pay for wifi, you perhaps could have purchased a package that would provide more reliable service.
It was virtually useless - which was entirely inconvenient. So - if you are going for business, and are counting on using their internet services, I would look elsewhere. If you are going with your family, and they use the wireless internet at your hotel, I would similarly look elsewhere. If it's not a big deal to either access internet or you don't mind paying for it, then this would be an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon_Braithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jon_Braithwaite,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I will use your comments to assist with our future business planning sessions to improve guest experiences.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What started out as anticipated as a great stay slowly deteriorated. I first must point out the two great positives of this hotel. Staff are exceptional in customer service and the location is fantastic. Was very impressed with the front desk staff who handle check-in with efficiency yet personalized service. Observed one employee expertly handling an upset customer over the price of the last room and the fact no discount being offered due to the fact many basketball teams in house the next two nights. She even assisted in trying to find alternative accommodation. Cannot beat the location on the edge of the water and accessibility to Princess street and its great bars, shopping and restaurants.
Unfortunately in our case, the rest of the stay does not live up to Holiday Inn standards. Room décor was nice but lots of areas showing age, poor workmanship and wear and tear. Tap in sink of bathroom was constantly running, Found lamp on one side of bed was broken. Called down to front desk was misunderstood as lightbulb being out, someone was at the door within 10 minutes with replacement. When explained switch was broken, a standing lamp was brought in as replacement and the next day a working table lamp was replaced.(impressive recovery). Same night at midnight, heating was not working. Security had to come up and reset, mentioned was second one that evening. Housekeeping did an adequate job though did not bother to make up the sofa bed. Pillows and towels are horrendous and bed was not comfortable for our liking. Friends of ours ate dinner at the restaurant as part of a group. They did not receive first drink until 45 minutes after arrival and entrees did not arrive until 11pm, over two hours after arrival. Compensation was offered by the hotel. The last item that dropped my rating to a 1 was that dreaded marketing fee tacked on to the bill. Though a common practice for a lot of hotels, I am vehemently opposed to this practice and feel there should be no such fee but at a minimum, full disclosure.(my total bill was only $3 higher than estimate provided on internet booking, but it is made to look like a tax when it is clearly a hotel budget item).
Pricing - at high end expect to pay $240 for last minute busy nights, $200 in advance for high occupancy dates and $140-$160 for groups or low occupancy nights.

Room Tip: Higher floor on water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear outbax

Thank you for sharing your opinion on your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but will use your comments for improvement in the areas you mention.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.1 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing