We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at your hotel recently, and had the pleasure of meeting Holly-Marie at the front desk. She went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable and that we had everything and more that we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coat_hangers_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear coat_hangers_rule,

We always appreciate the feedback, and are always glad to hear when it's a great experience. I'm happy to hear that Holly Marie was able to assist you. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    290
    182
    86
    44
See reviews for
239
288
24
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice within a week. The first stay was a standard room with 2 beds and a small bathroom. The second time we asked for an executive king room and it was like a different hotel. The room was very big with a really comfortable king bed, a desk, lots of spaces to plug in our 4 electronic devices, a sofa and coffee tables and 2 bedside tables, wall controlled heat and ac, a big bathroom with nice toiletries and a hair dryer and a perfect view of the harbor. It even had an alarm clock radio that had a soft blue glow after the lights were off so that you could easily see your way to the bathroom. It was room 443 if you are planning on staying here. Once again the staff was speedy and very friendly. Mary in the dining room was our waitress each time and she was wonderful. If you are anticipating touring Kingston or taking the St Lawrence 1,000 Island Cruise, you couldn't stay at a more convenient location. There is a tap room and many nearby shops and restaurants, the trolley to tour the city, dinner cruises and even the state alcohol store within a 2 easy block walk. The hotel is right at the dock and we walked the 1/3 block or less to get to our cruise with our luggage. You will pay for breakfast and pay for parking here. The room has a coffee maker and refrigerator as well as a flat screen tv with a channel guide. I am still giving the hotel an average for value because it is not inexpensive to stay here, however the second stay of ours was very good. We did not use the pool but others said it was very clean and nice. They also have 2 washers and 2 dryers for a fee of $2 each. Bring coins. We travel with detergent pods and fabric softener sheets, but for those who don't, there is a sign that says they are available for purchase at the front desk. While you are doing your laundry, there is a free house computer for your use right outside of the door and restrooms right there. The breakfast buffet ($12+)consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, potatoes, french toast and pancakes, fresh fruit mix, yogurt, cereals, coffee, juices, toast, bagels and some pastries. There is a brunch on Sunday but we checked out before that.

Room Tip: Room 443 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammy-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear jammy-10,

Thank you for commenting on your stay. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! We always love to hear feedback from our guests on how the property worked for them. We do like to make our guests happy with providing everything they need for a comfortable stay. Even if it is just a smile! We hope to have you back again soon, and thank you for the recommendation!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for years. Our first stay in Kingston was at another chain and we felt it was cold and unfriendly. Not so with the Holiday Inn Kingston waterfront! Staff is great, helpful and attentive without being intrusive!
For years we ,have mentioned only two things that needed improvement. One is the outside pool umbrellas and patio furniture and the other was the lack of king pillows on the king beds! Well we were thrilled on our recent visit to see that yes we now have king pillows!
Thank you for listening!
Bringing our 85 year old mom in July for a mini getaway and then just the two of us in
in August for our anniversary and can't wait to see if the pool umbrellas will have been updated.
You will not be disappointed with a stay at this location!

Room Tip: Always request a king and you will be guaranteed a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Lin7707,

Thank you for commenting on your stay! We are listening and am working on pool umbrella improvements. Please contact me at 613.549.8400 ext 2600 as I would like to discuss your request further.

See you soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 1 night, and we're extremely impressed with the quality and comfort of the room, how clean everything was but more importantly how welcoming, friendly and informative the staff were. Especially the bar man Brandon, who gave us great advice on where to visit while in Kingston (which was too much to fit into one day unfortunately) as well as loads of history about the area. Really nice place would definatly suggest to everyone to stay here while in Kingston.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear David M,

Thank you for commenting on your stay. We always appreciate the feedback, and are always glad to hear when it's a great experience. I'm also happy to hear that Brandon was able to help you find many attractions and sights to see while visiting Kingston. He is a wealth of knowledge!! Will we will see you around town again this summer? Hope so!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Food quite good. Staff very accommodating. Didn't use the pool or other facilities. Walking distance to many of the downtown attractions. Right at the Wolfe Island ferry.

Mayfly hatch was on so no one wanted to use the balconies but there is nothing the hotel can do about that.

I couldn't figure out the alarm clock but that's probably just me :)

Only down side - the elevators are extremely slow and very tiny for some reason. If you are mobility challenged you might want to choose a ground floor.

Room Tip: Both sides have a lake view. Upper are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear BeachandBeyond,

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is pretty key for any traveler coming to Kingston. It's nice to be located in the heart of this great city literally a hop skip and a jump from the so many restaurants, shopping and attractions. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

In town for a surprise party, we wanted a conveniently located hotel. The rooms were clean, if not fancy. Reasonably priced. Lovely bed covers. A dock for your iPhone, free basic wireless and a plug in for your laptop. Such comfy beds! We sank into the sumptuous pillows and slept like babies. Great location. Had a walk along the waterfront after a lovely breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. Many patrons took advantage of breakfast in the warm morning Sun at the outdoor tables. Lots of patios all around, where we sipped beers and margaritas. The only thing that could have been improved upon was the balcony had not been cleaned yet, after the winter so the chairs were pretty dirty. But who wants to sit out there, overlooking the parking lot, anyway, when there are so many shops to explore and restAurants and patios to visit?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Maggie K,

Thank you for your comments! We always love to hear when guests enjoy their stay, and it looks like you did just that. We have deployed the balcony cleaning team to eradicate those pesky Mayflies so our wonderful guests can enjoy our balconies. i hope the surprise party was fun and we can't wait to have you back again!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Check-in staff was friendly. She looked up her list of available rooms and gave me a "cat. A" room for my booking class. As a result, I have room with a small balcony and a view of the dock and the lake.

Reasonable price for the room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nuboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear nuboy,

Thank you for your comments and patronage, we look forward welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.1 mi away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#28 of 37 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Address: 2 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing