We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The staff here are very professional and friendly. The rooms are nice, and I like the pool and gym facilities. I have stayed here four times, this was the first that the hot tub was down for cleaning. It's nice to know they maintain it. Akthough all of the staff were very friendly, Holly-Marie was VERY personable and welcoming.

Room Tip: RIGHT in the heart of downtown with lots of restaurants nearby and the waterfront right there. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garrett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello Garret L and thank you for taking the time to write about your time with us!

We are so happy to hear that you have now enjoyed your fourth stay with us and we continue to impress! Holly Marie is a fantastic hospitality ambassador and is always willing to go out of her way to make sure a guest feels at home.

Thank you again sir for the very kind words about our hotel and staff, we look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit!

Regards,
Nicholas Brash
Guest Service Manager-Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
613-549-8400 x 2649
revmgr@hikingstonwaterfront.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Paid $219 for a executive room, had bugs in it, changed room, it had bugs, finally got a room that we could sleep in. In the morning went for breakfast and it was ice cold, although the staff was helpful we thought for 219 dollars we would get a enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Check rooms carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakerdadPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello lakerdadPeterborough and thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your experience with our property.

Unfortunately being a waterfront property has its challenges regarding mosquitoes and flies however they should never be in your room upon entry and for this we are very sorry.
We were also disappointed to hear that your experience with our restaurant was less than satisfactory.

We would love the chance to turn this experience around and make things right for you. If your travels ever bring you back through Kingston I hope you will contact me directly so I can ensure a flawless stay.
Regards,

Nicholas Brash
Guest Service Manager-Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
613-549-8400 x 2649
revmgr@hikingstonwaterfront.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed here many times on business a couple of years ago and loved being on the water. This time my husband and I wanted a night away so decided to book using our Airmiles. We ended up with two double beds in a very dated and musty room on the second floor right over two huge air conditioning units. Not what I expected, especially when the website boasts of newly renovated indoor pool and rooms. We definitely did not have a renovated room. Maybe it was because we booked on Airmiles - certainly not cheap either way.
On a positive note, front desk employees were very friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Definitely nice to have a balcony - just make sure it's away from the AC unit. And make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello Sharon C and thank you so much for writing.

We are truly disappointed to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. Unfortunately we do have some room locations on our property that are less desirable as far as view and external noise. Unfortunately you ended up in one of these challenged room locations for this stay. Our apologies.

We would love the chance to make it right for you! If your travels bring you back through Kingston, please contact me directly and I will ensure a fantastic stay.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding our Front Desk team; it gives us great pride to employ great people.

Regards,

Nicholas Brash
Guest Service Manager-Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront
613-549-8400 x 2649
revmgr@hikingstonwaterfront.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Kingston for a weekend getaway this past Saturday, August 16th and had a lovely stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

We did not spend a lot of time at the hotel but the time we did was enjoyable. Check-in was smooth and quick. Sarah assisted us with a big smile and provided us all the information that we needed. The room was spacious and we had an amazing waterfront view. Despite the pouring rain we still enjoyed having the patio door open and the wonderful breeze filled our room.

After we settled in - we inquired as to a place to get good Fish & Chips - and we were recommended a restaurant named Diane's. The food was wonderful. My boyfriend tried the Fish & Chips and I enjoyed their chicken & spinach salad. Thank you for the great suggestion! If you like a nice light desert try "Mio's Gelato" across the road. Best gelato I have ever had! The location of the hotel could not be any better as it is directly on the waterfront, but also walking distance to pretty much everything. There is also a wonderful Kingston Public Market that is located behind City Hall which is a hop, skip and a jump from the hotel. Worth the trip! Lots of treasures and good deals.

Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Even though a bachelorette party was happening at the hotel we did not hear anything.

The hotel offers a buffet breakfast in the morning that offers a variety of toast, eggs, sausage/bacon, danish, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea and juices etc. The food was hot, fresh and we were very satisfied. The restaurant team was also very friendly and fast to ensure the tables were cleared and we were satisfied.

Checkout was quick and painless. Overall a very enjoyable stay. We would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLSOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello CLSOttawa!

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our property! We are so happy to hear that one of our newest employees Sarah was a great help to you during your stay. Your kind words about us are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you through Kingston.

Regards,

Nicholas Brash
Guest Service Manager-Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Have stayed here every yr for over 6 yrs. The first couple yrs it seemed ok. What drew us to this hotel, was the outdoor pool. My husband is here on business and my daughter and I get to relax and enjoy the pool. This yr we had way too many negative surprises!
The day we arrived, we noticed the outdoor pool was closed. The woman at the front told us someone had an "accident" in the pool and they found poo in the pool!! GROSS!!! Needless to say, the pool had turned green and they had to shock the pool with heavy chemicals. So, we couldn't use the pool at all the first day and finally it opened later the next afternoon. No, not the hotel's fault, but put a damper on our stay to begin with. We were quite shocked the woman even told us there was poo in the pool!!?
We go to our room, which looked more tired every yr and was quite noticeable this time. The sink was rusted and when you ran the water there was a terrible, musty, moldy smell. The A/C seemed to struggle to run also. We went out for dinner and upon return to our room we noticed the fridge seemed wet around it. The whole freezer area had thawed out and water was dropping everywhere! We called the front desk and a woman came in a very timely manner and swapped out the fridge for another one. We were quite pleased how quickly she took care of it.
Now for the beds. The mattresses are terrible!! My husband and myself were up ALL night with limbs falling asleep and sore backs! There is NO support on the mattresses! We stay in hotels all over North America and these are pretty much the worst yet.
We went downstairs for breakfast the one morning. We ordered from the menu, not buffet. Eggs were runny when we asked for over medium, the toast was literally ice cold and the bacon tasted like death! We are not picky people. We love Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express! This place, especially for the outrageous price they charge, was at the bottom of the list.
The other surprising thing, was that everyday, several people that were not hotel guest, showed up at the pool! They were friends of the lifeguards and one family told my husband that they know someone who works in the hotel and come to use the facilities all yr long!!! They used to check people for room keys at the pool, but not anymore. This is surprising for a Holiday Inn!!
The location is really great, on the water and right downtown, but the hotel itself, has definitely seen it's day. It's too bad, because like I said, the area is great and the outdoor pool, when no poo is in it, is really nice on a hot summer day. I hope they update these rooms soon so people actually get what they pay for!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello Meld67 and thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate the detail and care that you took while writing about our hotel and for the issues you encountered we are truly sorry. The compreshensive list of service failures you outlined has us quite concerned about your view of the brand and more specifically our hotel. If you would be willing to contact me directly, I would love a chance to make this right for you. I can be reached Mon-Fri from 8:30-4:30 at.....

613-549-8400 x 2649

Once again, we are so very sorry to have left you with such a poor experience at our hotel and I look forward to speaking in more detail with you regarding your stay.

Nicholas Brash
Guest Service Manager-Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Not one to be overly picky but did not like stay. Planned for two nights but left early morning after one night. the room had a smell that stuck with us after as we drove home. wi fi was in and out every 5 minutes and I was trying to work while son kept busy on iPad. No help from 1-888 number or front desk. Not good. Room between doors did not lock. Toilet and sink plugged. Staff seemed gruff. Just worn and old..... Needs some refeshing I think. Location great. restaurant was fine. Loved the lake view with boats and draw bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello KP and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so very sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations this time. We alos apologize for the wifi going in and out and that the toilet and sink were plugged. We assure you this this is not the norm of our day to day operations and if you have a chance I would like to discuss these issues with you in person. Please contact me at....

613-549-8400 x 2649

Nicholas Brash
Guest Service Manager-Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent Saturday night here during a weekend in Kingston and while the location was excellent for the sights and sounds of downtown the hotel shows a bit of wear and the housekeeping wasn't the best. Needs a renovation to meet my expectations for a Holiday Inn. We stay at Holiday Inn Expresses a lot too!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pharvey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Pharvey45,

Thank you for sharing your observations. We take all comments very seriously and will use this for training purposes for immediate improvements.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing