We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but not above average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having stayed at this hotel before many years ago I knew that it had been a quiet hotel if you just want somewhare to sleep for the night. It was certainly clean but I was surprised to see that the room decor had not changed in 20 years. The fake fireplace is rather lame by today's standards. I could hear slamming room doors throughout the night which is my pet peeve and why I usually only stay at better hotels. The included breakfast was dreadful. If you don't care what food you shove in your maw, then you will probably find this average restaurant fare, but if you like good, healthy food, then stay away. For the money they charge, which was significant, I will only have to spend a little more and stay in a suite on the waterfront next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63,781,264,873,624,861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Fireside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a very run Motel. It is clean and the bed is very comfortable. The room even had a fireplace. The room is above standard in accommodations--comfortable bed and a decent sitting area with a couch--One can be in this room and not feel you are just in a bedroom. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar so one can relax in the evening without having to go out. This is my choice of hotels/motels in the Kingston area. A good location without having to pay parking like the downtown choices. It is still close to everything but you do need a car. The staff is friendly and helpful. I have only one small problem is you are able to hear people in the hall but this is quite common with motels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyWanderer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had the opportunity to stay here while visiting the area. The hotel is easily accessed from the 401 and is located on princess st. Check in was very quick with a very friendly staff. We had a room with a king bed. The room was very cozy and clean. It had a working fireplace in the corner which was quite charming. The room was quiet and the bed quite comfortable. It has two options for dining directly off the lobby. Bistro steakhouse was quite nice and prime rib delicious. Tom's lounge was a very relaxing place with the large fireplace being a nice focal point. Will definitely be back again on my travels through the area!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Went for two nights in the jacuzzi suite and it was wonderful! Room was huge and such a comfortable bed. Great service we enjoyed our room service breakfast. We were given champagne and chocolate covered strawberry which was a treat. Hotel was very quite as it was middle of the week but that was perfect. Price was fantastic!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is nice and clean, easy access from the main highway and close to downtown. Rooms are fine. A fresh pot of tea with real milk was dispatched to our room in the morning at our request... Very nice. Didn't eat dinner at the hotel (so many good restaurants just a short drive away in downtown). The breakfast was fine (buffet style, nothing special) but very limited gluten-free options. The hotel was not very busy and our room, overlooking one of the parking lots, was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel a number of times and they never disappoint. Clean rooms, friendly staff and great food. All for a very reasonable price. Only a 5 minute drive to the downtown area of Kingston and grocery store available next door. Highly recommended if you are in the Kingston area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great rooms, not entirely modernized but very nice. Working gas fireplace, excellent shower. Great sleep experience. Bed was very comfortable and the many pillows were perfect. Excellent restaurants and free breakfast with real food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £92 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing