We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff - Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Fireside Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff - Great hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Kingston and this hotel did not disappoint. The staff are absolutely fantastic and can't do enough for you.
The rooms are huge and the bar/ pool area are really cosy and unusual. They really welcome you in.
We also had our best meal of the fortnight at the steakhouse, so can't fault it at all.
We had a magical time there and I suspect we'll definitely go back at some point in the future. If we do, we'll definitely stay at the Fireside. Great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doddawidd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    290
    88
    29
    17
See reviews for
228
410
42
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Upon arrival I was immediately upgraded from two double beds to a King bed with sofa fireplace etc.. The hotel has been around for a long time but has lots of charm. The lounge is great and the food served there was quite good. Buffet Breackfast in the restaurant is all freshly made and not typical hotel "breakfast included" fare. Breakfast was included but there was lots of variety and it was excellent. Great place to take your spouse for a holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having stayed at many Best Western hotels, and having stayed at this hotel 2 years ago, I was a bit surprised that it seems so lacklustre this time. There isn't anything really wrong with the place, except for the horrid chipfoam pillows (really? pillows are pretty cheap - I would think BW could have decent pillows), it is just tired. The large box on the check-in counter means it seems closed off, and the staff are in this little opening -- so it isn't really welcoming. The place is "fine" if you need a place to sleep for a night or two. But, please, make the check-in counter open and friendly. And throw in some new pillows. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CanadianJ975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I think that this is one of the best Best Western hotels that I have stayed in, both in the UK and North America. The room was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. Breakfast was excellent both in choice and quality. I did not eat in the restaurant, but the food in the bar was first class, as was the service. In fact, I met several local people who were ordering food after work - always a good sign!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

An excellent experience. Not expensive yet had all the amenities. Friendly staff, clean well designed rooms and quiet I would highly recommend it. Pet Friendly too. The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We usually stay with Green Acres Inn before we go out diving with Pat's Charters. We thought we would give Best Western a try because of our loyalty card. We were pleasantly surprised. We had our room upgraded. They serve a good hot buffet breakfast and even better they have 2 nice restaurants on site. When we had an issue with the whirlpoorl bath being prefilled with chlorinated water they moved us to another room without any problems. Great staff and great food. Bonus also had a flat calm day for diving. Diving Pics at www.divertrek.com

Room Tip: some of the fantasy suites have chlorinated tubs - make sure to check in with reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wed were pleasantly surprised by the friendly reception.For dog owners, it was great not to be made to feel like a second class citizen.The rooms were clean,everything worked and the beds very good. The breakfast was excellent. The restaurant was relaxing and the food good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#4 of 37 in Kingston
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fireside Inn

Property: Best Western Fireside Inn
Address: 1217 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fireside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fireside Inn every room has a fireplace, free wireless high-speed Internet access, hand made pine and oak furniture and beautiful marble bathrooms. We specialize in special occasions. Our Whirlpool Suites, Specialty Suites and Fantasy Suites are perfect for any occasion and are sure to keep you coming back again and again. As always the Fireside Inn continues to provide the best in comfort and value that Kingston has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Hotel Kingston
Best Western Fireside Hotel
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Best Western Fireside Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing