We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor employee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“poor employee”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The worst treatment by an employee at the counter very ignorant, not helpfull at all needs lots of training.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am truly sorry that you were not completely delighted with your visit.. Please contact me personally so that I can make it up to you.

Cheers

Venicio Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    1,036
    757
    383
    141
See reviews for
1,570
599
105
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

As mentioned in '2-4-T'' review below (my room was located next door @ 268), this person was very accurate in describing the economy room and at that very affordable rate, I jumped in on getting the room. Even the hotel's website stated that even though this room is smaller in size, it's still great for single travelers or couples who don't intend on spending their entire weekend in the room.

I arrived in Kingston on the Friday (12th) at around Noon and spent the first couple of hours or so, walking through the streets of the historic town (Princess St.) which is full of shops and cafes. It wasn't until about 3pm that I decided to check-in to the hotel to find out that the room was ready. (Usually check-in is at 4pm, but depending on availability, you could luck out and get in earlier)

The amenities were great. Having free wifi, a desk, a working bathroom, temperature controls, and a comfortable bed was all that I needed. I didn't care too much about the size. Having the ice/vending machines & the fact that my room key could be used to purchase drinks from it was a huge bonus. There's been times where I stayed at a hotel and had no change to purchase drinks in case I needed them in the morning.

Though the shower was tricky to operate, (I had to play around with the knob to make the water temp from cold to hot), the bathroom was clean and functioning properly. The only thing missing was a fan to suck out all the humidity (or maybe use defogger on the mirror as it was impossible to see after showering).

The water playground was decent. The kids on hand enjoyed the waterslide & splash pad area while the pool, hot tubs, steam room & dry sauna were great features. The life guard attendants were polite and ensured a fresh towel was provide whenever you needed one to dry off. The area surrounding the water playground had a kids bingo room, an arts & crafts room, and an arcade. The foyer also had a few games for the kids to play as well.

Even though this resort is a few minutes drive away from the downtown core, it's definitely a solid hotel (3.8 stars out of 5) and I will definately make this my first option whenever I do decide to return to this town. I've already recommended it to my cousin and his bride to be. Thanks for making it enjoyable Vinny!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanTraveller420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is large and in a strip of older hotels and motels which lies a 5-10 min drive from the city center. This hotel has been renovated in 2010 - and offers lots of extras like free parking, 100% smoke free building (hurray!), recycling box in room (important to me), vending machines which work on the room key, elevators for accessibility, no pets (cleaner - hurray!!), a large indoor 'water playground', kids activities, fitness room, games room and it backs onto the Little Cataraqui Creek Conservation Area (marshes).

They do offer business and comfort class... but we went with an economy room. Got a good deal (from the hotel's website) and stayed in room 269. The room was small and the window faced a brick wall. This was okay for light, but I had to keep the blind closed since an employee walked by! The room was a little dim with only a light at the door, and then the bedside lamps and one standing lamp which were all on the energy-efficient light bulbs. The room had the usual layout, but seemed sparse and bland with grey tones and european, birch, basic furnishings- it just didn't feel welcoming to me. (I deducted points for this and a couple of minor cleanliness issues.) The bed was okay but seemed small for a queen. I liked having the in-room iron and board, luggage rack, and temp controls (these are always a bit loud), free local calling, and free high speed internet. The 32" TV was good and there is coffee in the room. The bathroom was tiny - but well planned. There was a wide granite counter for my toiletries, a heating lamp, a bowed shower rod (more space while showering), good water temps and pressure, non-slip tub - but no fan and it got humid fast. Everything worked.

The water-park offers 2 tepid whirlpools, a steam room (not working when we were there - thanks to the dufus or unmonitored child who ripped the temp gauge out of the wall), a dry sauna, and pool - with towels and staff on hand. For the kids there is a splash-pad, large slide etc. Lots of chlorine and closed for cleaning regularly - but I'd rather this than the alternatives!!!! If you can stand the hordes of kids, its clean and quite good.

Overall - about a 3.5 and I would likely stay again for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to picking our son up from summer camp.

The young man at the front desk was helpful when we checked in, they did not show our reservation because when I reserved on-line I seem to have made it for an earlier date in error. I had been charged a no-show for the date which I was not aware of. He could not cancel it but was very understanding and noted the info so I would not have to explain it all when the manager came in the next day.

When I called the front desk in the morning, the manager took care of the problem by not charging me for the night since a charge had already been taken for the no-show. It wasn't thier error but they offered real customer service and I appreciate that.

We had reserved the cheapest room for only $89 a night and it was clean and comfortable. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WdWoKw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

It seems that when you go to Kingston with sports teams to attend a soccer or hockey tournament the hotels always raise rates and need you to book two nights or pay a higher premium for one night. We paid $215 for one night stay for a room with no true amenities. Our room was on the West Tower, 1st flr. As you enter the bldg the first thing you smell is the clorine from the pool area, the humidity is high and the area shows its age.
You slide your card to enter the room and you have to force the room open. For $215 you get beds with 4 pillows and a TV. Yes you get an ironing board and a hair dryer. You ask for the ice machine and you are told that there might be one on the 2nd flr or maybe the fourth or fifth. You eventually find one and it does not work. The AC was noisy and rattling, you take a shower and it fogs up all the mirrors, towels have been over used and yes you do get to enjoy 4 pillows on your bed. Big bonus there is a water slide, pool in the hotel, WOW! Sorry people as much as a pool is great for a bit of free time for the kids, you do not travel to book an hotel for swimming. For $215, maybe a fridge, a microwave oven, a bite to eat in the morning. Sorry this was not for me!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siala_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am disappointed that you were not delighted with your visit. I would like to make this up to you. Please contact me at your leisure by email at venicio@ambassadorhotel.com or by phone at 613 541 4676 (direct line)

Hope you have a great week.

Sincerely

Venicio Rebelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Ashton-under-Lyne
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed one night while over in KIngston. For the price it was ok but nothing special. Room was clean but unlike motels we stayed in no fridge. Room had no view. Tea & Coffee facilities poor
Hotel appearance created high expectations which didn't materialise.
Bar staff very pleasant and rated higher purely on the pound of chicken wings (yummy)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluejayssuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you very much for taking your time to post your review we do appreciate your comments. WE have a wide variety of accommodation types to satisfy most of our client needs. Many with refrigerators and great views of the Little Cataraqui Consveration Area. I suggest the next time you are looking to book with us you inquire if one of these rooms is available. If you wish to reach myself personally please do so at 613 541 4676 (direct line) or by email at
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My wife and I spent last Friday and Saturday nights (June 10, 11) at your hotel. We were there, along with many other parents and grandparents to watch our offspring in the Lacrosse tournament. The accommodations were superb - clean rooms, extremely courteous staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one, and great food in your restaurant. The breakfast buffets and the Friday and Saturday buffets didn't disappoint. The Saturday roast beef buffet was made more gracious with the pleasure of the piano player. We had a great conversation with him as we were seated just across from him, and we knew all the great music he was playing.


As well, my grandson really enjoyed the pool and slide area. His stay was made more memorable as his team won their division in the tournament.


Kudos to you and your staff for making our stay a very good experience. I taught customer service excellence programs for a number of years and your staff would have passed with flying colors.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inforob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
922 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing