We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business purpose”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed one night during a business trip in Kingston, a nice welcome at the reception, my room located in the Western Building was spacious and clean as well as the bathroom.
Entering the building you get caught by the smell of chlorine, since the aqua park and the swimming pool are located inside this building.
The sleep was pretty disturbed a few times during the night by the CN train's horn passing close to the hotel. I would recommend to get a room on the back of the hotel, if you are a light sleeper.
A nice stay overall.

Room Tip: Room 615 is nice but a bit noisy, street traffic and train
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am delighted that your experience , overall, was positive with our facilities and our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. If I can be of personal assistance to make your next visit more comfortable please contact me directly.

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    1,034
    755
    382
    141
See reviews for
1,568
599
104
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have been going to this hotel for years now. Kids love it. I love it less as a parent who hates inconsiderate families who take their kids to hockey tournaments and suddenly forget to parent.

It's in a reasonable location between the 401 and downtown, and everything is a short drive away (not really for walking). The highlight is the pool and waterslide. The bar restaurant is missable, but good if you don't want to go out. I think it's not as good as it was in its heyday - our coffee maker was not clean, and the front staff weren't happy when we complained about the group making noise. They did make it right with a voucher and an apology later. Still, if you have to vacation in Kingston, stay here. The kids will appreciate it after making them learn about history and prisons all day long.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadAndPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking he time to submit your review.. I wish that we could control everyone's behaviour while they stay with us. We do our very best to inform all guests that are booking of any groups that will be in the hotel that may be a bit boisterous.

I am delighted that you kids had a wonderful time but apologize for the fact that the adults in your group did not.

I hope that you will return again when we are not hosting any sports teams so that you can truly enjoy our facilities and hospitality.

Best regards;


Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We chose the Ambassador for a get away because they advertised having a waterslide, sauna, hot tubs and pool. Well be advised that the waterslide is not always in operation and neither are the hot tubs. I would recommend that you call the hotel before going to see if the attendance at the hotel warrants them running the waterslide or not. They did not have the waterslide or the hot tubs running and my family was very disappointed as that was the reason for going. The staff offered nothing except saying that it should be listed on the website. It is not listed that they only run these things when they feel that it is cost effective. We were told by staff that they were not going to run the waterslide for one child...it is too expensive. At the pool, there was more than one child not able to use the waterslide. Oh, by the way the $118 per night, is not going to be cost effective for us to stay at that hotel again. The food is also expensive (no continential breakfast) and the front desk staff not accommodating.

Room Tip: There are other hotels that have a pool in Kingston that also serve breakfast for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upset461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your reveiw.. I am very sorry that you were not completely delighted with your recent visit. Yes you are correct our waterslide is not open every day and has the operating hours posted on our website under the Indoow Waterpark Tab. The best time to take advantage to of our indoor waterpark is on most weekends, during March Break, July and August and the week just after Christmas. Please contact me personally so that I can take care of your next reservation to ensure you book a date and time when our entire facility will be open for your enjoyment.


Best regards;


Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We are from Kingston and chose to stay here for a Family Day "Staycation". Having enjoyed birthday parties there and it coming highly recommended by friends and family we thought it would be fun ... and it exceeded our expectations. The entire stay was fantastic!
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful as well as great with kids. There was never a dull moment. We had a blast on the waterslide and in the pool. The adults were even able to enjoy the sauna & hot tub too!
The restaurant was family friendly. I was shocked by the prices ($4 for kids meal!). Even better, our food was DELICIOUS. I had not expected that from a hotel restaurant. My husband had the Piri-Piri chicken and I had the salmon. 5 star!
Our room itself was spacious, clean and modern. The fridge in the room was perfect for extra fruit and drinks we had brought for the kids.
This was the perfect trip. We didn't have to go far but were in an entire world away. Our kids now want to move into the Ambassador hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Hi Jacki ..thank you for that wonderful review.. we are delighted that we were able to make your "STAYCATION" a memorable one.. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return soon.

Let me know the next time you plan to getaway right here in your hometown..

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed overnight for Family Day. Hotel is clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Pool/Waterslide area was a big hit with the kids although the pool itself needs to be warmer. Quite chilly no matter how long you were inside or what time of day.. Has two hot tubs which were needed after being in the pool.
Excellent restaurant onsite. Breakfast buffet is reasonably priced and food was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hahahamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for letting us know that overall you had a wonderful time here at Kingston's Ambassador Resort Hotel. I must apologize for the temperature of the pool we did have a malfunction in one of our heaters for the poool which has now been replaced. We do hope that you will come back again when the temperature of the pool is usually kept around 86F.

Please contact me personally if you wish to rebook or if I can be of further assistance .

Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie)Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Ambassador for my sister's birthday. Knowing we didn't have enough room for the girl's to stay and have fun, I emailed Guest Services and was accommodated within a matter of minutes. We were quickly set up with two adjoining rooms at a great price as well as notified there would be teams in the building. (Perfect - their noise should drown out the noise coming from our group) The day we arrived was a full blown snow storm. We were checked in quickly and conveniently located close to the restaurant as my mother has mobility issues. The rooms were excellent and the girls could not stop talking about how amazing everything was. Even with the hotel full of teenage girls, the pool was not overcrowded! A porter took it upon himself to go and get the hotels wheelchair as he noticed it was getting hard for my mother to walk back and forth! The girls were treated like Queen's in the restaurant and got up extra early to make sure they had time for breakfast! In addition, they had staff working over night to clear out all the snow to make checking out and leaving as easy as possible. Overall it was a great place to stay with great staff. We will be planning a trip back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayna1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Good morning Dayna 1218.. I am very pleased that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your sisters birthday.. Wow ..what a weekend that was.. a full house of guests of all ages and one of the biggest snowstorms Kingston has seen in almost a decade.. a perfect weekend to hibernate inside and be pampered. Our entire team pulled together to do whatever needed to get done to take of our guests needs. It was an "all hands on deck" weekend for us and am truly delighted that we were able to make your sister's birthday a wonderful celebration.

We hope to see you back again very soon, maybe when there is less snow on the ground.

Best regards

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorohotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Three stayed in mid-January for a hockey tournament in Kingston. The hotel is a little far from downtown, so if you want to go out for dinner/drinks, be prepared for a long cab ride.

The entire hotel, although recently renovated and clean, is falling behind modern standards for room size. The wash rooms were very small, and the lower ceilings made for a very low shower head. There wasn't much water pressure either. We had a room with two queen beds and there wasn't room for a sitting chair besides the desk chair. After the suitcase and cooler, it's very crowded.

The west wing has no security features. You do not have to pass by the front desk to enter the building, and there are no locks to deter access to the building after hours. The elevators and stair wells are completely accessible to outside entry, so use caution is leaving your room door ajar while visiting another room.

The rooms with windows facing the indoor pool are extremely hot with no method to control the room temperature. Rooms on the outside (road view) seemed better.

The rooms on the weekend were a tad expensive in my opinion ($150/night), but we did get the Thursday evening for half-price, so the average rate was reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a room facing out, not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hab_fan_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinions of our experience recently here at Kingston's Ambassador Resort Hotel. I am truly sorry that you were not completely delighted with your visit.

Our standard rooms with two queen size beds are about average size for most hotels, we do have larger rooms with more space. I suggest next time you stay with us you request one of our larger rooms to give the space you need. We are constantly investing in our property to ensure we are meeting the needs and desires of our guests. Just recently we have invested in our WIFI to make it the fastest in the Kingston market.

Most of our guests are delighted with our facilities and services and that is the reason we have been in business for over 45 years.

The safety and comfort of our guests are very important. Each and every guestroom is equipped with modern guestroom locks, security flip lock, viewing hole and deadbolt lock. Most exterior doors are locked nightly at 9pm with access restricted to certain entrances that are staffed or monitored by high resolution security cameras. As well we have uniformed security guards patrolling the hotel property (inside and out) not to mention our own staff that are constantly walking the halls and stairwells of the hotel.

I hope that you will come back again to enjoy the services and facilities of the Ambassador. Please contact me personally if you wish to make your next reservation.


Best regards;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
922 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
3.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing