We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Dark and in need of a facelift. This hotel hasn't kept up with the times. Front desk staff are always pleasant and helpful. Conference food is terrible. No one wants high-salt, high-fat pseudo- Chinese or -Mexican food anymore.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmnbjbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello rmnbjbjb;

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent visit. I am truly disappointed that we were not able to delight you during your recent visit for that I am truly sorry. We are constantly upgrading and sprucing up our property to meet the needs of our guests. If there is something specific that you care to address please contact myself personally to discuss.

I do hope you have an opportunity to come back again to visit and I would welcome your call to make your reservation personally.


All the best;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    901
    676
    342
    121
See reviews for
1,405
536
92
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napanee, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked last minute due a snowstorm and it was the greatest experience!Great staff, great service and beautiful rooms! Definitely stay here and I strongly recommend the King 4-person jacuzzi suite!!

Room Tip: King 4-person jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Sam1041;


Thank you very much for posting your comments. We are glad that we could provide a clean comfortable escape from the harsh winter storms we have faced this year. Hopefully you can return in the summer when Kingston is at it's best.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


All the best

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We always stay here. The hotel is close to all amenities, the staff goes above and beyond to make our stay memorable Always a great experience and a great stay! Love the Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna and a great Restaurant.

Room Tip: The 6th floor is our favorite for couples looking to escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello Charles G;

Thank you very much for posting your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you back very soon.

All the best;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almonte, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My partner and I arrived at the Ambassador Hotel for a 3-day Bridge Tournament. Almost immediately after our arrival, a large snow storm enveloped the Kingston area and beyond, for the duration of the tournament. I was dreading the drive back home to Ottawa in the storm. It was announced at the tournament that the Ambassador had so generously offered all of us, who had been staying there, to an extra night at very reduced rate so that we would not have to travel home in the very bad driving conditions. I was so impressed by this offer and the fact that the Ambassador Hotel had taken our safety into consideration. I feel that this was an above and beyond gesture on the part of the hotel. Beside the fact that the rooms were wonderful, the restaurant meals were delicious and the staff had been extremely helpful from the beginning of the booking process to our departure, this was an establishment that clearly cared. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello Joni F;

Thank you for posting your comments. We are delighted that you were made to feel welcome, comfortable and above all safe during your visit to Kingston.

We hope to see you back again soon.

All the best

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great stay. Rooms were clean and employees were very helpful. The restaurant service was good. The prices of the food was a little high, but not unexpected in a nice hotel. We were there for a conference and everything was set up perfectly and any problems were quickly addressed. Would recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99thWGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello 99thWGP;

Thank you for posting your comments. We are delighted your stay with us was comfortable and productive. We are Eastern Ontario's largest Conference facility and host hundreds of conferences/meetings/conventions annually.

We hope to see you back soon.

All the best;

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The room was clean, the staff were helpful, it was a really easy experience. The beds were comfortable. The shower and bathroom was clean and everything worked well. I have no complaints whatsoever. Very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
HI Dorothy S

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent visit.. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon.

All the best

Venicio (Vinnie) Rebelo
General Manager
Direct Line 613 541 4676
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I travel to Kingston frequently but from the friendliness of the staff at registration to their attentiveness to our needs throughout our stay, the Ambassador has always set a standard seldom matched anywhere else. I've been their guest for over 20 years and I hope to be for the next 20 as well!

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms for business are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
HI Andrew W, thank you for posting your comment. We are truly fortunate to have so many loyal guests, such as yourself, that have made the Ambassador their home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back often over the next 20 years!!

All the best;

Venicio (Vinnie ) Rebelo
General Manager
venicio@ambassadorhotel.com
Direct Line 613 541 4676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing