We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Servicable in a Convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
291 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Servicable in a Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was in Kingston four days for a conference. Conference hotels (near the waterfront) were booked and I was looking for something reasonably priced and convenient to reach Queens University quickly. Unlike mike colleagues by the water, I had a quick, 5 minute trip even during rush hour. Because of activities associated with the conference, I did not have an opportunity use the pool or restaurant so can't comment there.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi, a must for me, was perfect although the chair at the desk was out of wack and kept threatening to fall backward. Bed and linens comfortable. Good shower. Room decor best described as no-frills.
This is a good stop for business or solo travel. Price was good for the service received.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience our exceptional customer service and facilities.

We have shared your comments with our team to congratulate them on a job well-done!

We value your continued business and look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
613-548-3605, ext. 2100
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    902
    676
    342
    121
See reviews for
1,406
536
92
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The kids enjoyed the pool. We stayed the night before Easter. The hotel was busy but a big enough hotel that we were way from it all with where are hotel room was. The room was nice and comfortable with two queen-size beds. The room and the hotel in general was immaculate. The housekeeping staff was great. They gathered dirty towels quickly when I placed them outside our room the morning of the day we were checking out. The front desk staff was friendly and checked-in people quickly as we were in line to check in. We were there at 2:30 to see if we would be able to check in early. To my surprise, the young lady at the counter stated yes you can check-in early and here is your key cards. It's rare that a high-end hotel lets you check in early without charging an early check-in fee. I'm glad they allowed us to check-in early so the kids could enjoy the waterpark an hour and a half earlier than we thought they would be able to enjoy it. That was a nice and unexpected surprise. I also liked the creek that was right behind the hotel. There were ducks and geese in it the couple of times I went outside. The kids loved that part equally as much as the adults. The bar inside the hotel was a nice respite for my husband and I to get an hour away from the kids while my husband enjoyed a Canadian beer. We would definitely look for deals at this hotel when possible. The waterpark is great and we may take advantage of only buying tickets to go to the waterpark for a day sometimes since we only live less than an hour away from the hotel. A night stay once in a while won't hurt either!!!

Room Tip: There probably isn't a way to get a bad room in this hotel as the waterpark and activities are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tlutz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment your recent visit to The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced the excellent customer service and facilities that we are so proud of.

Your comments have been shared with our entire team to congratulate them on all of their hard work

We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

All the best,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Like many reviewers here, we also travel to Kingston for University events, and moves!
The major reason we have chosen the hotel, is it offers quick access to the 401 for our early mornings heading home.
As mentioned in reviews Kingston has many great restaurants, so we have not taken the opportunity to try the facilities here. The "dated" quality also mentioned in reviews here, is over looked as we just need a spot close to the 401,clean and comfortable. I would like to see complementary tea & coffee and a muffin/ granola bar in the lobby tho'.
I have stayed at least 6 times and once there was just the beverage, and another time beverage and a prepackaged granola bar! For the price of even the single "back room"...I believe this should be a standard to help the early risers get on the road!
All in all we will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. As you realize, it is only suggestions from our guests that enable us to grow and enhance our services. Your comments have been share with our team.

We are delighted you will stay again and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre.
Kingston, Ontario
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed several times at the hotel during a year. The service and rooms are great, especially the breakfast personnel. If there was a problem I was changed rooms without an issue, especially that I am a light sleeper. In addition, I was able to get upgrades & they follow up with their clients. That is a plus for me.

Room Tip: The upper floors are quieter if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannekh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will come visit us again soon.

We are glad to hear our associates provided you with excellent customer service.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent 3 days at the Ambassador for a sporting event for my daughter. Knowing it wasn't one of the nicer hotels in the area and we were staying with a team, I didn't expect a whole lot. And that's what I got. Staff was pleasant, hotel is old and outdated. The days we were there it was at full capacity due to a major basketball tournment at Queen's University. We had a room with a faulty a/c unit the hotel was unable to fix during our entire stay and needless to say it wasn't a comfortable room to be in. Really weren't compensated for their problem. Very disappointed with how the situation was handled. Would recommend staying downtown at the Residence Inn, Delta or even at the Best Western in town. Kingston is a beautiful city, lots of nice areas to see, and lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. It is feedback from our guests that enable us to enhance our services and facilities.

It is unfortunate that we were experiencing some technical issues with our Air Conditioning Unit on Saturday however, we were able to resolve the issue by Saturday night. When issues like this arise, we do everything within our power to make it right for our guests while they are here. Technicians were on site during the day resolving the issue. When the air conditioning began to function correctly, some time was necessary to cool each and every guest room.

We certainly hope you will consider staying with us again when staying in Kingston.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our daughter attends Queen's University so we are in Kingston a few times a year for visits and moves. While we have tried other hotels in the area, we are now very happy to just book with the Ambassador without looking elsewhere first. The rates are reasonable and the service is excellent. Clean comfortable rooms and very comfortable, high quality beds/bedding, round out the stay.

Last school year, we checked in at an alternate hotel, took one look at the room, turned around and left. We called the Ambassador from the car, they accommodated us immediately and for the same rate as the first hotel which was dated and unclean.

Upon checking out this past week, I mentioned to the desk manager that the bathroom sink in our room was draining a little slowly. It wasn't a big deal, I just figured that they would want to have someone clear it for the next guests and wouldn't know about it if no one told them. He was very gracious and apologetic and gave us his card, instructing us to contact him directly for our next stay so that he could upgrade our room. Now that is excellent guest service for something that was not even a complaint!!

This is not an over-the-top high-end hotel, just one that continues to offer clean comfortable rooms at reasonable rates, with great service. Can't ask for more than that.

Room Tip: Business class rooms are a good value for the size and amenities. No street or hall noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekers099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Wow...thank you for taking the time to comment your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. Our goal is for all of our guests to leave with pleasant memories and plans to return in the future. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you come back soon.

Your comments have been shared with our entire team to congratulate them on all of their excellent customer service.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Kingston, Ontario
email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We (two male adults, three children ages 13, 11 and 5) stayed at the Ambassador during the Friday and Saturday nights of Easter Weekend, The waterpark with sprinkler park provided great in-house entertainment as did the 7 pm kids movie as did the Easter Egg hunt on Sunday morning. The restaurant food is good - the kids portions are quite large so perhaps 2 kids below age 6 could share one kids dinner, making the restaurant very affordable.

Across the (busy) street is an antique place with all sorts of junk for sale. This provided more nearby entertainment and indeed we came home with a dollhouse ($18) for the 5 year old.
While officially the price did not include breakfast, the lobby provided coffee and mini-muffins ( ie kids' size).

The waterpark had some heating problems in the hot-tub and sauna on Saturday but this was repaired promptly. The sprinkler park water varied greatly in temperature - perhaps due to mechanical problems, but in fact added greatly to the fun because once in a while a blast of cold water would come out of the sprinklers. And the less predictable the sprinklers are, the more the fun.

Rooms are the weakpoint at this hotel. Our room 517 had poor wifi coverage (the lobby was fine). Also, some rooms do not have a fridge, but we were lucky, ours did - but it is inside a closed cabinet so you need to leave the cabinet door open for the fridge to work property. ( I don't know why the back of the cabinet isn't left open, or at least with ventilation). And the fridge door opened the wrong way (ie opposite to the cabinet door). Amusingly, another guest I talked to (busy getting piles of ice) didn't realize his executive room had a fridge, so I sent off to explore the cabinets in his room! There was no microwave, a downside when you are trying to economize by having some family meals in-room. But as anyone with kids will attest, our room had the most important attribute: two beds jumping distance apart. It also provided the best pillows ever, so the pillowfight will go down in the family history book. Our room was quiet and the beds very comfortable.

Both staff and other guests were helpful and friendly, so we enjoyed conservations around the pool and hot-tubs.

If you are taking a college student to Queens, AND he/she has younger siblings, and you can stay in Kingston for a night or two, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: some economy rooms include fridge - ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager1550, Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment your recent experience at The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have left with pleasant memories. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Your comments have been shared with our entire team to congratulate them on all of their hard work.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Madelene Medeiros
Assistant General Manager
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Kingston, Ontario
email: contact@ambassadorhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1550 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston > Grenville Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. Transforming Vision into Reality The Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre is proud to offer exceptional meeting facilities in the heart of Kingston. Our events and catering team offers expert knowledge in planning any type of event with paramount success. We strive to deliver a stress free way of transforming your vision into reality. Located in the Heart of Kingston The Ambassador is conveniently located just off of Hwy 401 at the base of Sydenham Road exit #613, and we are only minutes away from essential services, facilities, and attractions, and the beautiful Downtown Kingston waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Kingston
Ambassador Conference Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Conference
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing