We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in Kingston!”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay here. An old Mansard located 2 blocks from the waterfront and the restaurants. We love the charm, the service and the proximity to the park, the harbor, the shops, pubs and restaurants. More a place for couples, looking for quiet sleep away from the bustle, the rooms are spacious and quaintly appointed. Not too stuffy, and most welcoming. What makes this place stand out is the service. This our home when we are are here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgp72563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great B & B in gorgeous, convenient neighborhood. Three of us stayed comfortably in a large room on the main floor. It was a lovely, large and quiet room. Staff was very accommodating and even offered a tasty gluten free English muffin with the light breakfast. The tea was quality and the coffee nice and strong. I would recommend the Belvedere to anyone who appreciates an historic, small, but professionally run hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. The room was clean. it is a historic home built in the 1880's. We enjoyed a continental breakfast brought up to our room. I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel. The only I would add is a coffee and tea station available in their parlour downstairs when you come in at night in perhaps thermos'

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droypell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for a few nights recently. The hotel is beautifully maintained old house with period furniture and decor, so more a more interesting place to stay than a conventional chain hotel.
The room we stayed in was roomy with a nice bed, furniture and fittings. The bathroom had a tub and was just fine. TV with heaps of channels, no coffee and tea making facilities and no fridge which you will forgo for the charm. Breakfast was light, so don't expect a hearty meal, but sufficient and was presented in the beautiful main room. Friendly and helpful staff and fair value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeeponKrusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel was exactly what was expected! Old charm of a large estate home, antique furniture and very friendly staff. Felt like I was staying at my great great Aunt's house! You want a hotel.... Go to a hotel! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLarionov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Unique - the old style furnishing take you back in time... We loved the atmosphere. A very quiet neighborhood.
We were greeted by David who was so nice and helped us carry our suitcases (a few stairs up to the entrance)
Pros: Close to the 1000 island ticket office (about 10 minutes walk).
We stayed in the lower floor, a huge room with a comfortable bed, though a bit high to climb
on.
Bathroom with bath/ jacuzzi and a shower, hair dryer
Coffee and tea all day outside room
A refrigerator in the main kitchen which you can use until 23:00
A continental but small breakfast. Juice, English muffin, cheese, We did receive additions upon request. Fruits.
Free wi-fi
We were offered parking in the back. Otherwise, limited parking on the street

Cons: no elevator
A tiny closet with no hangers

Room Tip: Those who have walking problems (e.g. Knee) ask for a downstairs room. There are about 6 stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kukiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I have often stayed here in this old and stately home. I do like the high ceilings, and the antique furnishings. Certainly the front desk staff are always friendly and helpful.
The location is great!
There is, however, an area that needs a change. They offer a mini breakfast that you may have brought to your room, or eaten in the large salon, or, in good weather, out of doors on their patio. The breakfast has not changed in too many years, and it is uninspiring and not very healthy.
I believe that an upgraded breakfast would add more zip to this experience of staying in this lovely old home..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: 141 King St E, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £86 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere is well located near the downtown shops , museums and restaurants. Only 5 minutes from the Queen's University and the 1000 Islands Cruises. A complimentary continental breakfast can be taken in the lounge, on the terrace or delivered to your room. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Kingston
Hotel Belvedere Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing