We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed at Hotel Belvedere for one-night in July. From the second I got to the front doors I was impressed. It's much nicer inside that other B&B's in Kingston (and cheaper too!). It's a very grand house and nicely decorated. Some B&B's make me feel like I'm stepping back in time, but Hotel Belvedere was a nice mix between classic and modern. Our room was huge and had a private breakfast nook that over looked the waterfront. The B&B's doesn't have central air, but each room came with a floor fan and A/C unit in the window. I found this to be more than enough. Breakfast was basic (English muffin, cheese, jams, tea/coffee, orange juice etc.) but covered all of the bases. We called for our breakfast and it was dropped off within 5-minutes to our room. Our room was clean with a good bed and lots of windows/natural light. All and all, I'd highly recommend this B&B and will definitely return.

P.S. All of the B&B's in Kingston make you stay minimum two nights, but not this one!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank our2cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    55
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
78
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Attracted by its history but disappointed. The bedroom was small and had a connecting door which did not fit properly to the next room. As a consequence we heard every word of the conversation of a couple in the next room which went on quite late. I am only glad that they decided to sleep!! Brealfast was inadequate and served on a tray.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
529 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

If you love the shabby grandeur of Victorian era homes, this is the place for you. Ever so slight musty fragrance, creaky floors, nooks and crannies, a hodge-podge of antique furnishings and absolutely fabulous. I loved it. If you like a square and quiet room with a vacuous bathroom that smells like every other chain hotel - you will not want to stay here. But for those of us that love a chance to experience a bit of history, the Hotel Belvedere is wonderful. My lovely room was spacious, clean and nicely furnished with a bed, several chairs, side tables and a small dining table. There was a fireplace with an ornate iron door and beautiful tile hearth. The bathroom was tiny but I don't rent hotel rooms to hang out in the bathroom so it worked fine for me. And there was a wee kitchen with a nicely sized refrigerator and microwave oven. My room even featured an adorable 'upstairs' closet! How fun is that! In the morning, I went downstairs to the parlour where the wonderfully friendly staff brought me a freshly toasted English muffin served with really tasty orange juice on a beautiful antique silver tray. Coffee and tea are also available and a big bowl of fresh fruit is there for the picking. All of it was much tastier than the typical hotel breakfast of soggy Danish and soda fountain juices. As much as I loved this wonderful old boarding house, I had to give the hotel a four star rating. The door to my room is a great deal smaller than the portal it covers so light from the hallway leaked in all around it during the night. And the lovely windows were covered with ancient shutters that did not close all the way nor fully cover the windows. Charming but ineffective in blocking light from outside. On the other hand, I loved how the sunlight poured in through the gaps and slats in the morning. Overall, it was quite lovely and I plan to return next time I am in Kingston.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Funky, eclectic place. Easy walk from downtown, Queens, and RMC. All the "creaks and groans" one would expect from a 100+-year-old building, but clean spacious room with very comfortable bed. Continental breakfast beside the fire in the reading room is a perfect start to the day. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I spent two thoroughly enjoyable weeks in the Belvedere while working in Kingston. It is a hotel with character. It was great to relax in front of a roaring fire in the elegant lounge. My room was spacious (although the bathroom was small) and well-furnished with a comfortable bed. The breakfast, which I always ate in the lounge, was fine for me. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

The hotel is excellently located on a quiet street within walking distance of both the city centre with its many bars, cafes and restaurants and the main Queens University campus.

I'd have no hesitation in staying at the Belvedere again should I ever return to Kingston.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Excellent government rates!!

Unique rooms in this 1880 house converted to a hotel within walking distance of the downtown. My room was clean and roomy and was one of 2, in the place, that has a jacuzzi. Antique furniture and a comfortable bed. Despite being an old house it was quiet.

What is advertised as a "light" breakfast is provided and it can be brought to your room or eaten in the main floor parlour. Friendly and very helpful owners. It is like an over-sized bed and breakfast.

My only criticism - no desk in my room but I improvised with the night-stand.

and yes...the rug in the room was worn and frayed but so what...it was an antique.

I would return just to try out a different room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pentangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The Belvedere is wonderful in so many ways. The breakfast however is horrible. You get a single english muffin, coffee, juice and 3 small slices of cheese. At least throw in a hard boiled egg or two. Maybe some ceraal and a banana. Fresh pastries from one of the lovely bakeries? I would rather have a table where I could help myself. For the cost this was a bummer and I will try an different place on my next trip to Kinston.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AMREredstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
900 reviews
4.4 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: 141 King St E, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere is well located near the downtown shops , museums and restaurants. Only 5 minutes from the Queen's University and the 1000 Islands Cruises. A complimentary continental breakfast can be taken in the lounge, on the terrace or delivered to your room. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Kingston
Hotel Belvedere Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing