We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn was best value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Sarnia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn was best value”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Again the staff at Comfort Inn was excellent. Always friendly and accommodating to our needs.
We enjoyed the daily breakfast offered, with a variety of choices. We were close enough to walk to the conference centre where we were attending meetings; the bus stop was right at our corner, to hop on board and visit downtown Kingston; and a short walk to restaurants for dinner. Felt safe & sound here.

Room Tip: We chose a smoking room, as usually, Comfort Inn offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    29
    24
    23
    23
See reviews for
53
47
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The front desk gal was very friendly and inviting when I arrived late at night, however that would be the one and only good part of the hotel. Once I exited the lobby I promptly encountered a very nasty smell in the hallway which probably emanated from the hallway carpet which was black with dirt and absolutely disgustingly dirty!

The room was only slightly better. The couch chairs and room carpet had large brown stains all over them. I quickly returned to the front desk and explained the situation. The girl at the desk was very apologetic and handed me three room keys and told me to take my pick…… in hindsight that should have been a red light, most probably my experience happens with a high degree of regularity as all three rooms were worse than the first, all had issues with filth from dirty bed sheets to hair and dirt on the washroom floors and tub! I again returned to the front desk and was handed four more room keys. The eighth room was the cleanest but still had a ways to go in the clean department. It was very late at night and I had no desire to go from hotel to hotel looking for a room so I requested a bunch of clean sheets which I spread on top of the bed and couch. In hind sight I likely would have been better off saving the money and sleeping in the car!

The breakfast the next morning was pretty much like the rest of the hotel. I walked in to find empty trays of food and promptly observed the breakfast room attendant washing something in the sink which was located next food. Water was splashing unto the food………… Where is the Ontario or Kingston health department?

This place reminded me of a flop house one sees on TV…… My experience puts this as the worst stay ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrptravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewThibault, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review mrptravelbug,

By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas that are in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. During the Winter season, our hotel stuff try and focus on keeping all aspects of the hotel clean as it is much more difficult to do when mud and dirt are being brought in on the bottoms of shoes. Our staff takes a great deal of pride in making you feel comfortable and at home and I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I checked in for 2 nights on Thanksgiving weekend. When the front desk attendant found out I was there because of family being in the hospital, he immediately took the time to make sure I had the discount they allow, which I was unaware of at the time. The room was very clean, and you could tell they are trying to upgrade the building. Staff was very helpful, even hospitable, and I would certainly return to stay again. As well, the breakfast was one of the best I've ever had as an inclusive meal at a hotel--plenty of variety, good and lots of everything I had checked out the reviews here and almost did not go here because of them, but was glad I 'took a chance'; it just confirms that you can have very different perspectives of the same situation and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewThibault, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
We always enjoy hearing why guests enjoyed their stay with us and are happy to hear that you plan on staying at the Comfort Inn Midtown in the future localtraveller7. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and recognize them for their efforts and friendliness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed for 2 nights and when I arrived I noticed that the one and only ice machine was out of order. I am wondering how this most basic convenience was allowed to be missing, with no alternative offered for ice. The bathroom basin was severely scratched, marked and discoloured and the bathtub drained very very slowly. The coffee cup lids in the breakfast room did not fit. There also is a very stale odour in the hallways and it seemed that a tobacco smell drifted into my non-smoking room each evening. My letter of concern has not been answered by the Manager, over 2 weeks later. Find a better place in lovely Kingston.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewThibault, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel earlier this month Nomad844. We unfortunately had a situation happen where the ice machine would not pump water. This happened on a Friday afternoon and could not be worked on until Monday. We decided to replace the unit which is fully functional as we speak. I did purchase bagged ice for guest use in the time that the ice machine was not in service. This may have not been known to you so for that we are very sorry! We hope that you will consider staying with us during your next visit to Kingston and encourage you to contact me directly so that I can assure you have a wonderful visit in the Limestone City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our first time in Kingston so we picked this location as in the dark and from the road did not look too bad. Checked in and off to our room upstairs, the hallway reeked of smoke so badly you practically needed a gas mask to get to the room. Once in the room it was dirty, air conditioner barely worked so I opened the screen which promptly fell out.

Bed was so so but we stayed as it had been a long day and did not feel like going out again looking for another place. Price included breakfast? which consisted of a hockey puck sausage and rubber egg served up on a paper plate with plastic cutlery.

My last time ever with this chain, one of the locals informed me it was owned by off-shore investors now who are concerned only with revenue with no regard to quality. It certainly appears this way. Run with hair streaming in the opposite direction away from this property.

Room Tip: Try another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuswap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewThibault, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Shuswap68, I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its’ team for your stay. We are sorry to hear about the lingering odour you described. Your room assignment was situated in the middle of the hotel layout, where there is less hallway circulation. Our new free hot breakfast was just rolled out over the past few months and we are still working out some kinks. I am sorry that the meal was not up to standards and we are using different products all the time to perfect guest satisfaction. It would be great if you have a chance to give us a go again and we will certainly not disappoint again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We arrived a little earlier that our reservation was planned and the staff help us out to get our room ready as fast as possible. We were with our 2 dogs and were very frindly, they brought us a treats for them and vet phone numbers for any emergency. All staff were so nice and gave us direction to make us discover the city. The room was clean and in good order. A/C was cold, shower powerful and bed very comfit. For people with high stander and would like a valet then comfit and clean room, maybe it wont be for them.

Room Tip: Second floor as less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinLemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewThibault, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
GinLemonade, although we welcome feedback of all types it is always a pleasure for us to hear what sets us apart from our competition! Thank you taking the time to post such kind words. Our staff has worked hard to develop this pet policy and we are proud to offer this service, when we know few hotels in our vicinity accept pets as guests. We are pleased you appreciated our efforts. You are a valued customer and we hope we will be given the opportunity to serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is by far the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The rooms are disgusting! Dirty, run down, and they smell horribly of cigarette smokeIT's in a terrible location too. There's nothing around. I would never stay here again, in fact, i'd avoid the whole comfort inn chain!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strattest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewThibault, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor Strattest. These comments are very important because they help us pursue continuous improvement. We apologize for any inconveniences caused by smoke smell. We admit, your room assignment was located close to the smoking section. We are currently assessing solutions to help minimize the odour you mentioned, related to smoking. 75% of the hotel is smoke free and we are looking to increase that number. Again, please accept our apologies, and we hope you’ll give us another chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
900 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#16 of 37 in Kingston
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thriftlodge Kingston
#17 of 37 in Kingston
315 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 37 in Kingston
105 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown
Address: 1454 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Midtown is conveniently located minutes from Kingston Memorial Centre, Fort Henry, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Boat Tours, Queens University, St. Lawrence College and the Royal Military College.Shopping is available at area malls, including Cataraqui Town Centre and Kingston Shopping Centre. This Comfort Inn hotel is minutes from the beautiful downtown harbour-front area where visitors can enjoy an assortment of restaurants and shopping at unique boutiques. With tastefully decorated accommodations, each guest will feel right at home at this Kingston hotel. All rooms feature flat screen cable television, ironing equipment, coffee makers and hair dryers. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests are invited to take advantage of the attractive picnic area equipped with a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing