We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms, nice staff.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Traveller Motel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Don't be fooled by the false advertising on the website. The motel only got TWO rooms with all features as advertised. Check what room you get BEFORE you book and pay!

The motel is not clean, not nicely decorated, not a good location, but hey...at least it was very, very cheap. So, if you have a tight budget and don't care much about the room you will stay - go there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Strohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmanager2010, Manager at Welcome Traveller Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2010

Thank you very much for the review, this way we get to learn, the changes we require to make. We are proud to keep to know that the motel is under new management since august of 2010, and since then we have freshly painted changed carpets and beds in all almost all the rooms. Hopefully beofre the summer of 2011 we will be giving it even more more newer look.

Thank you again

manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

It was fine for a basic overnight place to sleep. It's a long way out from the city, so it's not a sight-seeing base. Clean, beds comfortable, quiet, inexpensive ($60 total). Perfectly good bathroom. I have stayed in many motels of this class in and around Kingston, and have been disappointed several times. I would come back to this one again if I was still in this price bracket!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller99ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

For what your paying, it's a decent place to stay. Don't expect anything 3 stars though. I wouldn't reccommend staying there for more than 3 nights as if your sightseeing in Kingston, better to go to the heart of the city than staying further away.
Staff (seem like it was family-owned) were friendly & helpful.
The room I stayed in (two double beds), had a musky odor once entering in, but with the flip of the AC found it fine. Carpet didn't look/feel nice (looked like it required a second vacuuming) and overall, the motel felt pretty dated. A few things that I liked about it was that I had a microwave & fridge in my room with no extra charge. Also, got to watch some good TV (i.e. Spike, Food network, discovery + HGTV).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Space_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
toronto, ont
16
Reviewed 26 April 2005

i stayed based on the reviews........don't make the same mistake as me...but, you be the judge....once you pull into the trailer park..sorry, motel you'll understand what i'm talking about....rooms are nothing to write home about either.....some one should really check where these reviews come from cause i don't know how someone could write all these good things...all you doing is fooling people such as myself, who inturn write bad reviews.....stop lying welcome traveller

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2004

After viewing the website for this motel, and then staying there for 2 nights, I feel compelled to advise others of the false advertising on the website. There were only 2 rooms that offered the amenities advertised on the website. Our room was one of the poorest of the whole motel. The covers on the bed were old and tattered, the room smelled odd, the lighting was very dim and old, the TV was on a shelf over the top of the window so that you had to lie flat on the bed to see it. We had to ask for in room coffee makers (if there were any left) and some rooms had cots and not a second bed as advertised. The rooms were not cleaned every day. If we had paid $40 for this room I wouldn't complain. But we were charged $80 a night!! Traveller beware!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiamondLil49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, On
15
Reviewed 22 April 2004

During my stay at this particular motel I was very pleased. They provided me with information and directions to where I was planning on going. It's close to EVERYTHING! I would like to thank the staff for making my vacation perfect. I have stayed at places that costed 3 times as much and didn't have as good a time as i did at the Welcome Travellers motel. Trust me, if you want to have a great time at very low cost, this is the place for you!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JoDel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
411 reviews
Super 8 Kingston
#11 of 37 in Kingston
221 reviews
Waterloo Village
Seven Oakes Motel
Seven Oakes Motel
#30 of 37 in Kingston
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilltop Motel
#17 of 37 in Kingston
77 reviews
Knights Inn Kingston
#25 of 37 in Kingston
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Traveller Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Traveller Motel

Address: 3100 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario K7P 0K6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £37 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Welcome Traveller Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Welcome Traveller Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Traveller Hotel
Welcome Traveller Motel Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing