We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has gone downhill big time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place has gone downhill big time”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Once upon a time this was a decent place to stay. It has been busy for years due to its great location for travellers. Apparently who ever owns it has not seen fit to maintain it or upgrade it over time. The place is generally run down. Linens, beds, towels etc at the end of their life. Furniture looks to be original from hotel opening 20 years ago. New flat screen tv is the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    62
    39
    22
    12
See reviews for
54
58
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My granddaughters and I were in Kingston for a concert. The Comfort Inn is very easy to get to off the 401. Although we had to sign a form upon arriving that we'd not have hockey sticks in the room, no running in the halls and no consuming of alcohol in the halls, etc. - I don't think the hockey tournament families had to sign the same form. The front desk said they had security on until midnight .... well they need to keep them on staff much, much later when there is still lots of running from room to room and slamming of doors. Therefor ...if you want to stay somewhere convenient - great - just check with the front desk when you are pre-booking that there isn't a hockey tournament in town sharing your dates.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnd272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is one of those 1970s-1980s built mid-level hotels that smell like old cigarettes. The HVAC units are kind of terrible and you can't get just the fan on. The desk is very wobbly. The TV sits pretty low. Bed is creaky. There's a smoke smell coming from somewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stopped here on a March break Saturday night, without a reservation, and got a nice room, very clean, and everything you would expect in this price bracket ($100.00 Cdn.). Hotel was conveniently close to a 401 exit, but not close enough to hear traffic. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Beds were a little hard, but we had a good sleep due to quiet, safe building. Parking was close to our room. An included, free, "run-of'the-mill" breakfast provided a few fruits, breads and muffins, cereals, and waffles, as well as pre-manufactured egg omellettes. Sausage? was a bit peculiar- don't even try it. Otherwise, a nice hotel to pull over to in Kingston.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review following your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401. I was pleased to read that you found our property quiet, clean and that you enjoyed a good night's sleep. The majority of our guests arrive by vehicle and so we appreciate you noting the we are conveniently located off of Hwy 401.
Please do come back and enjoy the hotel again - and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is an excellent mid priced one. Clean,comfortable ,friendly staff . Close to 401 and Division st.The heater worked both quickly and quietly and thermostat worked flawlessly . There were many shops and restaurants nearby. The pillows were so comfortable that we tried to take them up on their offer and buy 4 (unfortunately none were available ). The only things we would have liked in the room were a frig and a coffee table. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that have great experiences with us. We are fortunate to have a great location just off Highway 401 and are happy you found the service and amenities of our hotel to be to your liking.
I sincerely hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I had to stay in this hotel because of the snow storm. The room give had an heating system that makes loud noise. Loud is so lound that I measured the sound using an app in Android and it was between 70 and 80 db. Since that is thermostat operated, all of a sudden in the night it starts with loud nose. Boy, I will never want to stay in the hotel. Also while checking in the lady at the front desk seemed to be very impatient and rude.

I have taken a video of the room with the loud noise. I wish i could post that video here.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay and we are sorry that this stay did not meet your expectations.
I would like to apologize that the heating system did not operate correctly and ruined your stay with us. We have investigated the unit and believe we have solved the issue. I am also sorry to hear that service at our hotel was not up to expectations. We have taken your feedback into account and have addressed this with the team as a matter of urgency.
Although you have mentioned that you would not return to the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401, I do hope you reconsider and allow us the opportunity to show you our normally high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I booked this hotel using the no name Priceline feature as I had a brief stay in Kingston and just wanted a clean economical room with free parking and free breakfast. Priceline choice this motel which I stayed in years ago and found more than adequate. I immediately called the hotel and requested a non smoking room with a fridge and microwave. I checked in nice and early at 1 pm(other hotels have 3-4 pm checkin) and the front desk staff was very cheery and helpful. The room was more than adequate with fridge, microwave and I see it was updated from years ago with a new flat screen tv and larger bathtub with safety bars. We had a quiet night's sleep although the hotel is close to the highway exit but but only 10-15 minutes to downtown Kingston. The best part of the stay was the fantastic breakfast buffet which is the best breakfast I ever had for a 2 star property. I would definately stay here again. There was no pool/gym but none was needed and it was much cheaper than a hotel of it's value usually is

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker as I am ask for non smoking room in a quiet area(2nd floor) also ask for fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odessafile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
What a pleasure for us to read your review from your stay at the Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401 and we feel as if you summed up our property perfectly. It appears that you were able to take advantage of our newly upgraded amenities in our rooms and our fantastic location. We appreciate your comments about our new Hot Breakfast program. We are pleased to offer our guests a complimentary hearty hot breakfast. The Comfort Inn Kingston Hwy 401 is one of the few hotels with a free breakfast that offers so much.
It is our hope that you will return soon and thank you again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
896 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 37 in Kingston
104 reviews
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Highway 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Property: Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Address: 55 Warne Cres, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Highway 401 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) is near many area attractions, including the Fort Henry National Historic Site, Roger's KRock Centre, Queen's University, Royal Military College of Canada, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Charity Casino and St. Lawrence College. This hotel is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a 32" LCD flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, ironing equipment and coffee maker. Guests appreciate the many high-value amenities at this Comfort Inn hotel, including: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free weekday newspaper Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn - Highway 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing