We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast could use improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The room was ok - nothing special, but clean and comfortable. Our problem was with the price which was comparatively high (150+) and with the breakfast which was absolutely unappetizing.. When we were driving away, another guest getting into his car randomly commented about how bad the breakfast was, so it wasn't just me who thought it was sub-par.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbinoville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking to time to write a review of your stay with us. Reviews such as yours help us to identify areas which we may need to concentrate on improving. Breakfast has indeed popped up a few times as being an area we could do better on. Please accept our assurances that we are working to correct this issue. Please accept our apologies and we hope you'll give us another chance to earn your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn - Highway 401
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Although renovations on the hotel were completed in May 2014, I was not impressed. The renovations appear to be nouveau cheap. Its like the difference between hardwood floors and laminate. Laminate always looks cheap and looks even worse after a short period of time. Bubbling wallpaper, nail holes unfilled in trim, no shelf space in the bathroom, the same 30 year old clunky/noisy wall mounted hvac unit, are just some examples of a cheap renovation. The breakfast room is too small and is equipped with tiny tables. The "hot breakfast" consisted of powdered eggs. On the plus side the room was clean and quiet (when the ac was shut off). For the same amount of money there are nicer hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room without an interior door to the adjacent room. We were first placed in...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

First I would like to thank you for using TripAdvisor. By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas that are in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. We are sorry that our decor wasn't to your taste. We sincerely hope that other aspects of your stay were more to your liking ad we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We checked into the hotel and found hair in the shower and mold / water in our ice bucket. The room was poorly cleaned, even found leftover food at the side of the bed from the last guest. We tried to have a shower at 5pm and the shower did not work, when we called the desk we were told that too many people must be having showers and we needed to try again later. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Scott and Dianne,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding our recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Keri Robinson
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn- Hwy 401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Don't let the fact that the Comfort Inn is located just off the 401 scare you away from staying here when visiting Kingston. While it would be preferable to stay right downtown, the savings alone ($103/night on the CAA/AAA rate at the Comfort Inn) would pay for a very nice dinner downtown (we found the downtown accommodations to be ridiculously overpriced). Kingston is also a small city so the drive downtown is less than ten minutes and there's plenty of parking. The hotel is near a large movie theatre complex, factory outlet stores and other shopping so there is stuff to do nearby.

The hotel was recently renovated so the rooms are clean and comfortable (no weird smells!). The staff were also most helpful and the free WiFi and breakfast are nice bonuses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are always striving to do our best for our guests and your experiece ensures we are doing just that. Many thanks for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable stay, reasonable price, and staff would do anything for you.
It's location is great if just stopping over, but not near the tourist hub of downtown, however it's walking distance to lots of shopping and restaurants, and driving around Kingston isn't difficult.
Next time we need accommodation in Kingston, we won't think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetroDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Many thanks for contributing your comments to TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our convenient location. Please do come back and enjoy our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel was easy to fid off the 401 and close to lots of little shops and restaurants. The Hotel did say it was under renovations when we booked and they are extensive, but should be done in a few weeks. Our room was nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast included was good with a decent variety . We are glad that we stayed here and would use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinchy_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMComfortInnKingston, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Highway 401, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

I am so glad to read that your enjoyed your stay with us during our extensive renovations. I am thrilled to say that renovations have been completed for over a month now and we are now a 100% Smoke Free Hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked 2 rooms through Hotwire and stayed here for one night in May 2014. Our group was on our way to Montreal and just wanted a place to stop over for the night.

The Good: Hotel is conveniently right off the 401 and in a location with many restaurants and businesses. Room appeared to be recently renovated. Everything in the room was clean and in very good condition. There was free wi-fi... but connection was a little spotty. In room fridge and microwave were very useful. Free breakfast was better than expected... Quite good even! Hot food including sausage & do-it-yourself waffles, plus the usual cereals, breads and fruits definitely hit the spot.

The Bad: The renovation made the stay a very unpleasant experience. We were unfortunately put in rooms that were directly below some second floor rooms that were under construction. Our screen doors were blocked off by caution tape. In the morning we were woken up by the sound of hammering and construction that went on for hours, before we eventually checked out. Also... that morning, we had construction workers actually ask us to move our vehicle to another parking spot so that they could move their forklift in. Talk about adding insult to injury! As well, our water went off, and one person couldn't shower in the morning. We spoke to the person on duty... and explained the situation. But they wouldn't offer any sort of discount, voucher or token of apology. Overall, we felt like they just didn't care about our stay.

Conclusion: Good value in a nicely renovated hotel. However, the ongoing renovation made for a noisy & unpleasant experience... while the staff refused to acknowledge our complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonHauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 37 in Kingston
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Highway 401? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Highway 401

Address: 55 Warne Cres, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Highway 401 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) is near many area attractions, including the Fort Henry National Historic Site, Roger's KRock Centre, Queen's University, Royal Military College of Canada, the International Hockey Hall of Fame, 1000 Islands Charity Casino and St. Lawrence College. This hotel is 100% smoke free. All guest rooms have been renovated and include a 32" LCD flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, ironing equipment and coffee maker. Guests appreciate the many high-value amenities at this Comfort Inn hotel, including: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free weekday newspaper Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn - Highway 401 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Hotel Kingston
Comfort Inn Kingston
Kingston Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Highway 401 Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing