We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, uninspiring, smelly, seen better days hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Booked two nights at the Sheraton, expecting a clean , comfortable room. We started out in a king room. Upon entering the room it struck me as dingy and tired and immediately noticed the stale smell. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. We called the front desk to let them know about the fan and the response from them was helpful and friendly. We were offered a junior suite on the top floor, which we accepted, but am sorry to say was no great improvement. This room also smelled bad. Overall the staff were great and they are doing their best with a hotel that is crying out for lots of attention. We definitely will not be returning. We checked out the next day and got a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4jmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

4jmom,
Thank you for writing a review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your stay. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel room we had was the standard double queen set-up. It was basic and pretty institutional to be honest. The room was clean, No real sitting area to speak of despite that they jammed a chair beween the bed and the wall. The beds and linens were nice and the shower decent so for me, it was pretty good overall despite feeling institutional which is probably a bit of a picky complaint.

The location however is incredible. The old buildings with historical plaques are all around making for a great place to walk and see the history of old Kingston. You are one block from the lake so the sights are great. The neighborhood is full of nice restaurants and pubs and snack places that we enjoyed. If you stay here, be sure to stroll around. You will be impressed at what a beautiful place downtown Kingston is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reffz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

reffz,
Thank you for writing a review. We’re happy to have had you as our guest. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our central location and all the history the area has to offer. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to return for another visit. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed in a suite on the top floor. The room was well-kept and comfortable. The only downsides were that the pool was closed for maintenance and the cable TV, rather than being clear, seemed to be received from rabbit ears. This was a local cable problem and not a hotel problem though.

Would definitely stay there again. Convenient parking on-site as well as a good restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFifthEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

TheFifthEye,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Four Points Kingston. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations, convenient parking and great restaurant. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the pool closure and television reception. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for wrting.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a great hotel and very well located in downtown Kingston. We arrived, parked in the underground parking lot came to reception and the check-in process was quick and painless.

Also, when leaving the hotel all you do is scan your room key in the parking garage and the gate opens, you drop the keys in the box provided and drive out. Nice and easy!

The hotel is well located downtown close to all the bars and restaurants. Our room had a king size bed and was clean and well maintained.

The staff was very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dev H,
Thank you for your review about your experience with us at Four Points Kingston. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our great hotel, clean accommodations and friendly staff. We’re happy to have had you as our guest and we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel grew on me during our 2 night stay. At first l was quite disappointed with our room, it had a musty or chemical smell but that seemed to go away and we wondered if it was connected to the pool issue. The plastic glasses were quite unacceptable but we easily obtained any size of glass we requested. The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable with nice new linens. A little more attention to detail could raise this hotel to a 4 star. Soap dispensers in the shower were empty but the room was quite clean. The bottle of water is complimentary which is a nice touch but a fridge would be better. The hallways definitely need a refurbish.
The biggest impression was the staff which could not have been more helpful or friendly. They more than make up for the shortcomings in this hotel for most visitors. Location is great and the lake view rooms although obstructed are nice. I have stayed in the competition in Kingston and feel that with a little more money spent on details this hotel could compete quite well

Room Tip: request a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubeAncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

jubeAncaster,
Thank you for writing a review. We value your feedback and apologize for the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations. It’s great to hear that our staff’s excellence in service made up for these areas and you felt well taken care of during your stay with us at Four Points Kingston. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, comfortable beds and convenient location. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon and see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. The rooms were very clean and pleasant. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had 4 rooms and they allowed late check- out on three of them. Free Wifi. Convenient parking. Good overall value and good location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGP669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

PGP669,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on our hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Four Points Kingston, and we hope you enjoyed the wedding. It’s great to hear our clean rooms, friendly staff and great location made for a pleasant stay. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I guess I should start my review with a note that some of the issues during our stay were out of the hands of the Four point. We picked this hotel because the location looked handy, and we were planning on taking a look at Queens for my daughter. The location was great, although Kingston is such a walk-able city, that there seemed to be other choices that would also have been handy. Likewise, the cabs we used in Kingston were awesome and reasonable across the board. The lobby of the hotel is small and nothing fancy, the front desk staff were young polite and professional. When we arrived we were briskly advised that the pool was broken, really with little apology. As a parent travelling with one young child, and a teen, this had a big impact on our stay. The room was also a bit disappointing, the carpet seemed very worn and there was paper sheets on the desk with room service rates with ketchup finger prints on the paper, eeww. The room was a basic size, slow small lift, and really nothing to create a pleasant atmosphere, walls seemed old, bathroom had cheapo shampoo, dresser had a slight smell. Certainly the bed and bedding was new and lovely, but the hotel sort of felt like some new stuff had been thrown into a run down building, if that makes sense. Also during our stay there was a horrendous argument in the hallway for what seemed like hours. The yelling and swearing can only be described as very disturbing. Anyways, Kingston is a lovely spot, but I am not sure I would choose this spot to stay again. If the pool was fixed, perhaps we would give it another go. I think the all night disturbance really impacted my view of the hotel, other than the staff there would be nothing to recommend.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

harris M,
Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate you acknowledging that our associates were polite and professional even though you did not find our accommodations to your liking. It’s unfortunate to hear of the areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the pool closure and the noise disturbance you encountered during your stay. We appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback both positive and opportunities for improvement. Thank you again for writing a review. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to return to see our improvements.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston

Address: 285 King St E, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £96 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Kingston is located near the world-famous 1000 Islands, Fort Henry, Grand Theatre, K-Rock Centre, and Queen’s University. All our guest rooms offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. Make yourself at home with access to our newly updated heated indoor pool or work off stress in our state-of-the-art, 24-hour fitness centre. Catch up with work or connect with friends and family using our free Internet. Then, head back to your guest room for a great night's sleep in our Four Points Signature Bed. All of our accommodations offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
Four Points Hotel Kingston
Four Points Kingston
Kingston Four Points
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing