We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...Not Such a Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location...Not Such a Great Stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved this hotel for it's location - we were able to park the car and walk everywhere we wanted to go...so it was nice not to have to fight the downtown traffic and just go by foot.

The room left us wanting. The air conditioner in our room was not working properly and it was a very hot day/night. We called the front desk and they did send someone up but they told us to turn up the temperature and then it might kick in...it did not and it was a very sticky night. The window only opened about an inch and while there was a nice cool breeze coming in...we couldn't benefit because of the safety latch.

There was some mold in the bathroom that was concerning and could have been easily taken care of with some proper cleaning. It made us a little weary of the cleanliness of the rest of the room.

On the plus side the beds were comfy and the staff were friendly and and eager to help.

If we were to stay downtown Kingston again, we would likely look into one of the other hotels on the waterfront to benefit from the location, but would hope to get a better room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Lindsay P.,

I apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not up to standard our guests have come to expect from us. I will be sure to discuss this review with our housekeeping staff and heighten our awareness of such issues. I appreciate you acknowledging our great location and helpful staff. We value you as our guest, and hope to have you stay with us again. Thanks again for writing a review.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    274
    132
    48
    36
See reviews for
207
186
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business and find this one as nothing out of the ordinary. I would have expected more for a hotel with this calibre but has fallen short of some pleasant experiences one would come out of.

The rooms are average, you can hear the noise coming from the adjacent room. This was remedied the next day which is good. The front desk staff does not seem to be friendly however they were courteous. The parking for hotel guests are restricted only to levels 3&4, you cannot park elsewhere otherwise you will risk of getting a ticket - this is on top of the $15/day parking charge. There is a separate elevator to the parking that will have you wait for a significant time, I think that this parking charge should have a valet attendant who will bring the car up when needed.

If I am to compare this to the others, I suggest other close by hotels such as Delta and Residence inn by Marriott in which I stayed previously. There are also B&Bs that offer excellent service and experience. Kingston is a very nice town, it should be enjoyed fully and lodging plays a very important part.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comp-aliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback both positive and opportunities for improvement. I’m sorry we let you down and failed to deliver the exceptional stay our guests have come to expect. Detailed reviews like yours allow us to impact future guest experiences. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Best,
Andrew Holmes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having spent a week end in family. Get a suite for the three of us.
My daughter did like the cookies available in the lobby, My wife and I the Lemonade.
The Hotel has been entirely refurnished.
Very well situated downtown Kingston, 2 blocks from the port.
Restaurant is empty and discouraging.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tompoucemada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. While I’m sorry to hear you found the restaurant disappointing; I’m happy to know you appreciated our updated decor, convenient location and delicious cookies. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us with areas of opportunity for improvement. We hope to host to again.

Best,
Andrew Holmes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I'm a huge fan of this hotel and have stayed here many times in the last few years. Why do I like it so much? Here are some reasons:
1. Location - its right downtown, perfect for dining and shopping, and just a 10 minute walk to Queen's University.
2. Price + service - consistently, it's great value, with extra great service so you feel like it's a 5 Star property you're in
3. Rooms - rooms are clean, spacious and free upgrades are sometimes
available
4. Amenities - hotel has great amenities, including a "real" hairdryer (unlike one attached to the wall which is awful); free coffee in the lobby in the morning and free cookies in the afternoon; coffee maker in room; lots of fluffy towels + pillows;
pool + gym.

I highly recommend this hotel and will likely stay here again when I'm in Kingston.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Your review serves as encouragement towards achieving our goal of providing an experience reflective of our beautiful hotel. Your kind words let us know the efforts across all departments are being noticed.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I used to use this hotel three times a year when in Kingston but it has really changed in the past two years. The first sign some thing is wrong are the "No Parking - City of Kingston permit required" signs on the first 3 levels of the underground parking. Hotel guests are required to park in the lowest level of the underground parking lot, where there are limited spots. I arrived for a four-day stay at 9PM, the parking spots for hotel guests were all taken and I had to park in a reserved lot. This meant I had to leave before 8AM the next morning. In the morning the entry door to the parking lot stopped working and hotel staff were directing City of Kingston workers to enter the parking lot through the single exit as cars lined up to exit. The parking lot quickly turned into a zoo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Murphey suite with 4 beds!! Couldn't have been better:)

The staff at the front desk were very very friendly. Kept our bubbly cold while we were out shopping waiting for the room to be turned over:)

Everything was brought up for us, room was very lovely, clean,comfy,lots of space!!!!

Couldn't have been better, thank you for the great stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bubblymakesmesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Four Points by Sheraton Kingston. It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff. So glad you had a good time!
Sincerely,

Andrew Holmes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is definitely one of my favourite hotels. My room was clean, comfortable and it was very hard to leave my comfy bed with its crisp white linens.

The new look to the hotel makes it look very much like a boutique hotel in New York - it such a treat to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate you acknowledging our updated rooms and comfortable beds. I will be sure to share your kind feedback with our staff. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Andrew Holmes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
922 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston

Property: Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Address: 285 King St E, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Kingston is located near the world-famous 1000 Islands, Fort Henry, Grand Theatre, K-Rock Centre, and Queen’s University. All our guest rooms offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. Make yourself at home with access to our newly updated heated indoor pool or work off stress in our state-of-the-art, 24-hour fitness centre. Catch up with work or connect with friends and family using our free Internet. Then, head back to your guest room for a great night's sleep in our Four Points Signature Bed. All of our accommodations offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
Four Points Hotel Kingston
Four Points Kingston
Kingston Four Points
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing