We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a two room Junior Suite on the 9th floor. There was one Queen bed, a pull-out couch (comfy enough) and the staff provided us with a crib for our 3 y/o daughter. There was a (very) small balcony in the bedroom and a large window facing north and providing an excellent view of the city, the (Rideau) river, the harbour-front, RMC and Old Fort Henry. Nevertheless, if you are interested in what downtown Kingston has to offer, then the best feature of this hotel is its location because it's close to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear CaptBlack,

We are pleased to hear from you. Proving you with a pleasant stay is our highest priority. I appreciate you taking the time to write to let us know we succeeded. Your comments serve as encouragement to our associates who work hard to make our guests feel at home. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your return.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pet-friendly can be a blessing or a curse depending on your situation. My wife is sensitive to cats and dogs , so we were unpleasantly surprised to find that this facility is pet-friendly. When we made the booking we were not asked or told about this and the place was full so we couldn't change rooms. Of course, this could be a bonus for many.

However, the room we had was quite nice - a junior suite with a separate bedroom and living room, both small, but entirely adequate. We were traveling with our daughter and son-in-law and their room just down the hall was similar but different in that the bedroom was a little bigger and the living room narrower, making it feel a bit cramped. It was clean and fresh (other than residual pet hair, which the cleaning staff made extra effort to remove for us), with a small empty fridge (very useful), a coffee maker with lousy coffee, a 32" wide-screen TV (but not HD service), a sofa-bed, one chair and a work desk. Free wi-fi provided.

The room was pretty quiet considering the hotel is located in the heart of downtown, but the AC unit was very noisy and they should install quiet-closing doors to avoid the typical door slamming noises. Windows can be opened for fresh air. Everything is a bit scuffed and scraped, but workable.

They have a large, clean, indoor pool and hot tub as well as a reasonably equipped exercise room. Parking is $14/night and is deep below the hotel in a dank, narrow access parking lot. Be careful around the corners because there is not much room to pass.

The hotel restaurant, Sizzlers, which I'll review separately, provides room service.

This is a great location in a great City. It's an easy walk to a LCBO and a large grocery store. It is surrounded by pubs and restaurants, shopping and lots of history. It is a great spot for history and architecture buffs. Just around the corner from the Hotel, you can take the sight-seeing trolley, which I recommend. For about $30 you get a 90 minute bus tour of the City and you can hop on and off for 24 hours. Take it first to orient yourself. Make sure to visit Fort Henry. Just next door is the Kingston Brewing Co. with good micro-brew beer (I'll review it too).

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor and above have better views of the City and harbour. Rooms number 06 to 09 (5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Ian G,

We're happy to hear from you, and appreciate your detailed review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious suites, amenities and location at Four Points by Sheraton Kingston, and we're glad to have been a part of your trip. My sincere apologies for the pet hair found in your room, but I’m happy to know our housekeeping staff was accommodating. I’m sorry for this interruption to your trip. I'm glad you liked the area and felt well taken care of by our staff. Please make plans to visit us again.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A perfect business or pleasure escape in downtown Kingston.
Some rooms have a water view and a balcony.
Hotel is clean and newly renovated, rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Staff are great and an asset this hotel.
Gym is ok, no water machine and limed equipment.
Large pool (indoor) also on property.
My favourite choice in Kingston

Room Tip: Ask for a non adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cuddlypolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We are so appreciative of your kind review. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed our clean modern hotel and friendly service. Your remarks serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please visit us upon your return to the area.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in a King suite with my family for one night in July. Being a Four Points, the furnishings are not particularly fancy or the room luxurious (nor should anyone expect them to be), but it was clean, comfortable, not at all run down or worn, and perfectly fine for a family trip. In fact, it is arguably more than you would expect from a Four Points.

The king bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very spacious. Even though we were near the elevator (on the 9th floor), which I normally avoid, we were not disturbed by any hall noise. We actually slept quite well, which is not always a given for me in a hotel room!

My only complaint is that the living room and patio door didn't not have proper curtains, so my children were exposed to whatever the outside light was. Given that there is a sofa bed in the living room, there really should be proper curtains on those windows.

Having an indoor pool is a great option when you have kids. We used it twice. Again, nothing fancy and isn't a full=length wave pool, but there are big washrooms right beside the deck and a hot tub. We're glad it was available.

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear sjkski,

We’re happy to hear from you, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Four Points by Sheraton Kingston. We appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us while visiting the area. I’m pleased to hear we were well suited for your family travels. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon for more family fun.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for a weekend and I thought it was a great hotel. The location is amazing, right downtown and walking distance to the waterfront, Princess Street and many awesomr bars & restaurants. In terms of cons, one is parking. The best spot is underground, but its easy to drive by it, and with the one way streets it can be a pain to try to get back. There is 5 min parking in front of the hotel, but its usually full. As for street parking? Good luck. Another issue I had was that the parking pass from the hotel didn't work, I wasnt the only one, and there were tie ups trying to get out of the garage. My other issue was that the elevators were very slow. It was a busy weekend, but it seemed like I was waiting a very long time. Besides that the staff were friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and spacious and the complimentary upgrade was a nice touch. Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: see if an upgrade is available or a waterview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kswck_Dinner_Jckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Kswck_Dinner_Jckt,

Our associates understand and believe that our valued guests deserve an exceptional stay and we will continue to push daily to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your very nice comments with our team; they work hard to ensure guests feel at home. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity for improvement. It is feedback like yours which allows us to positively impact future guest experiences.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We've just came back from a weekend gateway in Kingston (from Montreal) which turned out to be very much appreciated by all. This selected Hotel is right in the heart of Kingston and all kinds of bars and good restaurants. The room was very clean and we also had queen size bed...a change from the double-size bed in most of other hotels...which makes a difference in between a good night sleep and a OK night sleep. We had breakfast at Morrison's a corner away on King Street, where the decor didn't changed since their opening in the 70's...but breakfast was excellent...and cheap! To complete our gateway, we took the Thousand Island Cruise (the Hearth of the Islands course) if you want to see outrageous residence by the water or on tiny islands. I would go again in this Hotel for the location and kind service.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Norm 45,

We are so appreciative of your kind review. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed our clean modern hotel and friendly service. Your remarks serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I’m delighted to know you enjoyed your weekend getaway.

Best,
Andrew Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely equipped, Breakfast was reasonably priced and served with a smile. At $15 parking is on par with other hotels we considered. Where it really scores is location, close to the lakeside and nestled amongst a selection of restaurants and bars.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Jonathan W,

We are delighted you took the time to share your kind review; we value your comments. It’s wonderful to know your stay was enjoyable. Nothing would please us more than a return visit.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Holmes, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
2.3 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston

Address: 285 King St E, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: £103 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Kingston is located near the world-famous 1000 Islands, Fort Henry, Grand Theatre, K-Rock Centre, and Queen’s University. All our guest rooms offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. Make yourself at home with access to our newly updated heated indoor pool or work off stress in our state-of-the-art, 24-hour fitness centre. Catch up with work or connect with friends and family using our free Internet. Then, head back to your guest room for a great night's sleep in our Four Points Signature Bed. All of our accommodations offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
Four Points Hotel Kingston
Four Points Kingston
Kingston Four Points
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing