We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Confederation Place Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and Nasty”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. Stumbled in there hammered out of my skull at 4 in the morning and forgot room number. When I tried the room that I though I was staying in the key unlocked the door, however the deadbolt was set. I began cursing my friend who was passed out, however a sweet old lady replied that I had the wrong room. So I went the the front desk to find out what my actual room number was and the character at the desk (who was too busy playing world of Warcraft) wouldn't tell me my damn room number. His reply was "sorry its hotel policy". Even more pissed now I though I would try every room until i found the one that my things were in even if it meant opening more random doors.

Finally after finding my room and a terrible sleep on bed that felt like the forest floor, I awoke to a "continental breakfast" as they call it which included toast, cereal, and a slab of peanut butter. After the wonderful experience I will never go back.


Enjoy your stay...

Room Tip: Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    92
    87
    56
    50
See reviews for
92
120
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent, but the hotel is in desperate need of an update. The price was reasonable. We stayed on the main floor, which was fine, except that the sliding doors were broken, the televison was not hooked up properly and the bathroom appeared that it had not been properly cleaned after the last guest. On the postive side the staff were very nice and helpful. After we returned home, i emailed the hotel and notified them of the problems. The manager promptly responded, apologized profusely and suggested that if we returned to kingston to let them have the opportunity to make up to us for our poor experience. A month or two later we returned to kingston and decided to give the hotel another chance. We had absolutely no problem this time everything was fine and we would definitely return again, keeping in mind that the hotel is a little weathered and could use an update, we were pleased with our stay and the wonderful attitude of the management.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The location is great for the price.
Very busy downtown location.
All the hotels close by were 2x times the price.
And if you want an 6 star then you will place $200. plus an night
We are very happy with this hotel and the room was clean and
had a view of the lake.
Eat downtown and visited a few places at night for a cold drink.
The breakfast was great, coffee, juice, toast and muffins.
Just like Cuba when you play for a 3 star and get a 3 star.

Room Tip: lake view rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max010145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights while delivering my son to Queen's to begin his first year. The hotel is perfectly located on the water and downtown, and the staff were universally pleasant and helpful. However, the condition of the hotel is appalling. Everything is terribly worn, from carpets to wallpaper to bathtubs to... you get the idea. Even the doorknobs were worn out. And it smelled musty everywhere. The air conditioner did work, in spite of missing one knob and looking like it had been beaten with a baseball bat.

The prices were what you would expect of a high-class hotel in the downtown of a reasonably large city. This, however, is not a reasonably large city - it's a fairly small one. And this is not a high class hotel. It probably was about 30 years ago when the last maintenance was done on it, but not today.

Find another hotel. This one could only be recommended for the staff and location. The price and condition were completely at odds with each other.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJPGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Not one of my better experiences - the chamber maid with long black hair needs to tie it back when she cleans - her hair was everywhere - in the bath, on the sheets, on the carpet and on the towels - it was revolting. Breakfast was poor with watery coffee and only bread or sugary cereal on offer. Find somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My family of 5 stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. This was the only hotel that had 3 double beds in a single room. Yes, the hallway carpets are in need of replacement as they are badly stained. The lobby seemed nice and updated. The room was ok, beds were comfortable. Location is excellent. Continental breakfast was very basic, but did the job. Parking in Kingston is crazy. I asked the front desk clerk, Delaney for suggestions. She was very informative and offered ideas & options of nearby lots. During our stay, I mentioned to her that we were considering the 1000 island discovery cruise. She quickly found some coupons for us, which saved us some money. The hotel is average, but the staff (especially Delaney) was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picky006_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel last night. The location is excellent. The hotel lobby was dark and smelled musky. The staff advised us that the parking garage was full, so we were on our own to find parking. The elevators were dark and shaky. The hallway on the 4th floor was dark and smelled musky, ceiling tiles were stained yellow from water leaks, the carpets were heavily stained. Our room was clean, but the wallpaper was peeling off the wall and the furniture was dated. We saw no evidence of recent renovations. The hotel is old, run down, and poorly managed. Way over-priced, we would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#22 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Confederation Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confederation Place Hotel

Property: Confederation Place Hotel
Address: 237 Ontario St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Confederation Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Confederation Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confederation Place Kingston
Hotel Confederation Place
Confederation Place Hotel Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing