We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Confederation Place Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Booked this hotel on line as it sounded quite fine - on the water, great location and advertised as great views. We arrived and as soon as I saw the chap on the front desk in a grey white shirt and the dirty carpet, I knew it wasn't going to be a pretty picture. We got on the elevator and the mat looked like it hadn't been cleaned or vacuumed in months. The hallway leading to the room was dirty, the carpets stained, the walls chipped. We got into the room and would have left if I hadn't already paid too much for the room. I turned down the bed to see if there were any creepy crawlers; looked up and there was, I don't know what, some kinda bug on the wall. My partner killed it. We managed to stay the one night - didn't shower in the morning as the bathroom was too creepy. The only thing positive I can say is that the location was good though when you think of it, Kingston is a small place and any location in town is good...okay, maybe a half a mark!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marguerite R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

I've stayed at the Confederation Place initially as an accomodation while taking treatments at Kingston General Hospital. I've also stayed here as a personal choice at other times. Scott, the day manager, is super; he will help in any way he can. He has recommended restaurants, things to do etc. He is very knowledgable and so friendly!

Rooms are comfortable with plenty of pillows! I love that there is a window that will open if you are wanting fresh air. Views of the harbour and marina are excellent on the waterfront side of the hotel.

The location of the hotel is the best. It is at the foot of the downtown and the waterfront. Food eateries, the arena, Market Square are all within walking distance. Once you park the car in the underground parking (additional fee, boo!) you may not move the car until you check out.

The hotel offers a free breakfast including cereal, assorted bread items, yogurt, hard cooked eggs, fruit and muffins, with assorted beverages.

An update to the hotel would improve the rating for Confederation Place. The rooms are a little tired and could use some updating and freshening up!

Would I stay here again? Absolutely! The pros outweigh the cons so much.
As they say in real-estate, Location, Location, Location. There are other, newer hotels within blocks, but you pay through the nose . Confederation Place is still budget friendly for the traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I sat down on the bed and a bug jumped on my arm. Need I say more? Well, I will: the garbage can hadn't been cleaned out, there were crumbs on the desk chair and the phone didn't work. I didn't even stay one night.

I must say, though. The clerk at the front desk was a lovely young man and made no attempt to convince me to stay. He should go and work at a better hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel has so much potential, could have been much better! The views are gorgeous, and the location one of the best, esp for the 1000 Island Cruises. It's also very close to restaurants, the Market Square, etc ... room was quite nice, beds were fine, and mercifully, the linen clean,. However, furniture etc was dusty, needed a good dusting!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Confederation place hotel is located right on the waterfront. Our room was very spacious but the bathroom was small. I am in a wheelchair and upon request a toilet seat raiser with grab bars and a support bar attached to the bathtub were installed. The front entrance has steps but the side entrance through the garage has direct access to the elevators. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this property during the Victoria Day weekend. Our riverfront room on the 6th floor had a fabulous view over the marina and the boarding pier for Thousand Islands cruises. The room was a bit worn, but very clean and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Linens and towels were impeccable. All in all, we really loved our stay.

The staff was also extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has underground parking for an extra $15, but there is also a less expensive parking lot across the street. The only hitch was the included Continental breakfast, with its extremely limited selection.

Nevertheless, our overall experience was very good and we will sure return to this hotel next time we travel to Kingston.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a riverfront room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP_M0ntreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is right on the Harbour over-looking the tour and private boats. The lobby, garage and elevators are quite drab and dreary, but the rooms are quite nice with comfortable beds and marvelous views. I book it on hotels.ca. Wish I had made time for a tour of the 1000 Islands. I'll make another trip just for a tour.

Room Tip: ask for 5th floor with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Confederation Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confederation Place Hotel

Address: 237 Ontario St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £55 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Confederation Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Confederation Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confederation Place Kingston
Hotel Confederation Place
Confederation Place Hotel Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing