We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money...stay elsewhere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Confederation Place Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waste of money...stay elsewhere!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Expensive parking...horrible underground lot...nothing to write home about rooms...terrible television reception...rude manager...dirty windows...fitness facility consisting of one treadmill...I highly recommend staying somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpkdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    94
    91
    56
    50
See reviews for
93
124
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is located bang in the heart of Kingston and overlooking the water. Biggest plus - Its water views from the room (see uploaded pics and definitely try and get a room overlooking the water). Room was comfortable and in order. There is a convenient parking lot right opposite the hotel across the street (around $5 overnight parking charge from approx. 6pm in the evening to 7am in the morning) - Works out much cheaper than the hotel's parking. Lastly, if you are looking at doing any cruise from Kingston (big or small), most of them start from beneath the hotel itself

However, the hotel does have slight rough edges - Continental breakfast and not a full spread, the internet was irregular and the room lacked convenient sockets (I had to unplug some of the hotel's appliances to plug in mine)

Overall good hotel, few rough edges but the room view and price make up for it

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sganerii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of May and were happily surprised with the location and pleasant staff of the hotel. Our suite overlooked the river harbor, was clean, albeit a bit old-fashioned. Its central location allowed us to visit parts of the old city on foot, especially the center square of this romantic little town. The only drawback was the renovation part which made it a bit more difficult to find the hotel itself, but hopefully that will be finished soon. It looked like the hotels nearby were filled, but their noise level could be heard across the water, and we were grateful to have chosen this hotel instead. Kingston, Ontario, is beautiful, like all Canadian cities we have visited in the past.

Room Tip: View of the harbor a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marijana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you want a hotel in downtown Kingston, whether for business of as a tourist, look no further than Confederation Place. It is the hotel that is nearest to the Kingston trolley bus starting point and the Thousand Island cruises. The rooms are clean and very pleasant. Our room overlooked the lake and the cruise boats. A good continental breakfast is included. The room rates are the lowest in the area, since the policy of the hotel, as a manager noted to me, is to undercut the competition. There are lots of good coffee shops, bars, and restaurants in the area. The main shopping street is also nearby. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brokenwing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here recently during my daughters graduation. Nice hotel, good location, hallways need some renovation but room and lobby were nice. Limited parking in underground (approx 40 spots only) for $20 extra or you can park across the street and the hotel will reimburse you for the $20. Breakfast was included. Very limited selection (ie toast, coffee, muffins, cereal and juice) however the breakfast area was nice (hard boiled eggs were like rocks....stay away from them). Bed was comfy with lots of pillows. Small fridge in the room was nice but would be nice for them to include some free bottled water. Walking distance to stores and restaurants.
All in all I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Good location walking distance to stores and waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningwolf43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was a guest of this hotel on March 29th of this year. My parents had a room across the hall from myself and my 2/12 year old...We were in Kingston for a 60th b'day party and needed accommodation for the night. Our room was NOT cleaned very well. If at all. The bathroom in particular. I am a stickler for cleanliness and the bathroom is the very first thing I check when staying in a hotel. There was, no joke, a trail of either vomit or feces, down the outside of the toilet. I noticed right away-as I was sitting on the floor-while holding my 2 year old on the toilet. A huge trail. Absolutely disgusting. Phoned the front desk and they sent someone with cleaner to deal with it. Room rates posted in the room were seriously $289! We got ours for a deal anyway when we made the booking. But I cannot fathom paying that amount for the state of the room. Dresser had coffee stains from previous people. I wondered if our sheets were even changed. No mention of the incident in the morning on checkout. Will never return. Our room had a view of the parking lot across the street-and the noise from a nearby bar was out of this world.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bistro6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Once upon a time, I assume, this hotel, maybe under a different name, was the queen of the Kingston waterfront. Now there are several dotted along - and blocking, I have to point out, the views of the lake. The Confederation Place Hotel building is very much of its time, I would guess the early 1980s from the architecture - it even has what used to be a fern bar, although now the plants are all plastic. In its favour - our room had certainly been renovated not too long ago and was clean and comfortable. As usual you notice the short cuts - the old tiles and ceiling in the bathroom. In common with many other hotels, the bathroom did not seem to have a vent, and fogged up very quickly. The foyer has also been done over, and the area near the elevator on our floor. The other passageways seem to be with original décor. We had a great view over the lake. The free continental breakfast was acceptable, and protein in the form of hard-boiled eggs was available. The breakfast area was the aforementioned fern bar area. This breakfast is currently the only food offered in the hotel at the moment. The very large dining room, overlooking the lake, was not in use. I wonder if they have thought about getting an outside restaurant operator to take it over? I asked the staffer at breakfast if they had thought of getting one of those waffle makers in. She said they used to have one, but the students had burned it out! That is one of the downsides - rooms are rented out to Queen's University students, which can add to the noise level on occasion. However, we found the price very reasonable, and the location is perfect for exploring downtown Kingston with good restaurants in easy reach. The $15 charge for parking is a bit annoying, but there is cheaper parking across the road. I don't understand, BTW, why rooms with two double beds are cheaper than those with queen or king. If it is a double bedded room we each take one, if queen or king we share. Doesn't that make more washing and bedmaking for the staff?

Room Tip: The view over the lake is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gailr97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#23 of 37 in Kingston
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Confederation Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confederation Place Hotel

Property: Confederation Place Hotel
Address: 237 Ontario St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Confederation Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Confederation Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confederation Place Kingston
Hotel Confederation Place
Confederation Place Hotel Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing