We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location friendly helpful staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Confederation Place Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location friendly helpful staff...”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed two nights and we were very pleased with our stay. The hotel decor is dated but the rooms and hallways are very clean.
The front desk staff is very erfficiernt and there is alot of staff looking after the hotel and guests.
The breakfast is included in your stay and its definitely more than a continental breakfast.
The location of this hotel is perfect for walking around Kingston, the Lakeview rooms give an amazing view.
Parking is extra but easy Access to your car and the fee is ok based on the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Lakeview room....great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summertime1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    100
    96
    60
    51
See reviews for
98
132
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Well appointed, clean, spacious king room,comfortable bed, amazing views over Lake Ontario. Family-owned hotel is conveniently located on the waterfront. A window that opens! Fridge in room. Recently updated.
Friendly, efficient staff. Convenient underground parking. Also public parking lot across the street; $5 overnight.
Included light breakfast in spacious, bright room with comfortable seating off lobby.
Pool and hot tub. Good value for your dollar.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlavendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is located right near the waterfront where you take all the boat cruises. You can do the local walks, pubs, museums, and other local features without having to take a vehicle.

Our room had an in-room Jacuzzi which was so good after long walks in the waterfront which you cannot stop doing.

The hotel doesn't provide lunch or dinner but everyone gets a nice buffet breakfast.

I had noticed a little lack of maintenance and cleaning in certain areas, but nothing really directly affected my stay. The hotel should have taken extreme care about it upfront considering the busy season.

Room Tip: Room facing the lake. Higher floors give you a really good view of the lake especially when there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishnadasSanthosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is in a good location to view the lake,Confederation Basin Marina and also to a various restaurants and bars for your enjoyment.Underground parking is available at $20 per night.Rooms are adequate for a couple of nights stay and are somewhat less expensive than others nearby.Hotel is located directly at the foot of the docks if one wished to take a tour of the local area and islands.

Room Tip: Les expensive car parking is available outside...check at the check in desk for information as to ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roystoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I'm not in Kingston very often, and when I am it's only for a couple nights and I usually stay at the Delta (formerly Radisson). It was sold out, so booked this one instead. Was a bit wary from all the negative reviews and went in with low expectations, but found most of the complaints to be unfounded.

The hotel dates back to the late 70s/early 80s and was originally a Ho Jo. Not sure what floors other reviewers were staying on or if there's an ongoing reno schedule, but the 4th floor didn't seem like the time warp other people are complaining about and had the usual amenities you'd expect in a typical hotel room in this decade. Except a pen and notepad, but that's trivial. The room was clean and comfortable, the wi-fi worked and the shower had good water pressure. That's pretty much all I care about.

Breakfast buffet is exactly what you'd expect when it's included with the room. If you're expecting freshly squeezed orange juice and attentive wait staff to top up your coffee while you wait for your eggs Benedict, you need to consider what you're paying for the free breakfast. It's always going to be just basic toast, juice, cereal and coffee...I have yet to find a hotel that offered much beyond that in a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Location is close to everything, but unlike the Holiday Inn or Delta, it's on a main thoroughfare. The only negative thing I can say about the place was that the rooms aren't entirely soundproof. There's a patio at the restaurant next door, and I could hear the family in the adjoining suite loud and clear when they were talking in their room. Fortunately the patio music shut down by 9pm and the neighbours went to sleep by 10...but could've been very annoying otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My room was filthy! I had to ask for it to be cleaned twice, finally they agreed to move me. The sliding walk out door fell off the track, dead bugs on my floor, hair balls in the bathroom etc. my kids got stuck in the elevator for 40 minutes and they said it was the kids fault. Maybe it was, but no apology, no reassurance etc. Manager first day was very rude. He tried to make up for it when I demanded to speak to someone again. He even sent a box of chocolates for my trouble. Better customer service and cleanliness has to be improved. I couldn't believe there is no management on duty on the weekends. Night staff tried to help finally moving me at 10:30pm. I have pictures to prove what a nightmare we had of a room! Avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Whatever you do stay away from the ground floor! Upper rooms seem to have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busymomma190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm usually not picky about hotels, but this place is a disaster. Above all, if you have kids, don't go here.

Where do I begin? The place is ratty and looks like it hasn't been renovated in decades. The AC unit is from the 1970s. The sinks constantly stop up and don't drain. But what was really awful was how family-unfriendly the place was, and how difficult the hotel made everything.

First, we called when we were on our way and indicated to the staff that we had two sleeping toddlers in our car and how much we would appreciate it if they could set cribs up for us so we could put the kids right back to sleep. We were told there is a $15 charge per crib. A charge for a crib? So we had to lug out the pack 'n plays, wake the kids up, and suffer through an extra hour of crying at 11pm. There was also no ramp at the entrance, so bringing in our stuff, as well as our stroller, up the stairs was a big pain.

Finally, we were told that we had to pay $20 for parking. Seriously? This is not New York City, it's Kingston. Is it really necessary to fleece customers like that?

Oh, by the way, we were told later that there is actually not a charge for cribs, only for cots (the person on the phone gave us faulty info), but we were told that after it could have been of any use to us.

In a word: avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
The Queen's Inn
#24 of 37 in Kingston
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Confederation Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confederation Place Hotel

Property: Confederation Place Hotel
Address: 237 Ontario St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 2Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Confederation Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Confederation Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confederation Place Kingston
Hotel Confederation Place
Confederation Place Hotel Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing