We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful surprise”
Review of Rideau Rendezvous

Rideau Rendezvous
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rideau Rendezvous
Ranked #10 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Rochester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at Al & Donna Blair's Rideau Rendezvous in August of 2011. We can't compliment them enough. They were a wealth of information about they area which kept us busy going places and doing things every day. The mornings started out with a wonderful breakfast, at which we had wonderful conversations with each morning's guests and the Blairs. Normally we are out and seeing the area after maybe 1 hour at breakfast. Our shortest breakfast here was 2 & 1/2 hours because of the interesting conversations. We stayed in the Gardenview room, which was very comfortable and spacious. If one did not wish to explore this area of Ontario as we did, they have 2 docks on the Rideau, canoes, kayaks, and a third spot(like a perch) overlooking the Rideau if one wanted to just relax with some coffee or tea and a book.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here with friends as the last night of our touring holiday of Quebec Province, on our way to Toronto airport. So we only planned for the two-night stay - which was a mistake, because we would have loved to stay longer. We hadn't realized how beautiful the area is!
Of the seven stays during our tour, I think this comes out top of a very good bunch. We not only had a large bedroom with a big en-suite shower room for each couple, there was a large sitting area for our exclusive use. The beds, as we had come to expect in Canada, were very comfortable.
As it was the end of the season, there were no other guests in, but this did not detract from the service we received.
The property is perched on the side of the Rideau Canal, surrounded by trees, and is really 'away from it all'. So tranquil!
Al was a perfect host, serving us a delicious breakfast (Donna was out at work, so we saw little of her).
On realising we were returning to Toronto with lots of time, he recommended using the Kings Route, which follows the coast for a good deal of the ay. What excellent advice that was!
It would be nice to think we would be coming back to Canada, and able to stay at Rideau again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling-man38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We took my elderly mother for a 3-night getaway; the proximity to town for side-trips and meals was appealing, the relaxation and views for my husband, and the canoeing and kayaking for me! The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable; my mom loved her cottage room with the bear bedspread! She relaxed on the deck while my husband watched his favourite show in the TV/ fridge room with a glass of wine, and off I went exploring beautiful Cranberry Lake! Al was a wonderful host; we had great talks over breakfast- and although Donna had to work she popped in to welcome us on our first night.
Thank you Al and Donna!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffspaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tideswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for a few days rather than the "metropolis" of Kingston. With a car, you're still almost on top of everything you need to see and do. Kingston and Gananoque are both only about a 15 minute drive away

Every morning started with a different, personally cooked, breakfast - a perfect start to each day

Although the rooms themselves don't really have uninterrupted water views, there are plenty of different sitting areas about the property to just sit and watch the river. Even if all 3 rooms are occupied, you will still be able to find peace and solitude

We didn't attempt the complimentary kayaks/canoes - but should you be more adventurous, they are there to be used

Our biggest surprise was perhaps sighting fireflies during the evening in the trees around the house - magical!

Phil & Nikki

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
16.8 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
291 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
12.6 mi away
All Suites Whitney Manor
All Suites Whitney Manor
#2 of 22 in Kingston
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Rosemount B&B Inn
Rosemount B&B Inn
#4 of 22 in Kingston
161 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hochelaga Inn
Hochelaga Inn
#5 of 22 in Kingston
222 reviews
15.8 mi away
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rideau Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Rendezvous

Property: Rideau Rendezvous
Address: 4200 Mangan Blvd, Kingston, Ontario K0H 2N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rideau Rendezvous Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing