We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Enjoyable!”
Review of de Haan's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
de Haan's B&B
Ranked #7 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My stay with Lettie and Denis felt like home. Breakfast was delicious, with the best darn coffee. Conversation around the comfortable wooden dining table was lively, with humour and travel information plentiful. Coming to Kingston? Stay at de Haan's!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Although my wife and I are generally not B&B users, on a recent trip to Kingston we decided to give it a try. After speaking with some friends who recently visited the area, they highly recommended de Haan's B&B, so we booked our stay. WOW! I can say that both my wife and I truly enjoyed the stay and the hospitality provided by Denise and Lettie. After just a few short hours we found ourselves sipping a cocktail and enjoying some quality conversation. We didn't know a lot about Holland before our visit, but we do now! Who knew you could visit Kingston, Ontario for a near authentic Holland experience. If you are like us and have reservations about staying at a B&B, try this stop the next time you visit Kingston. You won't be disappointed...and you may even learn a few things. Also worth noting is the location. Good view of lake Ontario, and close to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tweeks12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at De Haan's: beautiful and spacy rooms, marvellous pancake breakfasts, the warm welcome and very nice conversations with Lettie and Denis (one of the few Canadians who actually learnt to speak Dutch). In short: don't miss it when you visit Kingston and are looking for a place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want the ensuite bathroom, be sure to book in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hospitality in a very clean and comfortable place that`s the keywords. five km from downtown but easy accessible with streetcars. We shall not forget the marvellous pancakes with maple syroup with orange - actually a canadian crepe suzette.
Lattie and Dennis are very handfull and warm hosts.

Couple from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Semnocao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed the last night of our journey through Canada's east at de Haan's B&B and felt absolutely comfortable. It's a new house with well furnished bedrooms and quite exclusive bathrooms. We got a delightful breakfast and the owners are pleased to help you whatever question you have.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed at the De Haan B&B A lovely B&B in Kingston for three nights and it was a great place to stay. It is very close to Lake Ontario it is very close to the center of Kingston and near some of the walking trails that allows you to explore the area. The rooms are clean and bright and we had a really good night's sleep on the very comfortable beds. The owners Lettie en Denis Dinele-De Haan very friendly and helpful and they made some amazing breakfast.We realy did feel at home from home.
We will be back for sure
Herbert and Annie bartunek
lnnsbruck Austria

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ancabamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

New spacious house overlooking lake Ontario offers clean and quiet b&b accommodation. Dutch/Canadian couple with decades long experience in hospitality in Europe and Canada make you feel at home immediately. Great breakfast, á la carte!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fambuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Hochelaga Inn
#4 of 22 in Kingston
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Haan's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Haan's B&B

Address: 1107 King Street West, Kingston, Ontario K7M 9H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: £90 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 5 minutes from downtown and Queens University. Public transit walking trails and frontage on Lake Ontario. We speak Dutch, German and French; parking on site, central air, wireless internet, no smoking and no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your de Haan's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Haan's B&B Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing