We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chef, but terrible service”
Review of West Seventy6 Grill - CLOSED

West Seventy6 Grill
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great chef, but terrible service”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had read all the great reviews of this place, so while staying in Kingston decided to try this restaurant. There was a large wedding going on but the West Seventy6 Grill had only one or two tables with customers dining. Unfortunately it seems this place is a waste of a good chef because the service was beyond terrible. First course of tempura was greasy. Appetizers of a salad and scallops took over an hour to deliver. I went to the bar offering to settle my bill so we could go somewhere else, and she said "your order is coming right out". Well the salad came out looking old and whilted after 10 minutes, but still no scallops for 20 minutes. It was 2 hours and we had not even ordered entree's! The scallops were amazing and delicious - but at that point we were so frustrated with the place we just wanted to leave. Decor is like Denny's and the lights were on full blast. I will not dine here again, and its unfortunate because it seems like they do have a gifted and special chef on staff. Diners next to us wanted to speak to the chef the the waitress said "I'm sorry but we have a wedding with 150+ people, and he is very busy". OK, so if its too busy to run the restaurant - then close it down for the night. People could go elsewhere and not waste a Saturday with such terrible service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tbro421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A small restaurant that is more than just a hotel diner.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed a few times at the residence inn. This restaurant has become a go-to place. If we are not feeling up to trying something new - we know we can rely on the quality of food this place turns out. The prices are fine - in line with the product. The last time through we ordered in the bar and had it delivered to our room. Even with the added complication the food was excellent.

So if you're staying in the residence inn be not afraid to head out for a few drinks on the various patios, but know if you're looking for quality food - return to your hotel and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bp_thegolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, Service, View - Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Fabulous food, excellent service and one of the best views of Kingston Harbour anywhere around. Lots of free parking, attentive staff and a great chef make this a must visit for Kingstonians and visitors alike.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingstonfoodie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food great service”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Ordered the t bone steak was very impressed with the cut and favors. The potatoes were excellent and the plating of the dish was also very good the chef here knows what a customer wants and delivers if you go try the t bone you will not be disapointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 154992Food1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service -- but a secret”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My two friends and I recently shared Friday night dinner with wine at this restaurant. All of our meals (cracklin chicken, vegan veggies with polenta, and braised ribs) were delicious, and the service was excellent. We liked the big windows and the warm wood accents. However, this lovely little place appears to be a well kept secret -- other than a large group of conference attendees who visited the bar, we were the only people in the restaurant prior to 8pm. I literally suggested to the manager that they need to advertise more -- I would hate to lose this dinner option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Seventy6 Grill also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing