We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is definitely budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thriftlodge Kingston
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The room key working in the door and internet are unreliable. Breakfast was served in a very unappetizing room, killed my appetite.The bed had the two of us rolling into the middle, very uncomfortable. The windows do not open but the room was large. The staff was pleasant. We refer a hotel a little closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of our qualities and faults so that we may better serve you and our other guest next time.....room keys can be very tricky and if they get touched by a cell phone can be de magnitized which will affect the use of your room key and can be very frustrating to our guest, our Internet is run by Cogeco and some firewalls are set up that add on pages are not allowed which can affect access. We are very pleased to annouce that the Breakfast Room is recieving an over haul tomorrow and that is also exciting to us as well! We will pass on to our staff your very kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

This is more an budgetmotel than an hotel. This hotel can use an update. Rooms are nice, but this hotel is situated to far from downtown Kingston. The hall for breakfast is more an canteen, without personnel. Didn't give you a warm comfortable place to have you're breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your review, this helps us to insure our guest receive the best possible customer service. We are centrally located in Kingston and about 4 KM from the downtown and the waterfront. I am very surprised with you breakfast comments and will look into why there was no staff as we always have 2 staff members positioned in this room.
We are also pleased to inform you that our Breakfast Room is being tranformed with all new carpets and plants and wall hangings to offer you a warmer experience. Again Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel would have been very nice except for two things. The room smelled and the internet was not dependable. The front desk tried to be helpful, but there were no other rooms available and they were unable to help with the internet except to suggest sitting in the lobby. The smell lessened considerably when the air conditioner cooled things down. We stayed two nights, and I didn't notice it after the second day. The breakfast was a nice bonus. The price was decent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Peachtree Inn, we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, and are making changes. Your comments are important so that we may better serve our guest.

Our internet is through Cogeco and while working towards solving the problems with the internet, it has come to light that many of our guest have firewalls set up on their laptop which will not allow add on pages. Our home page is an add on page to allow access and we are not trained at our Front Desk to work with our guest Firewalls. Again please accept our apology and we will strive to better accommodate all our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It was my first time in Kingston and I thought this hotel was close to the fun of the city. The room was clean and it had an air conditioner, fridge, tv, table, chairs, and two comfortable beds. The beds were large enough to actually fit 3 of us on 1 bed, which we had to do because there was really 5 of us secretly haha. But, for "4 people", the room was under 100$ with my AAA discount. The breakfast was very, very simple with muffins, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, and watermelon, but it was enough to fill me up for the day.
For a side note, my family and I are really not picky so smell/cleanliness and comfort is all we need to be happy. We sleep in the car sometimes when we are on a road trip so this was amazing for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Peachtree Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Not reccomended... When I was there I sat in my bed and I sunk it is terribe there is no ramp for handy cap or lugage the lobby is not even a lobby! One o the couples had to go sleep on the 3rd floor because of a broken window I will never stay there again. And it smells like !

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carez4754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for you review, we take your comments serious so that we can better The Peachtree Inn, new carpets have been ordered for our hallways and we are just waiting for the season to slow down so we are able to have them installed. We did have a room that a former guest broke a window which we apologize but this was something we had not anticipated, it is not our normally level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Kingston in the past 4 years while visiting two of my kids who attended Queens. This was the worst hotel I have stayed at. Good points - it was clean, and convenient to the highway, although it wasn't close to amenities. Criticisms - the bed was like a hammock - sagged in the middle and provided no support. Our room had 3 dim lamps in it - very low wattage, and too little light to read at the desk or in bed. The air conditioner was noisy and rattled all night. Breakfast was lackluster, and served in a dark empty pub. There was only one kind of fruit (watermelon) but it was fresh.

Room Tip: Don't accept an inside room. They're half the size of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamahelen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Peachtree Inn, we take your comments serious so that we may better serve our guest. Our breakfast room has been changed to a much larger room and is in the process of being renovated. Please always remember we are here to make sure our guest have an enjoyable stay and can only fix a problem when it has been brought to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My boyfriend and I came into the peachtree without a reservation, expecting to be turned away. However the receptionist was more than accommodating, she offered us the Jacuzzi suite at almost half price because it was not booked and she wanted to fill it. When we got to the room, it was even more than we imagined, very very clean, spacious, and romantic :) The jacuzzi worked perfectly as did the electric fireplace. Bed was superb, very comfortable. Room was quiet and easy to sleep in, I did not want to leave the next morning! Continental breakfast was good, and as I said the staff were great! I would reccomend this hotel to anyone...we will definatly be back in the future!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is not one to pass up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaitlyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Peachtree Inn, we value your opinion and look forward to having you back as out guest. The Suite is a gem of a room, our hidden secret for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Super 8 Kingston
#12 of 37 in Kingston
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thriftlodge Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thriftlodge Kingston

Address: 1187 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada (Formerly Peachtree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £50 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thriftlodge Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Thriftlodge Kingston! For your upcoming visit to the area, choose the most comfortable, well-appointed of all the hotels in Kingston. Here you will find meeting and event space, all the amenities you want and so much more - choose us! Our Kingston Hotel's Amenities Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Complimentary High-Speed Internet Complimentary Parking Pet Friendly (up to 200 lbs) In-Room Dining Area In-Room Coffee and Tea Maker Mini-Refrigerator We are located near downtown Kingston, putting you in the best possible location for business, leisure or a bit of both. You'll find copious dining and shopping spots, as well as entertainment options for the entire family. The rooms and suites of The Thriftlodge are spacious, clean and perfect for your Kingston area stay. We also offer loft suites equipped with a fireplace for the relaxing Kingston hotel getaway you've imagined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thriftlodge Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peachtree Hotel Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing