We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King Suite Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thriftlodge Kingston
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“King Suite Lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

After such a miserable winter my partner and I decided to take a mini break and picked Kingston/Peachtree Inn. As a treat we chose what should have been the best room at the Inn. The room itself is large and has potential with the kitchen, Jacuzzi and full bathroom. It all stops there though, the kitchen had 1 spoon, 2 forks, 5 knives, a large and medium size plate and several bowls one of which is dirty. The salt and pepper shakers are near empty and the outsides are filthy. No Kleenex for a runny nose and the newspaper they mention is never appeared. Nice touch like candle holders on the wall at the Jacuzzi but sadly no candles. As mentioned it has potential and sadly if we had not had plans tonight with friends we would have gone home and not spent on the 2nd night. I do hope the owner/property manager reads this, for the amount of money for the 2 nights, please take the same value to Ikea or some other housewares place and update the items in the kitchen, ask your paper supplier to include Kleenex with your future orders, and as well the maid staff should be made aware that gossiping in the halls instead of cleaning the rooms should be frowned upon, we got back to the room at lunchtime today, she had managed to remove the towels before we entered and was too excited that we said don't worry about doing our room now. I did have to chase down fresh towels and more coffee on my own. Oh and the tub mats are dirty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 409Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I am truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make sure every customer is happy with their accommodations. I was on duty the night that you checked in and would have personally cleaned the items in question to your satisfaction.

We encourage our guests to tell us of any problems as soon as they occur in order for us to rectify the situation. We are unable to do this if guests do not let us know there is an issue and stay a couple of days and then check out with a list of complaints.

All of our guests are very important to us and again we encourage anyone who is not satisfied with any aspect of their stay to bring it to the attention of the front desk immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    81
    97
    42
    35
See reviews for
107
94
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Got into Kingston in the wee hours of the morning ... could not find any rooms at the hotels we wanted to stay at so ended up at Peach Tree Hotel ... hotel rooms above a strip mall ... I do have to say the rooms were clean ... thank goodness ... that is the best I can say ... rooms are outdated ... sound proofing is non existant ... when having a shower the water alternated from freezing cold to scalding hot (almost slipped out of tub when jumping out of the way of scalding water) - when I mentioned this to desk clerk upon check-out she was not too concerned - said she would pass the message on to mtce ... was just looking at my credit card bill ... found that Hotel put a hold of $100 on credit card upon check in(without my knowledge) ... supposed to clear after 2 business days ... has now been 4 ... desk clerk did not inform me that there was a $100 hold against my card ... called hotel ... they do not see anything wrong with putting holds against credit cards and not informing guests ... won't be staying here again - not impressed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I am sorry you did not understand the requirements of a deposit when you choose to pay with cash. Anytime a guest pays with cash a deposit of $100 is required to cover any incidentals/room damage. The deposit can be a pre-auth on a credit card which is released the day of departure when no incidentals or damage occurs or a $100 cash deposit returned on inspection of the room. It dos take a few days depending on your banking institution to have the transaction reversed.

We are currently in the process of changing the furniture, beds and soft furnishing throughout the hotel. We encourage any guest to contact the front desk immediately when there is an issue as we want all our guests to enjoy their stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our Novice Hockey Team booked the Peachtree for the Kids For Kids Tournament In March. It was clean and provided all the necessities. We had two double beds, a fridge, microwave, dresser, desk, tabel with two chairs, flat screen tv and full bathroom. There was lots of parking available both outside and parking garage.
The beds were okay...not pillow top or anything, and the pillows were good.
Having the fridge and microwave allowed us to pick up healthy food for our son to snack on between games instead of being slaves to fast food. We appreciated this immensely.
They allowed pets and we took advantage of this bringing our small dog and his crate with us.
The reception staff were friendly and informative...they brought up feeding bowls for our dog and asked if he needed to be walked while we were out.
The hotel is located over a strip mall that includes a comedy club. It is also directly beside the Fireside Inn that has an incredible steak restaurant,and just beyond that a Basic Foods grocery store and yet a little further Aunt Lucy's restaurant...home of the most amazing Sat and Sun Brunches!
Our stay was uneventful and pleasant (as much as a stay with an entire Novice Hockey Team can be). The mangement even gave us access to the conference room for our team to play mini sticks...we never took them up on this.
If you are on a budget this hotel will fit the bill.

My only concerns were the continental breakfast that we came to lovingly refer to it as "The Carbfest", and the ceiling in the parking garage.
The Carbfest needed a serious injection of healthy...a few fruits would have been a nice touch. It consisted of coffee, two types of juice, bagels, bread, glazed donuts, toaster, butter, cream cheese, jams.
The ceiling in the parking garage is drywalled? This is falling down in the entrance area and bubbling in other areas where water is obviously pooling in the ceiling...I tried to park away from these areas ...picturing coming out to see the part of the ceiling on my car or worse on one of the kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the street (odd numbers) as the others look into backyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyredgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We have just completed ensuring every room has a microwave and fridge. We were required to put up drywall in the underground for fire regulations, in the spring when there is a lot of water we have issues with leaks in the drywall area. We monitor it and it has since been repaired.

Again. thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The inn is nice and the rooms are spacious but the worst part of all is having the receptionist knock on your door every thirty minutes asking you to sleep and keep it down. Like she is your mother or something. Very annoying and totally a breach of privacy. The bathrooms have no soap or toothpaste and you have to call and demand for it or else you will sleep in a smelly dungeon. Looks good outside but if they don't fire that receptionist, peach tree can be the worst place to spend in Kingston
And the coffee maker had no pot but there were cups, and sugar. I just couldn't understand.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Period
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We appreciate your review. Please take note that our receptionist will only knock on your door if a complaint is received about noise. The coffee makers are single cup brewing right into the cup so there is no pot. Our amenities include soap, shampoo, and skin cream. Additional amenities are available on request if required.

We strive to ensure all guest experiences are excellent and would appreciate a call to our General Manager in order to correct you dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

i stayed here in February, i found this hotel just average. there was some sort of function happening bellow my room and that is all i could hear. i also found it rather strange that my view was of someone's backyard. when i first got to my room the smell of air freshener was overwhelming. also my toilet did not work very well , very poor water pressure.elevator is extremely slow. one plus this hotel had was free parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate any feedback our guests provide. We are currently upgrading our rooms with new beds, soft furnishings, painting and televisions.

Our hotel is located near a residential area but should you wish a Princess Street view we are happy to oblige any guest requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a nice budget hotel. Very friendly receptionist. I walked in late in the evening, was provided with a spacious clean nonsmoking room. Had fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Reasonable continental breakfast. Lots of parking space. Close to downtown. Really good choice to sleep over for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke ask for nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are currently improving our property and hope to have you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I originally booked through Expedia then found out the my CAA discount would give me a better price. I had to cancel my reservation and Jessica was so helpful and helped me through the process when was having difficulty.

The room was large and well maintained and clean. Although we had a room on the street side we could not hear the traffic.

Great experience.

Room Tip: The room with 2 queen beds were large
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 198lynngary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFrontOffice, General Manager at Thriftlodge Kingston, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are one of the few hotels that offer telephone service and reservations directly through our front desk which gives us the unique opportunity to assist guests during the reservation process and hotel stay.

We are always improving our facility and encourage guests to suggest ways of improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thriftlodge Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thriftlodge Kingston

Property: Thriftlodge Kingston
Address: 1187 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7M 3E1, Canada (Formerly Peachtree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thriftlodge Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The Thriftlodge Kingston! For your upcoming visit to the area, choose the most comfortable, well-appointed of all the hotels in Kingston. Here you will find meeting and event space, all the amenities you want and so much more - choose us! Our Kingston Hotel's Amenities Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Complimentary High-Speed Internet Complimentary Parking Pet Friendly (up to 200 lbs) In-Room Dining Area In-Room Coffee and Tea Maker Mini-Refrigerator We are located near downtown Kingston, putting you in the best possible location for business, leisure or a bit of both. You'll find copious dining and shopping spots, as well as entertainment options for the entire family. The rooms and suites of The Thriftlodge are spacious, clean and perfect for your Kingston area stay. We also offer loft suites equipped with a fireplace for the relaxing Kingston hotel getaway you've imagined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thriftlodge Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peachtree Hotel Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing