We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So many surprises!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Museum of the Great Lakes

Marine Museum of the Great Lakes
Ranked #20 of 93 things to do in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So many surprises!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Visited this summer and saw their excellent display about the 100 year storm. Despite being from Kingston, I didn't know too much about the shipping and shipyards, so was happy to have a lot to learn. Some of the displays are sun-faded, but there is half a day's worth of information and entertainment inside the museum.

Cap off your visit with a walking tour of the Alexander Henry. Be sure to visit all the decks and imagine yourself breaking throught the ice rocking side to side or having dinner with the crew, or tea with the captain! Make sure you come down the stairs backwards like a ladder as they are pretty steep!

My son, who is 9, is quite interested in the canallers and lakers, and found much to entertain him as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeDP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“The Great Lakes way beyond Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I live in Michigan.

I thought I knew a bit about the Great Lakes (most of them surround Michigan)

This place is the best museum dedicated to the history and information about the Great Lakes that I've seen anywhere (including all of the nautical museums located in Michigan... yes I've been to several of them).


This place is well worth visiting, even if you have to drive here from Michigan.


I was here during the 2013 "Doors Open Kingston" event. You can tour many interesting places during the "Doors Open Ontario" events for free admission. Check them out. Michigan has a couple events like "Doors Open" called "Be a Tourist in your Town". Check them out if you want to see museums and other attractions in my area (Michigan) for free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“For Real Nautical Buffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This may be a museum with lots of displays, but it's really a treasure trove for people with a passion for nautical things. On the surface, there's lots to see about Kingston's nautical history, but for those with a deep interest, knowledge, and background in nautical engineering, operations, and lore, there's almost too much to see. So if you're a former sailor, merchie, or naval forces member, be sure to head here for a treat that one can find in few other venues.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“don't go in March”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Decent gift shop, interesteing permanent exhibit, price very reasonable.
Hope they have tours of their on site floating big boat in the summer months, because none of the summer exhibits were yet open.

Okay for an hour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the Great Lakes, ships?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

A must for anyone interested in Great lakes shipping, in boating, in the Great Lakes. A renowned research facility and attractive museum. One exhibit is devoted to the ill-fated "Edmund Fitzgerald." Others show ice boats, bits of equipment, scale models, maps showing sunken vessels, etc. A tea room serves refreshments in season. The decommissioned Coast Guard cutter "Alexander Henry" is permanently docked here and offers tours. The dry dock was used to restore the Mcnally houseboat, now at the Antique Boat Museum in Clayton.

Helpful?
1 Thank be55dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marine Museum of the Great Lakes also viewed

 

Been to Marine Museum of the Great Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing