We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited Audience”

Marine Museum of the Great Lakes
Ranked #23 of 94 things to do in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
toronto
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Limited Audience”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Marine Museum is a great stop if you have an interest in the history of marine activity in the Great Lakes , unfortunately I didn't find it all that interesting. I enjoy museums of all kinds but this one was too focussed on the technical aspects of shipping, very little content about the social and political impcat of the marine activity. The trip through the Alexander Henry is definitely a highlight but could be improved with some description of what we were seeing , or better yet ,a self guided audio tour would have been great.
there are much more interesting museums and historical sites in the area that i would choose over this one

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoWeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most Interesting”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We both have a great interest in all types of museums but a very keen interest in Marine museums and were not disappointed with this one

We travelled to Kingston for the specific purpose of visiting her historical past.

The museum offered plenty of past and present information as well as a self guided tour of the retired Coast Guard vessel Alexander Henry. She is 3000 tons and 210 feet long. She is being lovingly cared for by the stall and volunteers of the museum. The on board volunteers are very keen to explain the history and technical information about the ship. There is some climbing (ladder type steps) to get to the other decks from the main deck but well worth the effort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were surprised at the extensive maritime displays, both permanent and temporary, but the huge highlight is being able to board the "Alexander Henry" and go through every part of it including the bridge. The ship, alone, is worth the reasonable admission fee.
Initially, it was an afterthought to visit but now we are glad that we did! Definitely a "DO NOT MISS" attraction where you will see and LEARN things you never saw before. Parking is free.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Piedmont33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Free parking”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The museum was fun - and parking is close to downtown and free! My boyfriend said he could come back and spend hours, and I really liked watching the video about the 1970's sinking of the Fitzgerald in the Great Lakes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TetaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredible - the only word for it!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visited this museum almost by accident when vacationing early Aug of this year. We found the parking is not well marked, neither is the museum. Yes there are signs, but they are small - look for the big red boat and park along side that, in the spots so marked for the marine museum - it is free. This is a pay per visit museum. It is very worth it. There is a whole display devoted to the 100 year storm, and how it came about and how it affected ships on the great lakes and why. I didn't even know there was such a thing as the 100 year storm. That is only the beginning. There are displays of various types of boats and early logging showing how these huge logs were transported away. Early steam engines and other sources of power for early boats - there is a pump house in the back and so much more. You will need about 3 to 4 hours to do it justice. Then there is that big red boat - yes you can go on it, and walk around at your leisure. Highly recommended. You cannot go to the engine room - I specifically asked. I am guessing it is dangerous to walk around in. The big red boat is not wheel chair accessible but the sheer size up close and personal is impressive. Go back again, you bet matey!! Bruce and Sue

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BooOttawaONCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marine Museum of the Great Lakes also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Marine Museum of the Great Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing