We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!”
Review of Kingston by Fork

Kingston by Fork
Ranked #55 of 99 things to do in Kingston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kingston by Fork is a food tourism company in downtown Kingston, Ontario. We run delicious food-focused culinary walking tours of Kingston for hungry visitors! Below is a description of our tours:HOMEGROWN EATS Thursdays and Saturdays Start time: 12:00 pmT his walking and lunch tour begins at the historic Kingston Public Market in Springer square and highlights the vibrant local food community, from producer to consumer, in the downtown area. The informational walking portion will last about 1-hour.The tour will conclude with a full 3-course lunch at the renowned AquaTerra Restaubistro, one of Kingson's premier gourmet restaurants. The lunch is made with locally-sourced and seasonal ingredients adults: $40students/seniors: $30 An Edible Escapade Wednesdays and Fridays. Start time: 1:30 pm. Come explore the diversity of flavours that can be found in the small downtown core of Kingston. We will be stopping at various restaurants and stores where you will sample their signature fare while learning their stories from the past and present.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Time!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We showed up around 1:30pm and it lasted about 2 hours. We went to 7 different locations each with a very different background and tremendous food. I was worried that the amount of food served during this tour would be small, but by the fifth restaurant I was starting to pass on food. Great time with friends and a great host to go with it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoganMckinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“This should be your first stop in Kingston”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I had lived in Kingston for a few years before doing this tour and I wish it had been available earlier! Kingston is well known for the large number of restaurants and it's hard to differentiate the good from the bad - this tour did just that. The tour guide, Julia, was able to share her love of food and knowledge of Kingston in an interesting and informative way. I would recommend this to tourists and residents alike!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our third Kingston by Fork tour!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you are looking for a leisurely, informative and friendly afternoon sign up for any one of the well organized Kingston by Fork tours, you will not be disappointed! Each tour is suitable for all ages and all culinary tastes.
We recently participated in a specialty artist/culinary tour. Meandering in and around Kingston's artistic culture combined with mouth watering tapas from two wonderful restaurants. Along with our relaxed and friendly tour guide we enjoyed the addition of a local art expert who skilfully guided us to a local artist’s/jewelry shop, a gallery hosting a variety of artists and a glass blowing demonstration.
In the past two years we have taken in much of the local culture and food with the original tours. Both are recommended! One consists of a tasting tour stopping in at many local restaurants and specialty shops while walking through the picturesque downtown Kingston area. Nothing is left to one’s imagination, on this culinary tour we were treated to a full range of mouth watering foods. The other tour lends itself to the local vendors at the downtown open air market and fresh foods from the Kingston and the surrounding area. This tour ends with a gourmet meal overlooking the water at one of Kingston’s fine restaurants!
Kingston by Fork has become a fixture of our summer adventures since its inception three years ago. We live in Ottawa which is a hour and a half drive from Kingston through gorgeous countryside. Our association with Kingston stems with both of our children attending Queen's University. If you live in or around Kingston or perhaps will be passing through on your vacation Kingston by Fork should be the top of your list. Our summer would not be complete without a Kingston by Fork summer tour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Delicious and Informative!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I really enjoyed my jaunt around downtown with Kingston By Fork! Friendly and informative tour leader, delicious food, and the company of friends, it was thoroughly enjoyable. I took the local foods tour, checking out the Market and ending up at Aqua Terra, yum!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendyLeeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Great taste of downtown food, very informative.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've been on both tours offered by Kingston by Fork, and have been very satisfied with both. On the Edible Escapades sampling tour, you're provided with a variety of different snacks from some great popular locations as well as some that are potentially new experiences. On the Homegrown Eats tour you get a lot of exposure to local food initiatives/supporters as well as a really good lunch exemplifying the whole local food culture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingston by Fork also viewed

 

Been to Kingston by Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing