We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night and it was lovely.
There were four of us and we had the downstairs rooms which included a lounge.
The house is immaculate, Bob & Cheryl are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast is fantastic.
We'd happily stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay at A Cherry Place when we dropped our daughter off in Kingston to attend university. We were provided with the luxurious basement suite which was fully furnished and accommodated the three of us with room to spare. One of the two queen beds was in its own room that my daughter instantly hi-jacked. The beds were comfortable, and the linens were fresh and of top quality.

We were treated to an eggs benedict breakfast, along with a variety of fresh breads and excellent home made jams. I could not resist testing the gooseberry and carrot cake flavours, and they did not disappoint. I could have eaten nothing but their bread and jams all day. I regret not getting the jam recipes from Cheryl.

The hosts, Bob and Cheryl were excellent hosts. They obviously enjoy operating the B&B and meeting the various guests. We enjoyed their company at the breakfast table, chatting about everything from the city of Kingston, education, politics, grandchildren, etc.

The location is away from the city core, so it's not a park your vehicle and walk option. It was a minor inconvenience given all the pleasures we were provided with. Also, the upside is that the nightly rates are significantly lower than the B&B's located right in town.

Room Tip: The basement suite is well suited for a family of 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CannukGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cherry Place B & B for 2 nights while visiting Kingston and really enjoyed meeting Bob and Cheryl. They've obviously spent a lot of time and money decorating and maintaining their home in a quiet residential neighborhood area just outside the city. The large room we had with balcony on the 2nd floor looked out on a backyard with pool and greenbelt behind the property. The bed was very comfortable with quality linens, there was a large screen tv, and free Wifi. The bathroom had everything we needed and a great shower.
Breakfast included waffles, real maple syrup, eggs benedict, a selection of breads, homemade muesli, fruit salad, coffee, tea, juice, and a selection of homemade jams. Bob and Cheryl enjoy conversing with their guests in either English or French, and sharing history and insights on the area.
The only downside to this location is the 10-15 minute drive into the city center and then having to find parking when you want to see the town and find restaurants. Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Bob & Cheryl... wonderful hosts! You couldn't meet two nicer people. They were full of tips & ideas of where to go & what to see. Both are obviously proud of both their home & their town & rightly so. Our bedroom was lovely & it made a nice change to have a large TV in our room, not that we had much time to watch!!! The breakfast was amazing, all freshly cooked & prepared, and all homemade..what a treat!! Wished we could have stayed longer..would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My boyfriend planned a weekend getaway in Kingston and chose this B+B because of the great reviews. This place did not disappoint! Cheryl and Bob were lovely hosts and so kind and friendly. We had visited a vineyard earlier in the day and bought some wine. Bob haply refrigerated it for us and brought it up to our room in a bucket of ice and 2 wine glasses once we returned home from our day out. The room was massive, and the attached bathroom was very clean. There were so many cute little touches throughout that made our stay feel even more like a home away from home.

Breakfast the next morning was absolutely amazing! Fresh fruit, homemade jams, cereal, and to die for waffles! We had the pleasure of eating with another family, which made the experience very nice. Our hosts were so easy to talk with and offered many suggestions as to what to do in the area.

Do not hesitate to stay at this B+B, you will not be disappointed, and for the price you cannot go wrong!

Many thanks! Amanda & Sean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelbug8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for three great nights. There is a lot to praise about this B&B. Our room, more of a suite with large sitting area and table for at least 3, was nicely decorated and very clean. We enjoyed having space to spread out. There was a large tv and the WiFi worked well. The B&B was easy to find and parking was easy, too.

The best and most important part of a B&B, in our opinion, is the people you find there. As so many people have mentioned, Cheryl and Bob are amazing hosts. They are full of knowledge about their area and the best places to visit and to eat. They are also eager to learn more about their guests. Our 3 breakfasts - delicious and graciously catering to our dietary needs - were shared with such a variety of people. We conversed over breakfast with a couple from Belgium, brothers from Paris and Switzerland, and a couple from NY. It was hard to tear ourselves away from the great breakfast talk to sight see.

We would not consider staying anywhere else if we return to the Kingston area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port huron, michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast both ways to our vacation to Maine. Cheryl and Bob were the most gracious hostesses accommodating to all of our needs. The room was spotless and my dream bedroom. The room had an adjoining master bathroom, a 46" flat screen TV with satellite stations, a loveseat, and a balcony. The room also had WiFi available. The breakfast each morning was served elegantly. Cheryl makes a lot of her own preserves, breads, and granola. Both Cheryl and Bob are charming with a lot of information about area attractions and had great suggestions for dining. We plan to take a long weekend soon back to Kingston to enjoy all the sites we didn't get to enjoy this time around. We will definitely be staying with Cheryl and Bob again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littleamyshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Acres Inn
#3 of 37 in Kingston
303 reviews
Rosemount B&B Inn
#5 of 22 in Kingston
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Cherry Place Bed and Breakfast
Address: 899 Brodie Ave, Kingston, Ontario K7M 4P8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
A Cherry Place Bed And Breakfast Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing