We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More B&B than inn”
Review of Frontenac Club Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontenac Club Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More B&B than inn”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Having had an unfavorable experience at a B&B in the past, we try to avoid them, preferring a touch more anonymity than they generally afford. This setting is lovely, and a short walk to downtown Kingston -- great location in an interesting historic former bank building. The breakfast offerings were delicious, if a little esoteric. The staff and owners were pleasant, but the tone is along the order of a B&B. For those so inclined, this is a wonderful option.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandinGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
156
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the best place to stay in Kingston, hands down. The location is a stones throw to Lake Ontario, coffee, restaurants, farmers market, etc. We were in town for Queens Graduation. We were booked in the Miller Room, which is decorated to reflect more of the original character of the building. Beautiful windows, fireplace, quaint and spacious. We even had our own private balcony off the main bedroom! The breakfast was top quality, delicious and very relaxing as we viewed the gardens from our table through the floor to ceiling windows. There are three separate dining area's which was lovely and bright. Tess, our server, was attentive and engaged.
There is a large, welcoming main room with games and books as well as a separate area where you can help yourself to tea and coffee. There is also another area where they provide microwave and fridge for guests. Free parking and high speed wifi as well. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The location, the rooms, the garden, the breakfast, free parking, historic building, great staff... I'm sure that i am forgetting something. I am not one for big chain hotels qhen I can get a "home away from home" and that is exactly what the Frontenac Club Inn provides. I may be winding down my career, which includes much travel to Kingston. Apart from the trauma that forced retirement may bring is the fact that I will lose the opportunity of staying at this fine establishment. It is a must stay when in Kingston.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 15, 16 and 17 are my favourite. Particularly 4 and 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWeary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights while visiting Queen's and RMC. The room was fantastic and way more than what I needed. The books were a nice touch. It made me feel as if I should book a few extra nights and hide away with a bottle of wine or three and read. The breakfast was excellent and the staff top notch.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great location, parking available, breakfast nice, rooms larger than most hotels (tip - they aren't all the same size) and common room very comforting. Never knew about this place despite going to Queen's and living within an hour of Kingston. Definitely a place I would go back to next time I stay in Kingston. Lots of character. Building was original Bank of Montreal location in Kingston with high ceilings and signs of old vault are still there.

Room Tip: Suites are very large. All rooms except one require guests to climb stairs (but well worth the clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumpster_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

They are so welcoming and friendly and want to accommodate your preferences. The breakfast was incredible. The rooms were very classic, and my room was a nice roomy size. I have a great experience and it felt like you went back in time. Be sure to use the common room, and have tea and popcorn while you play some Chinese checkers. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaGetaway234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for a girls getaway weekend, and what a good surprise.
Spacious room, very clean, nice location.
Breakfast was amazing - a set menu, but multiple "courses" served, you can easily find something for everyone.
The manager was very welcoming, and everyone in the lounge in the afternoon was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontenac Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontenac Club Inn

Property: Frontenac Club Inn
Address: 225 King Street East | Kingston, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontenac Club Inn, located in the heart of Kingston's historic downtown, is a block from Lake Ontario and close to Queen's University. It's a short walk to boat tours, theaters, restaurants (from informal to gourmet), great independent shops, art galleries, museums and the K-ROCK Centre. In a city known for its historic charm, beautiful waterfront and architectural treasures, the Frontenac Club Inn provides a special place to stay and enjoy all that Kingston, Prince Edward County and the 1000 Islands have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontenac Club Hotel Kingston
Frontenac Club Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing