We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place”
Review of Frontenac Club Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontenac Club Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed in Kingston as a stop over between Niagara and Montreal and we are glad we did as it was beautiful! The Frontenac Club Inn was similarly beautiful - a gothic, imposing building - immacutely rennovated. On arrival we were pleased to learn that we had been upgraded, free of charge, to a larger room. The room was very comfortable and had views across the lake. The inn included a gorgeous sitting room/ library, which all guests could use. The only downside was that the internet was not working - however there was free internet available at the tourist information office, only a few blocks away. The inn was fantastic and its owners very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was second to none - a three course treat with fruit, granola and an egg option - very impressive! We were not staying in Kingston very long, but we certainly wish we could have stayed on longer and we will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Frontenac Club Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2009

We were looking for a B&B for a quick getaway to Kingston, and this historic inn did not disappoint. It is located steps from the waterfront and downtown and around the corner from the farmer's market. It is in the same vicinity as the more "generic" chain hotels, but has much more charm and character.

The Cooke Suite is located in the annex, right next to the main building. It is a two-room suite, with large bedroom and roomy sitting area. There is no interior passageway to the main building, meaning you have to walk outside to go to breakfast, but in good weather, this is not an issue.

On-site parking and a very good breakfast are included in the price. We paid $179, a good deal for the location and the season.

The one area for improvement is the bathroom, which is dated. The sink did not have a mixer, so hot and cold water come out of separate taps. Also, the toiletries are Aveda, but no moisturizing cream was included.

Would definitely go back on our next overnight trip to Kingston.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnMtnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stopped at this excellent premises for one night whilst visiting the sunset ceremony at Old Fort Henry. If you are looking for a place to stay in Kingston then look no further. The accomadation is first class and I cannot recommend it highly enough. My only complaint is that I was only there for one night!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RADCTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

It’s the first time for our familiy staying at a B&B, normally we prefer to go to hotels but as there wasn’t a hotel in Kingston that suited us we went for the Frontenac Club. Considering the stay it was like in a hotel. We chose the Sandburg Suite and this accomodation had all the amenities we are used to: a very big living room, a bedroom with a comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom. The B&B is located very well for exploring Kingston (a few steps to the center) but there was some noise from passing cars. Breakfast was good but we missed some pastries.
In summary, I can recommend Frontenac Club if you are looking for a fine accomodation in Kingston.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

From the moment we pulled in to this beautiful historic Inn to the day we left we were treated to the most delicious breakfast's and warm service. The Gardini suite was absolutely beautiful and cozy. Next time I am in Kingston The Frontenac Club Inn will be my one and only choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed at the Inn for three nights, and it proved an excellent choice. It is ideally located in downtown allowing you to visit the pleasant city centre and surrounding area [Penitentiary Museum and cruise on the lakes particularly recommended]. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious, and the breakfast very good. And one more recommendation while you are in Kingston - eat at Lotus-Heart-Blossoms
at 185 Sydenham Street - one of the best vegetarian restauarants we have ever found.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarahjane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We were guests at the FCI at the end of June, prior to boarding our cruise on the St. Lawrence Seaway. My husband and I are not great fans of B&B's where you sit in the family living room and have the bedroom next door to the owner.

The Frontenac is the perfect compromise -- big enough to grant guests privacy but small enough for an intimate experience without being intrusive. We were in a first floor room with a small private outdoor deck. The rooms are lovely. Very comfortable and well-planned.

The public rooms are spacious and again, very comfortable.

I noted the review from the parent who was unhappy that the owners did not welcome children. This is so not a place for children. Very adult inn. It has a number of stairs, many "dangerous" ornaments on tables, etc. Just not designed for kids.

The location is also a plus. Very close to the water and to the main part of town with restaurants, shops, etc.

We liked Kingston although there's a limit to activities during the week. Two nights would be more than enough to see the town.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doveWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
2.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#12 of 37 in Kingston
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontenac Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontenac Club Inn

Address: 225 King Street East | Kingston, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: £153 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontenac Club Inn, located in the heart of Kingston's historic downtown, is a block from Lake Ontario and close to Queen's University. It's a short walk to boat tours, theaters, restaurants (from informal to gourmet), great independent shops, art galleries, museums and the K-ROCK Centre. In a city known for its historic charm, beautiful waterfront and architectural treasures, the Frontenac Club Inn provides a special place to stay and enjoy all that Kingston, Prince Edward County and the 1000 Islands have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontenac Club Hotel Kingston
Frontenac Club Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing