We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Woods Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Tranquility”
Reviewed 22 April 2010

As this was a working vacation, the place where my co-worker and I wanted to relax had to be wonderful and restful. To my delight, the reviews I read on trip advisor about the Green Woods Inn were true. This inn is located just off the highway, but still offers a country atmosphere. Our day trip to the University was only a 5 min. run into town. We enjoyed being close to the city and having the luxury of the country at our purview. We also had the extra bonus of free and spacious parking.
In addition, our hosts - Nigel and Tessa were incredibility helpful and gracious hosts. They cooked a sumptuous breakfast each morning that was fit for royalty. Moreover, the rooms were beautiful and extremely clean. We were delighted that they offered a room with twin beds. The rooms are spacious and filled with lovely antiques. In addition, some of the rooms offer luxurious bedding to get lost in. If going to Kingston, this Bed & Breakfast is definitely worth a visit if you want to be pampered. Their quote, "Arrive a traveler, depart a friend" is certain apt. Enjoy the ride!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

stayed one night in this B&B and I would do so again in a heartbeat. Beautiful rooms, great hosts and amazing breakfast made it a trip to remember. A true hidden gem in one of Canada's loveliest towns.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This was our second stay at Green Woods Inn which is a fine Bed and Breakfast hosted by thoughtful owners who serve an extravagantly sumptuous breakfast. They offer world-wide free telephone service, accept pets with some wise constraints, and take rightful pride in their home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

What a lovely experience. From the garden, to the decor & restored period features in the common areas, to the beautifully decorated guest rooms with their ultra comfortable beds & bed linens, to the mouth watering breakfasts prepared & presented by our gracious hosts, our stay(s) at Green Woods Inn exceeded our expectations. 2009 was our 2nd "Friends Reunion Weekend" at the Green Woods Inn & we've already agreed it will be where we stay for our 3rd, 4th etc..........

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain/France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed at the Greenwoods Inn just one night as part of our travels through Canada. Compared to our other B&B experiences, this was by far the best. The house is beautiful, located outside of Kingston but easily reachable by car. Our room was very cosy and quiet. Tessa and Nigel were very welcoming and helpful and breakfast was simply delicious (one of us is a vegetarian and this was no problem at all). We will definitely return here if we visit Kingston again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My wife and I (along with our canine companion), had a wonderful stay at the historic Green Woods Inn. Nigel and Tessa are excellent hosts, with wonderful accommodations and breakfasts, and a wealth of local tourist information for the out-of-town traveler. Green Woods Inn is very well appointed and comfortable. We have come away rested and refreshed. Thank-you, Nigel and Tessa. We really enjoyed our stay with you.
Robert Royal
ps. Our Sadie appreciated your complimentary doggy treats.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robberbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Green Woods Inn is a lovely place to stay. The attention to detail by the owners is impeccable (special mattresses for bad backs and proper duvets that don't make allergies worse). The place is beautifully decorated and Tessa and Nigel really make you feel like you're at home. The only drawback is that it's along a main road a little out of town. The advantage of this is that it's easy to find, but we needed to get a taxi (although cheap) into the centre in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmad96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
6.0 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
280 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
3.8 mi away
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Inn

Property: Green Woods Inn
Address: 1368 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0C4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Woods Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rideau Heritage Tourism Route, Green Woods Inn is one of Kingston's finest Historic Inns. Offering a peacful setting in the city of Kingston, just minutes to the down town core and one mile south of Hwy 401. The Inn has been fully renovated with all rooms having fine cotton linens, luxurious private ensuite bathrooms, central air-conditioning and private on-ground guest parking. Our full gourmet breakfast helps to make your stay an extra-special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing