We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pay full price”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We got a dealfind and thank goodness we did. The hotel is very run down. Almost twisted my ankle on the ramp that isn't marked in the parking lot. We had no amenities in the room. So bring soap, shampoo etc. We had holes in the bathtub, which was right at torso level, very creepy. Bed was uncomfortable. Walls are paper thin. Room needs a facelift. Everything just looks dirty. Waited 5-10 min while the front desk girl finished up making her personal appointments on the phone. Didn't dare go in the pool or taste the food. Didn't want to take any chances. The location is excellent, but I would recommend going to the Holiday Inn express or the Marriott, which are all in that area.

Room Tip: Only stay if you get a cheap rate and stay at the hotel briefly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel through Dealfind. Very glad we didn't pay full price as hotel is quite run down and needs a major revamp. Front desk staff were very pleasant and professional. Rooms need shelf to hold microwave. Microwave in our room was balanced on top of a small fridge and balancing on top of the microwave was the ice tray. Very hokey! Pillows were really poor quality and uncomfortable. Bed linen definitely needs upgrading. There was a sign in the bathroom saying that if anyone "took" home one of their soft, fluffy towels they would be charged $10. What soft and fluffy towels?? Maybe at one time they were nice towels, but that must have been many years ago. No shampoo or body lotion. Soap in the bathroom was in a container on the wall - again, really hokey and cheap. Didn't bother to stay around for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room without connecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wepaktogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Staff were excellent...glad that stayed through Deal find...regular rates are a bit pricey for a hotel that is quite run down. Cracks in bathroom floor (around toilet), stains on ceiling, stains on carpet, stained towels(use more bleach)
Breakfast was average for a continental
Beds were comfortable
Staff did provide an air purifier/deodarizer upon request
Pool and hot tub were clean and nice and warm, lots of towels in pool area
Glad I read other reviews so that I brought my own shampoo and body wash
Some new flooring and a paint job to ceilings and floor would do this property well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What a wonderful experience we had staying at the First Canada Inns in Kingston. We were a large group of ladies staying in Kingston and all the staff were so accommodating to us all. The Front Desk Staff were absolutely accommodating and friendly. The housekeeping staff was quick with clean towels and extra coffee. The prices were so reasonable, almost half what the bigger hotels downtown were charging, the continental breakfast (some of the bigger hotels don't provide a breakfast) was very generous. The rooms were large and clean, the pool area was clean and supplied with towels, and supplied our large group with a Hospitality room for meetings. Best of all was the price, close to all the amenities and restaurants, outlet mall for shopping and right off the 401. I don't see how anyone could complain about this hotel. Thanks to First Canada Inns-Kingston!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrackieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My stay at First Canadian place was good; very impress with the location, just off the 401hwy. Surrounded by many places to eat, grocery, drug store etc. It is about 20mins from downtown Kingston. Lots of parking and checking was smooth. Reception was very helpful attended our need immediately. The room including the bathroom was clean and welcoming. The room had a working microwave and fridge. Swimming pool and hot tub was a welcoming comfort after a cold and windy walk downtown. The bed was comfortable, sheets were clean. My only problem, other guests were very loud in the corridor and I think the two guests on either side of my room needed hearing aid to hear their TV. Otherwise my one night stay was good. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Staying on the 1st floor with a patio, was great, it was easy to take your baggage in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavenderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel was conveniently located near the 401. The rooms were ok, clean but in need of updating. Although it was smoke-free you could see where there were cigarette burns on the bathroom sink. There was no hairdryer, the towels were thin etc. The service was very good, the staff were helpful and pleasant. The pool and hot tub were small but clean and usable. I didn't take advantage of the "breakfast included" - it was all toaster stuff and canned fruit. All-in-all an ok place for a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My fiance and I bought a DealFind voucher for this hotel for $69 (taxes paid on arrival). For the 2 nights, we had complimentary Continental breakfast. it was limited but it was breakfast. The room was clean and good sized. The walls are thin, so you can hear everything going on in the halls, but it wasn't terrible. The location was about 10 minute drive from the heart of Kingston and the waterfront area. It wasn't bad but walking it would be difficult.
Because we found a deal, it was worth it. If you are a couple, and want to stay in Kingston for the waterfront and the city bars and restaurants, I suggest staying elsewhere. If you are a family and budget conscious, then this is the place.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, facing North. It was facing construction and in the far distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clumsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Super 8 Kingston
#12 of 37 in Kingston
219 reviews
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#21 of 37 in Kingston
191 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#23 of 37 in Kingston
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Address: 1 First Canada Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £54 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Hotel Kingston
1st Canada Inns
First Canada Hotel
First Canada Inns Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing