We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Work!!”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs Work!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Having stayed in many hotels on business prior to retiring, I have to say that this was one of the biggest disappointments to date. No soap, hair dryers or ironing boards. The beds literally swayed back and forth just sitting on them. Looking underneath, we discovered that there were no bed frames and they were held up by pieces of plywood stood on end. Bedspreads and throw pillows old and dirty. Keys with the room number on them ??? Breakfast was below average. Butter, peanut butter and jam were in large shared bowls. Crumbs from previous users in all of them. Staff was as friendly and helpful as they could be. The old adage. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Not at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnSusan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have also addressed the cleanliness issues you have described, and assure you and any future guest of our property there is nothing to worry about. I hope you come back again soon as we are in the process of receiving new card swipe locks. Unlike other hotels our amenities such as hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are available for no charge at the Front Desk as opposed to in the rooms. As for soap, that is standard in our rooms and I’m sorry that it was not present in yours. I am truly sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, but I will be sure to pass along the kind words you had for our staff. Hopefully we can welcome you back at another time and wish you the very best.

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    69
    66
    40
    54
See reviews for
93
74
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This motel was good value for the money,,,We wen't on family day with my son,, He had a great time,, motel is a little old but o.k.... toilet didn't flush..but not the end of the world,, pool was the best feature.. breakfast was good.. The only thing to complain about was the walls were to thin,,, so we could hear the dogs barking..and the other kids havin fun with there parents,, thank god no one was doing the nasty...... All in all i would go back for a quick over nighter,,but not for romance

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmyrockon9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Hello, Thank you for posting your comments. They are very important to us to ensure we are delivering great quality and great value.

I hope that your time spent in Kingston was a delight and we are very pleased to have you as our guest.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel needs some improvments. Although minor, it has been years since I used an actual key, no swipe cards here. Room was clean, however linens were stained (pillow cases, sheets and bed spreads). Carpets were dirty, but that is a difficult one to control when you have rooms on the first floor that open up right into the parking area. Bathroom was clean but basic with bath towels, face cloths and hand towels. No blow dryer and no ironing board/iron in room (but front desk will supply a small board and iron if needed). Front desk staff were great! Breakfast, served on a pool table but did the trick. Coffee not so good, fortunately the Starbucks is right there. We did not use the pool but the kids seemed to be enjoying it while were were there. I feel this hotel was over priced for what it offered (or didn't offer).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homeinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We hope you come back again soon as we are in the process of receiving new swipe card locks; we have also addressed the cleanliness issues you have described, and assure you and any future guest of our property there is nothing to worry about. We even have a new state or the art carpet cleaner that we have been using regularly. If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me (Taylor). We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Sincerely,

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very clean , all works fine . Plazma tv with a lot of channels . breakfast was just ok . heater work fine . at 5 minutes of downtown in car . a lot of stores no far. bed was comfortable . it was quiet .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artem15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Your comments are truly appreciated and I will share them with our entire team as each one of them works very hard to ensure all of our guests leave delighted.

I hope that you will consider us again when you are planning future visits.

Best regards;

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Visited riends in Kingston and stayed for 2 nights. Easy hotel to find and easy access to many activities in the city. Delighted by the good variety of breakfast options. Big, clean rooms. The bed was really comfortable and the room was quiet. It was a great treat to have a pool and hot tub. I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend. Good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We got a dealfind and thank goodness we did. The hotel is very run down. Almost twisted my ankle on the ramp that isn't marked in the parking lot. We had no amenities in the room. So bring soap, shampoo etc. We had holes in the bathtub, which was right at torso level, very creepy. Bed was uncomfortable. Walls are paper thin. Room needs a facelift. Everything just looks dirty. Waited 5-10 min while the front desk girl finished up making her personal appointments on the phone. Didn't dare go in the pool or taste the food. Didn't want to take any chances. The location is excellent, but I would recommend going to the Holiday Inn express or the Marriott, which are all in that area.

Room Tip: Only stay if you get a cheap rate and stay at the hotel briefly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel through Dealfind. Very glad we didn't pay full price as hotel is quite run down and needs a major revamp. Front desk staff were very pleasant and professional. Rooms need shelf to hold microwave. Microwave in our room was balanced on top of a small fridge and balancing on top of the microwave was the ice tray. Very hokey! Pillows were really poor quality and uncomfortable. Bed linen definitely needs upgrading. There was a sign in the bathroom saying that if anyone "took" home one of their soft, fluffy towels they would be charged $10. What soft and fluffy towels?? Maybe at one time they were nice towels, but that must have been many years ago. No shampoo or body lotion. Soap in the bathroom was in a container on the wall - again, really hokey and cheap. Didn't bother to stay around for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room without connecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wepaktogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#18 of 37 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.7 mi away
Motel 6 Kingston
Motel 6 Kingston
#9 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1 First Canada Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Canada Inns
First Canada Inns Hotel Kingston
First Canada Hotel
First Canada Inns Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing