We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I rented a room on Aug 23 and it was clean, tidy and just fantastic. the check in was seamless. The bed was very comfortable and I felt like I was on a cloud. The superior room is the way to go. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your wonderful compliments! We are glad you found a room type you enjoy. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    69
    67
    42
    55
See reviews for
95
74
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A friend had arranged for our stay at First Canada Inn. He had stayed there in the past. Our room was average. There were burn marks in the blanket, but the room was generally clean. The bathroom was a mess. The toilet tank had a crack in it, and due to the high humidity, the toilet sweat a lot, making the floor wet and slippery. The shower dripped, so the humidity level in the bathroom was always high. At one point, I open the bathroom door and found the mirror completely fogged over and no one had taken a shower yet!

Room Tip: Perhaps a second floor room would have been less humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We are sorry that you did not have more positive feedback to share about your recent stay but we will take your comments into consideration. We wish you the best and hope we will have the chance to host you at our hotel again.

Thank you,

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This place should be shut down! I stayed there on a soccer tournament and the whole group could not believe just how disgusting this place really was, the sheets on the bed were the most disgusting i've ever seen, I had to go buy sleeping bags to actually sleep there. DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famjam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Conveniently close to the highway but a long walk to town. Very comfortable beds, great black out blinds, spacious room but very noisy early in the morning, being woken by other guests at 6am. Breakfast would be acceptable if Delphi was provided rather than polystyrene cups and bowls. Starbucks located across the Rivas though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for posting your comments. They are very important to us to ensure we are delivering great quality and great value. I'm sorry that some of our other guests did not let you receive the sleep you deserved. I hope though that your time spent in Kingston was a delight and we are very pleased to have you as our guest.

Best Regards;

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Arrived a little after check in time of 3 and the room was ready. Older hotel with two floors. No elevator so if you have mobility issues make sure they know to put you on the first floor.

Pet friendly with ample green space to walk your pets.

Room was large with a king size bed and had a firm love seat style couch that was also a pull out single bed. King bed was very comfortable. If you wish a soft thinner pillow bring your own.

Window can be opened which is a bonus if you like the breeze and fresh air. Front facing rooms very close to trains as it can get kind of noisy.

If you are addicted to small hotel toiletries you are going to be disappointed. There was one small soap square for the sink. The shower had a foam soap pump dispenser on the wall. In my opinion a waste of time as you were constantly pumping to get enough foam to suds up. Towels for a king room should have been doubled as they are small and anything but absorbent. I would give up the two robes for a bath sheet or two!

This weekend was a hockey tournament and there were a lot of young children running all over the place. Indoor pool available. I was informed that the youth groups were advised and signed a curfew agreement. After nine there was not a peep to be heard except for the adult chaperons letting off some steam. The office made quick work on that gathering.

Coffee maker in the room. Cord so short it wasn't even plugged in and I ended up putting it on the floor near an outlet to get power. Should be placed and plugged in before hand by housekeeping instead of going on a search by oneself.

Not a bad breakfast included. Oh and the margarine in a large tub looks like cream cheese... as I found out by putting far too much on my bagel. ;)

WiFi had a good strong signal. Vending machines were hit and miss. One on the second floor was not working. One by the front desk not working. Front desk did have snacks and pop for sale.

All in all not a bad place even with some of the concerns expressed. I would’t hesitate to return.

Lots of eateries within walking distance. Across the road is East Side Mario’s and Harvey’s (hamburger/fries etc), I also saw within walking distance a Star Bucks, Arby’s, McDonald’s, AW, Tim’s, Wendy’s, and a large pharmacy Shopper’s Drug Mart.

Room Tip: Stay away from stair wells as they can be noisy. Front facing rooms are close to a rail line and als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalenOneFortyEight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your compliments and we will also take your suggestions and see what can be done to make your next stay 100% delightful! it's great that you have found a preference in room location and we will always strive to accommodate your requests. Feel free to email me personally when coming back to Kingston. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was embarrassed being the Manager of our soccer team to have booked this hotel. These are the issues I emailed to our booking agent so they are aware to take this hotel off their site.
We would NEVER, EVER recommend First Canada Inn for this tournament and as a Manager I would recommend you take this hotel off of your site. The issues we had were as follows:
- we had to pay for our rooms upon registration the first night (now I know why!!!)
- Managers room was not even secure when we entered it- room was unlocked. This was reported to the front desk.
- the facility was UNCLEAN- Period.
- one of our rooms had to be fully re-cleaned and a complaint made to the hotel manager (who was not helpful to the hotel staff dealing with our complaints) when the sheets on the bed were found to be covered in mold and dried blood stains. We did take photos of this and the parent who rented the room will be forwarding her complaint to their Head Office.
- another room the fridge had stopped working and leaked all over the carpet giving the room a very musty moldy smell that should have been addressed by the cleaning staff- it was VERY noticeable. Girls had to be moved to another room.
- refuse and garbage under the beds and behind night tables
- no hair dryers in the rooms- we had to ask for one at the front desk and there were not enough for all the rooms in the hotel???
- no complimentary bottles of shampoo and conditioner- there was a dispenser on the wall with some body wash/ shampoo that didn't even clean your hands.
- no Kleenex in many rooms/ no extra toilet paper in bathrooms.
- outside of the hotel was dirty, unkept and garbage was all over the back of the building.
- parking was terrible.
* the one positive is the hotel is very close to all amenities and the owners should take advantage of this.
I will be placing a formal complaint to the First Canada Inns Head Office as well.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAURIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit recently and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you if you wish. It is First Canada Inns policy to take payment upon check-in so there is no need to check out in the morning, you can just leave at your leisure. Unlike other hotels our amenities such as hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are available for no charge at the Front Desk as opposed to in the rooms, I’m sorry they were not available to you when you needed one. We have also addressed the cleanliness issues you have described, we have purchased new sheets, towels etc. and have spoken with our head housekeeper as well as our other housekeeping supervisors and we have put new procedures in place to ensure that this does not happen again. You expect clean when you enter a hotel room, and unfortunately we did not meet your needs, I am truly sorry and it should not happen again. I’m sorry you and your team had this experience with us, hopefully we can welcome you back at another time. Please contact me directly if you wish to plan another visit to First Canada Inns Kingston.

Thank you,

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This may be the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. I wouldn't know where to start with the complaints...dirty,smelly,horrible service and excuse after excuse for everything....All for $115 night? Ridiculous! This "hotel" is MARGINALLY $60/night. If you want to waste your money, stay here. If I could rate a -10 on it, I would! Do yourself a favour, if you are thinking of this place, sleep in your car! DO NOT believe their pictures of this place. Must be photoshopped!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNAPCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. Unfortunately the weekend you stayed with us was very busy in Kingston and our price was very competitive. All of our photos on our website are our own and nothing is doctored. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to discuss your stay. I am truly sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back at another time.

Sincerely,

Taylor Swan
Operations Manager
taylor@first-canada-inns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
Comfort Inn - Highway 401
#16 of 37 in Kingston
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
0.3 mi away
Ramada Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Thriftlodge Kingston
Thriftlodge Kingston
#17 of 37 in Kingston
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Kingston LaSalle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1 First Canada Crt, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Canada Inns
First Canada Inns Hotel Kingston
First Canada Hotel
First Canada Inns Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing