We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amadeus Cafe

Amadeus Cafe
Ranked #15 of 424 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: This Family owned and operated restaurant has been serving authentic European classic dishes since 1992. The Amadeus offers Old World family recipes prepared with locally sourced ingredients. Meats are sourced through Wendy's Mobile Market - via local farmers. Our extensive beer list offers only the finest crafted German beers available. Our wine list offers wine from around the world and of course wines available locally from the County. During the summer season you will be transported back to Germany was you step foot in our hidden Biergarten. Very green and peaceful this is a pleasant way to spends a summers day. Guten Appetit !!!
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I am a business traveler. I am platinum in a number of different reward systems. 200-250 nights a year in hotels. I eat out a lot. I love this restaurant and have ate here many times. The service is great, the food is great, the beer is great. Highly recommend

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    25
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great find in downtown Kingston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Happened upon the Amadeus Cafe, went in based on the advertised special, and then didn't have the special. Extensive menu with many dishes that reminded us of our favourite German restaurant in Hamilton (Black Forest Inn). Schnitzels were very tasty and well done, goulash was excellent, portions were generous, German beers on tap. We will return for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best authentic European food this side of the Atlantic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This restaurant has to be in tune with the old world standards for fine dining. Unfortunately they are not opened on Sunday's. Have to remember many returning service men from Europe so the standards are very high.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gillisonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OMG SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I love going out to eat! I love trying new places, and this one became one of my top five as soon as I got my first meal! It is Kingston best kept secret. With such amazing food to choose from you can not go wrong with anything on the menu. The beer is always gold and tasty and just makes the food better! My favourite part is their private back patio, away from the downtown street traffic it is the perfect place to spend a summer afternoon. This place is just absolutely amazing! One of the only spots that will accommodate a walk in party of 22 people and serve us all fresh hot food at the same time. The staff is always friendly the food always delicious. Perfect place for a quite date or an evening catching up with friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great German food in Kingston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Visited the Amadeus Restaurant for the 6th time in the last 2 years. We always have the "Rouladen" a German beef dish that keeps me coming back. Atmosphere is great especially their "beer garden out back, A great selection of German beers and they also have large sampler platters and known to have great schitzels, although the rouladen are so good they are always my choice. Their service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amadeus Cafe also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Amadeus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing