We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good burger, great soup” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Penny

Copper Penny
Ranked #85 of 424 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good burger, great soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My friend and I went to the Copper Penny for dinner and loved it. Great burger - had the BBQ one, and the daily soup brocolli cheddar was nice although it was not hot.
We had a good time, however we felt that due to the size of the restaurant that those at the bar were 'spilling over' onto our table and booth which was a bit awkward.
The food was great though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    53
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Restaurant that just makes Cents!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

What a charm of a restaurant.
When we walked in we were seated right away by a courteous and friendly waitress. The decor was rustic, but had a very warm feeling.
For an appetizer we ordered Garlic Bread, which was the best I have ever eaten.
Our entrees were delicious as well, my wife had Stuffed Ravioli Carbonara and I ordered the seafood platter. Both dishes were delicious and the portions were large all for a great price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whaleseeker8712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Pub type food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

If you want a quick bite to eat while shopping on Princess Street this is a good place to stop. There was a lot of choice on the menu and everything I had tasted homemade and not greasy like other pub food I've tasted in the past. The young servers are all very friendly and well trained. I would here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily_Cattelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food was very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stopped in Kingston for quick sitdown dinner and didn't expect much.
Food was very good. Service was good.
Prices were reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank joejw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Copper Penny provided us with a decent dinner, but nothing special. It had a cute atmosphere, and in particular I loved the wine holder over the bar. Nice staff. Service was okay. Way too many tvs going on. You would have thought it was a sports bar, but the sound was off, so we ignored it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NEVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copper Penny also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Copper Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing