We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Darbar Restaurant

Darbar Restaurant
Ranked #119 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Darbar is an intimate experience providing spiced-to-order Indian fare, specializing in tandoori & vegetarian dishes. Darbar uses only the freshest ingredients, and chooses organic ingredients whenever possible. We offer takeout and delivery within Kingston.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Exterior is not impressive, but the interior was very pleasant. We shared the BB menu: Seekh Kebab & Onion Bhaji, Butter Chicken, Lamb Bhoona, Mixed Vegetable Curry, Palao Rice, Naan Bread, Papadum, Dessert. The lamb bhoona and vegetable curry were really good, and I ate more food than I usually do. Really enjoyed it. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxyeHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good customer service, ok food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Butter chicken not at all what I was expecting. Was terrible coconut made it way to sweet. Usually butter chicken is a coconut base.

Naan was undercooked. Was really looking forward to it and didnt end up even eating a 1/4 of it. Really too bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Great variety in the combo plate AA for 2. Nice flavor and next time will spice it up a bit more. Service was good, no wait time but 15 minutes later we would have and super price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank randyk_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I'm a student who really only splurges on a meal out once a week, and this is the place I usually go. The food is well spiced and flavourful, and they will do off-menu orders sometimes (subbing in meats in dishes where they aren't usually featured; my favourite is turkey madras as opposed to chicken) and have a good variety of options to choose from. The staff is very friendly even though I'm often the last one there on a weekend night. Always a race to get there after work, but definitely worth the effort!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrLS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had dinner there recently and although it is a bit pricey the service is great and the food is comfort food. We are always pleasantly pleased with the food especially the tandoori chicken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuyerBeware_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darbar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Darbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing