We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leamington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First campground that I have been to that has an adult only pool with a hot tub. No extra fee for waterslide which saved our family a ton of money (we have three children). This place was clean and well kept. Staff was pleasant and took the time to bring us to our campsite. I would recommend sturgeon woods to friends and family.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

These people do not know how to run a business. They do not provide the park with equipment for the kids and if there is a craft to do, it costs 50 cents. We decided to put our trailer here for the season and possibly more. We pulled it out. The staff are not friendly. I have nothing nice to say about this place or the people running it.This is a communist campground. The pool rules are a joke. The indoor pool is cool for kids/adults but if you want to go outside to the family pool I hope your kid(s) can swim. NO LIFE JACKETS OF ANY SORT ALLOWED as you might rip their liner at the top where there is no water.
To sum this rant up THIS PLACE SUCKS AND WE WILL NEVER EVER GO BACK. If you want disappointment then stay here.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tm444_33, Manager at Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Yes, it is accurate that we do not allow boating life jackets in the pool however there are many other safety flotation devices specifically designed for pools that are permitted. We do apologize for this confusion. Also, In previous years we have charged a small .50 fee for our Saturday morning craft for crafting supplies but after review it was eliminated at the beginning of this past season. If we can make this right for you please call us at 519-326-1156. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a great time at Sturgeon Woods this labour day weekend. The facilities are clean, staff is friendly and there were many activities for the kids to do. I am so happy we did not let some of these reviews affect our plans to visit this campground. this is the nicest campground we have been to in over 2 years. I assure you this place is not "a dump". We will be returning.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank mai p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Always love being at sturgeon woods, feels like home. Everyone is always welcoming. We stay at Sturgeon Woods 4 to 5 times a year and would stay more if time would allow. The staff are great and very accommodating to our requests. They have live entertainment on most Holiday Weekends and they have activities for the kids too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed there with the family in our RV and had a great time.. We are a member of Resorts of Distinction Clean place great staff. Seasonal very friendly.The only complaint we had was some of the public in the park... no respect for fellow campers.. but would go back again.. Best park in the banana belt of Ontario...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just spent 4 days, 3 nights at this campground as part of a vacation with our grandchildren. A bad experience for all of us. Staff is miserable and grouchy - especially children program leaders and lifeguards who are rude as well. Internet advertising is not accurate - there is no splash pad - there is an indoor pool which is advertised as heated but it is NOT heated - it is freezing cold. Washrooms are in the same indoor building as the pool which is NOT opened 9 to 9 as advertised - it closes whenever at night (last night it was 8:40). Pricing is vague and changes depending on who you talk to (i.e. water slide bracelets which are 2.99, 5.00, 6.65) depending on who you talk to. It was very inconvenient to use washrooms while in the indoor pool - you need to run around the building to use them, even though you can see them from the pool there is a half-divider up so you can't get to them. A backhoe woke us up early as they had decided to level the roadway by dragging the bucket back and forth on the roads at 8 a.m. Just what someone on vacation wants to do - be woken up early. I could go on and on - but you get it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank agm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tm444_33, General Manager at Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the early workers, we have been working on this. As far as the water bracelets go, it’s 2.95 on weekdays, 5.00 on weekends and that rate comes to 5.65 with tax. The reason for the price change on weekends is because of extended water slide hours. We would love to make this right with you, please call us at (519) 326-1156

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I understand that we can not control the weather, but when the site your give is under two inches of water and the sewer is backed up. And all they can say is to bad for you... Don't think I'll ever go back there. At other places I've been I always seen employes around asking if everything was good. Not once did I see any one, or felt welcomed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leamington
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Leamington
Quality Inn Leamington
#3 of 9 in Leamington
187 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Leamington
Days Inn Leamington
#2 of 9 in Leamington
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingsville
100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seacliffe Inn
Seacliffe Inn
#2 of 8 in Leamington
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
#3 of 8 in Leamington
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina

Address: 1129 Mersea Road C, RR#1 Point Pelee, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3V4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Leamington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leamington
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sturgeon Woods Campground & Marina Leamington, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing