We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for visiting Point Pelee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Talbot Trail Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Leamington
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband, one of our kids, and I stayed at the Talbot Trail Inn this past weekend. We wanted to be close to Point Pelee and the B & B's we looked at weren't suitable for the three of us. (only one queen bed at a lot of B & B's). This is a great, family-run hotel. It's a motor court hotel - you drive behind the lobby and can park right by your room. The room and bathroom were totally updated, clean and attractive. The bathroom is a little small but that didn't matter. The two queen beds were extremely comfortable and there was a flat-screen tv.

Leamington is the tomato capital of Canada so there is a Heinz Ketchup Factory in
town! I google-mapped the directions - big mistake - coming from Toronto on the 401, we took
exit #63 which was far too early. But we got to see the farm fields (very flat here!) and the scenery was very pretty. We hiked and cycled at Point Pelee on the Saturday - we went on the boardwalk, through the marsh - what a spectacular place! (Wear light coloured long pants - as
the stable flies like dark colours and will bite you!) We ate in their Restaurant (the Fireside) -
huge portions and tasty food. The waitress (very nice) let us take our bottle of wine back to our room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Talbot Trail Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We didn't much plan ahead for our trip to Point Pelee National Park so came to Leamington without booking anything in advance. Found this motel on Tripadvisor. And it was the most central (although Leamington city centre is not very exciting). Actually the restaurant attached was the most decent choice, solid food.
The motel room was huge, clean, newly renovated and staff very friendly. Totally satisfied for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed @ Talbot Trail Inn when passing through Leamington and taking the time for a side trip to Point Pelee Park. Just on the edge of the sleepy town of Leamington, we found the hotel to be exceptionally clean and welcoming (although the "shadflies" were in season and carpeting the town making walking / driving an unsightly mess). All rooms are accessed by an interior, drive-in courtyard, which renders it quiet - a value given it is on a busy thoroughfare. The family-run hotel has an attached restaurant, which offers excellent value-priced meals (Lebanese & "North American" cuisine). The food was fresh, well prepared and served, and the serving sizes were large.
Not much of a nightlife in Leamington.....we were told that people "...sleep & work in Leamington, while they live and play in neighbouring Kingsville"...We never did check this rumour out.....
All in all, a safe stop in the area.......we would visist again if we found ourselves back in town.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schadau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Talbot is a typical Motel with rooms looking pretty old and very dark. I don't think they are that old though considering they have a very nice and brand new front office but the black carpet and the old furnitures make the room look old. Also ours smelled humid a little bit because the window can't open a lot. We also found dust in some corners but I mean for the price you can't expect a 4-stars hotel! ($100) The bathtub is very small but they have a big TV screen if you enjoy watching TV.

Other than that the staff is extremely nice and the motel is very very close (15km) from Point Pelee. Also at night it's very quiet and you don't really hear cars passing by. But you can definitely hear your neighbors if they are noisy. Thankfully ours were very quiet!

Breakfast is not included but they have a restaurant with very decent breakfasts for a very good price!

Room Tip: We had a regular room with a queen bed but you can get one with a jacuzzi and a king bed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

After looking through reviews for places to stay in the area I decided that the Talbot Trail Inn was our best bet. We had spent a long day hiking in Pelee Park and were thoroughly tired when we arrived. As soon as we stepped in the door to our room I knew we had made the right decision....the room was beautiful, boutique inspired decor, lovely big tv, and it smelled great! First impression continued to the spa looking bathroom and later to the excellent restaurant attached. The added bonus was that this was at a great price point as well. We will definitely come back...thank you for helping make our weekend getaway memorable.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night, May 25th-26th. This is your non-chain, family-owned and run local motel with restaurant. We were impressed with the spotlessly clean room, the carpet that appeared to be new, latest-technology door locks and overall neat and well-cared for appearance of the place. In fact, that was what drew us in off the road. The positive overall impression we had was carried out throughout. The food was good and the portions large. Service was friendly and courteous. The prices were reasonable. We would stay here again, no question about it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonostudente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at the Talbot Trails for three nights 5/14 to 5/16 2013. The first morning the shower varied from too hot to too cold. The second morning it took so long to adjust the shower I skipped it. The third morning thought the shower was adjusted fine, with a head full of lather it became almost scalding hot. When I informed the hotel staff (which had to be called for a checkout before 7 am) the individual informed me it was the first the hotel had heard of this problem. Don't think so! The other persons in my party had the same experience with the shower in their room.

Did not find the bed comfortable, but others in party did. The window cover was vertical blinds which did not completely close. The stair to the second floor had 21 steps. Labelled it the stairmaster! Will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor will require a 21 stair climb.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leamington
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Leamington
Days Inn Leamington
#2 of 9 in Leamington
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Leamington
Quality Inn Leamington
#3 of 9 in Leamington
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingsville
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seacliffe Inn
Seacliffe Inn
#2 of 8 in Leamington
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wigle's Motel
Wigle's Motel
#5 of 9 in Leamington
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Trail Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Trail Inn & Suites

Address: 161 Talbot Street East, Leamington, Ontario N8H 1L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Leamington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Leamington
Price Range: £52 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Trail Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Talbot Trail Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Trail Inn & Suites Leamington, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing