We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place -- Could be Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
KIngston, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place -- Could be Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

First off the staff are very friendly and the location is excellent. The boutique quality of the hotel is a strong selling feature but some of the features don't quite work. The funky sink in the bath room was missing a plug showing a pretty grotty drain. The doors to the rooms need to be buffered with sound dampening. I woke up a few times with people coming and going; the doors are very loud!

Having said that, the owners seem great and very accommodating and the location can't be beat. I'd return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    120
    28
    7
    10
See reviews for
42
198
22
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I had a really great night away at Hotel Metro. The staff were friendly and the room was well laid out, modern and had everything we needed. We parked at the market across the way and it only cost $13.00. The downtown area got a little loud at night but that is to be expected on a lovely summer's evening! A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in providing a great experience to our treasured guests.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and safe travels from the entire team at Metro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My thoughts are similar to the other reviewers but did want to try something beyond the usual fare and wanted to be downtown. Parking is a bit of a pain both logistically and financially, especially for the first timers. Staff was accommodating, providing ice and a complementary bottle of wine. Had a loft room which looked out over the market and was very quiet.
Only complaint was the tissue paper that they use for toilet paper. In a semi high end place, this is not the place to control costs

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drugb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in providing a great experience to our treasured guests.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and safe travels from the entire team at Metro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great concept & location, but an experience that left me shaking my head. Maybe we got the last room at the inn. Our room looked internally into some kind of shaft - sunlight, but looking into 3 other rooms. Great for a voyeurist, but very strange - had to keep the blinds down as I didn't really want to see into other people's private time. Nice sized room & washroom, but shoddy workmanship/design. The floor felt like it was just cheap carpet on top of plywood. The electrical outlets were falling out of the wall. There was no task lighting - either you had the lights blazing, or there was none. My husband was sick and I was not able to read in bed as there was only an overhead light. Also, couldn't see the coffee machine in the corner as there was no lamp. The closet was poorly designed. Could not hang clothes longer than a shirt as it was above the dresser. Fridge was installed in front of the mirror so couldn't use mirror. Bathroom had chunks out of the ceiling
tiles and base boards were cut poorly. Tiles in shower (shower was actually a nice rain shower) were also poorly cut and installed. The location is great and walking distance to all the better shops and restaurants, as well as farmer's market. Parking across the street. Had a nightcap in the lounge and it was quite lively given the London Knights had played that night. The pictures of the other rooms look better than ours. A nice alternative to the boring chain hotels, but workmanship just leaves me feeling, well, kind of ripped off. Forgot to add the "aromatherapy" in the halls smelled like a man's bad cologne. Something a little more neutral would work better.

Room Tip: A window would be nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zul K, Owner at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Firstly, thanks very much for providing your feedback and staying with us in Historic Downtown London. We are grateful for every guest who walks in through our doors.

Clearly it sounds like you were contending with an illness and that can tend to put a damper on any visit. You are correct about the last room available as you were blocked into our very last room that is designed for quick and practical stays for some of our regular guests. We apologize as this should have been clearly explained to you prior to confirmation. 95% of our rooms are designed for luxurious and pampered stays for trendy travellers, couples, and business clientele.

We would love the opportunity to host you in one of our Loft King Suites equipped with lot's of room, plush King Size beds, walk-in rainfall showers, deep soaker tubs and large windows. Please contact me directly and I'd be happy to make the arrangements personally.

Safe travels and we wish you all the best.

Team Metro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights on business and had a very comfortable stay. A family run hotel but with a boutique touch in its design and finish. Everything was top notch from the luxurious spacious rooms to the great shower. Staff helpful and there's a buzzing bar/restaurant downstairs which served me the best steak I've had since moving to canada.
Free wifi helps too.
Just one slight downside was the nightclub a block away but plays its music loud!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in providing a great experience to our treasured guests.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and safe travels from the entire team at Metro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've been here several times and it's my favourite place to stay in downtown London. The rooms are spacious with a cool urban contemporary feel and high-end finishes. The location couldn't get any better with Covent Market across the street, Budweiser Gardens less than a block away, and lots of great restaurants just steps from the property. The parking garage is under the market so if you park by the correct exit off Covent Market Place all you have to do is cross the street and you're there. Beds are comfy, wireless is free, and the staff are courteous and extremely helpful. Love Hotel Metro!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renpomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 September 2015
We truly appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in providing a great experience to our treasured guests.

We hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and safe travels from the entire team at Metro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia Newfoundland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We travel across Canada twice a year, and stay in hotels and motels along the way. When we arrived at this hotel we discovered that we had to park our vehicle in a parking lot across the street - costing an additional $13. and a good walking distance from the Hotel. The room was very modern, and clean, but smelled strongly of some sort of perfume (which I am allergic to). The bed was not all that comfortable, and I was unable to use the pillow - most hotel pillows are softer. The desk for the computer did not have a light, and a modern plastic chair was not a comfortable place to sit. The front desk clerk was very friendly, and I would recommend this hotel for a fun night stay, but not for a business traveller.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedandbreakfasthost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Westminster
TownePlace Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 32 Covent Market Pl, London, Ontario N6A 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are London’s premiere boutique hotel, nestled in the entertainment district of the downtown area. With a unique blend of lofty minimalism and a dash of trendy flair, we are the perfect escape from the ordinary hotel. We are the perfect blend of past and present contemporary design. At Hotel Metro: Consider it Done! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metro London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing