We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had been visiting London for a funeral, and loved the Lamplighter! We had originally been booked at a different hotel, however once we arrived there we quickly left. We had heard from family that the Lamplighter is a beautiful hotel, so we decided to check it out. The second we walked in, we walked back out to park the car and check in. The Hotel is only I believe 3 levels, we were on the middle level. What I loved most about our room was that it had a balcony- overlooking a resort-typed pool! Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to go swimming, but looking back I wish we could've! There was a stream with fish running around the entire pool area, a pool with a waterfall and volcano-typed water slide. The entire pool area is enclosed in a dome type structure, so light is still seeping in. So, if you don't want to pay the money to go to the caribbean, visit the Lamplighter for the weekend! They also have palm trees in there.

The restaurant was also very nice, the service was productive and the food was tasty.

Will definitely be staying at the Lamplighter upon our next trip to London!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. It is spectacular!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear TalKay,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. Let me first start off with my condolences to you and your family for the passing of a loved one.

We are glad you found your way down to our hidden gem! Many of our guests are pleasantly surprised when they come into the Hotel, and we see you were as well.

The Atrium definitely has a resort feel to it. You cam swim in the pool, ride the waterslide, relax in the hot tub, have a drink at the Gazebo bar, or sit and relax by our Koi pond. And you can do all of this under the retractable glass roof all while being surrounded by live palm trees, exotic plants and flowers which makes it a spectacular view!

Shelly’s Tap & Grill is a great place to eat whether it is for family dining or maybe a romantic dinner in the Fireplace room. There is something here for everyone.

Thank you again for your kind review. We hope you will come back and visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    228
    67
    32
    15
See reviews for
491
154
30
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for a conference and was very impressed! The conference room was spacious, well layed out for all to be able to see and hear the speakers/presenters. Hotel provided the catering, which was fresh, hot and delicious!
The hotel also boasts a large pool with water slide (great for the kids, or kids at heart). Pool area is well planted with beautiful tropical plants and flowers, and has a waterfall and koi pond. For those who don't swim, there is a nice 'poolside' bar where you can relax and just take in the scenery under the skylight (glass ceiling). The poolside bar closes early in the night, but the restaurant (Shelly's) also has a nice bar area and seating. Didn't eat there, but the food looked and smelled fantastic! There are many other restaurants within walking distance as well.
Friendly and efficient front staff were always on hand. Rooms were clean, equipped with a small refrigerator. Free parking. Perfect for a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Some rooms also have pool-view (indoor) balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinah080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear trinah080,

Thank you for writing your response on Trip Advisor. It is always nice to hear from our corporate guests that are here on business that actually get the time to venture out into the Hotel and see all it has to offer.

We are glad to hear you were impressed with the conference rooms, the layout, and that the food catered by the hotel was delicious.

We are also glad you enjoyed your time in the Atrium. It is true; there is something for everyone here. Whether you enjoy swimming, riding the Roaring Mountain Waterslide, relaxing in the Hot tub, having a cocktail at the Gazebo bar or simply sitting on your balcony overlooking the pool area. There is always something to do. And that’s just the Atrium area!

I will be sure to pass this review onto the Sales and Catering Dept, Banquet Dept, and the Management Dept. It is always nice to hear positive reviews from guests to let them know they did a job well done!

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Lamplighter Inn and we hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We traveled to London to see family. We generally go there twice a year. We've stayed at many hotels there. I can't figure out how we could have missed this one. We traveled with our very busy 7 year old. The pool area is a mini tropical oasis. We truly felt like we were at a resort. The pool was at a comfortable 80 degrees, the water in the jacuzzi was hot, and the water slide was a huge hit with our son. The glass ceiling allows for the sun to come in making it feel like we were outdoors. For fan of sunbathing or those who like to relax in the shade, there's a spot for everyone. The size of the pool made it so that it never felt overcrowded.

We watched the groundskeepers do their thing to wonderfully maintain the pool area. They obviously take great pride in maintaining it. It's perfectly kept at all times. There is always a lifeguard at the bottom of the water slide. I am glad they are preoccupied with the safety of their guests. On the Friday night I noticed that the bar overlooking the pool area was open. It may only open on weekends as it wasn't open the night before. Regardless, I thought it was a nice added touch. Something you would find at a resort as well.

The room was comfy. We stayed in room 237 located facing the pool area, however off to the corner facing the lighthouse where the water slide is. No complaints whatsoever about the room. Clean, clean, clean. I did notice in our end of the complex a room in the stairwell. Room 245. I'm not sure I would enjoy staying in that room for the fact that the doors are always opening and closing.

The restaurant attached to the hotel, Shelly's I believe, served a good but inexpensive breakfast.

Staff were very friendly and professional. I recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to London. We will be going back for sure:)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Jellybug72

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

The Lamplighter Inn is a hidden gem within London. By word of mouth and reviews such as yours, people are beginning to discover us and we thank you for that.

The Atrium is the biggest draw to the Lamplighter. There is something here for everyone. The Atrium offers a large indoor pool, hot tub, and waterslide all enclosed under a glass roof that is retractable. There is a gazebo bar which is a great place to relax and have a drink while overlooking the pool area. We have a large koi pond which is always a hit with the kids especially when it’s feeding time! And a fitness room to keep up with your work out schedule.

Our groundskeepers work very hard to maintain the look of the Atrium. With all the exotic plants and flowers, and the different palm trees to care for, they are very proud of the outcome.

We offer many different types of rooms. Atrium view rooms, some with balconies and some with walk out patios to the Atrium. As well we have non-Atrium view rooms that have windows to the outside.

The staff at the Lamplighter all take part in the clean, clean, clean environment as you described. We want everyone who comes here to feel at home and enjoy their time and to make us your vacation destination for the next time you travel!

Shelly’s is a great place to dine at whether it is a family dinner or a romantic dinner. Or relax in the lounge area with the big screens and catch a game.

Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Our family of 4 totally enjoyed our night at Lamplighter and plan on returning soon.
My husband and I brought our 2 girls, aged 9 and 3. Our oldest daughter and I took turns on the thundering waterslide. What a blast! We all swam in the pool until bath time and bedtime. What a treat to be able to have a bathtub and a shower both in the same hotel room! Before turning in, our oldest daughter and I snuck down to the games room for a bit of fun and then sat on the balcony of our room overlooking the atrium, for a late night snack.
Proximity to the hospital was great, as we had an early appointment for one of our daughters. Lamplighter is also close to restaurants and shopping.
From the very helpful and friendly staff to the overall hotel cleanliness it was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Lorrie S,
Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Lamplighter. Our pool and waterslide is the biggest attraction here on the property. We are proud to have the only waterslide in London as well as a fantastic pool all of which is enclosed under a retractable glass roof. It is a perfect place to sit back and relax, whether it is on the deck level, the Gazebo Bar, or from the guest room balconies. It’s a tropical paradise without doing a lot travelling to get there!

We are glad you enjoyed the separate shower stall from bathtub. A lot of families enjoy this as well as seniors seem to enjoy the easy access of it too. We go the extra mile on cleaning hotel rooms and our Housekeeping Staff is one of the best in London! They work hard so that all our guests will feel comfortable in their room or anywhere within the Hotel.

We do have a lot of guests staying with us that have appointments at the Hospital because of our close proximity and our hospital shuttle service. I’m not sure if you are aware but we do offer a hospital shuttle Mon-Fri from 8am-4pm, our shuttle driver goes to all the hospital properties for drop offs and pick ups. That way you don’t have to worry about parking your car there or paying for parking fees.

We strive for guest satisfaction and from your review it looks like all your needs were met. We hope you and your family will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had not been away without our kids in many years and had planned a weekend in the Niagara region. On a whim, we decided to slip away a day early and stop in London. The gentleman (manager?) at the check in was welcoming and friendly. He offered us two rooms, a regular queen or a larger king.When I said we would take the nicer room for the extra few dollars since it was our 25th. He congratulated us and upgraded us to a Fabulous King Suite with jaccuzzi tub for the same price even making sure we got any discounts we were entitled to. The room was amazing. 1 1/2 bath, kitchen, diningroom that seats 10, sunken livingroom, balcony, large bedroom and beautiful ensuite jaccuzzi room and a main bathroom with shower.
Once we were in the room the same gentleman knocked at our door. He had brought us a gift of two bottles of excellent Niagara Region wine.
Our room was spotlessly clean.It was quiet and in a very good location overlooking the atrium. The towels were plush, bathrobes cozy and the bed was very comfortable with plenty of extra pillows.
Every member of the hotel staff we came in contact with was pleasant, cheerful and helpful.
We spent the next 3 days at a 5 star resort and spa but our room at the Lamplighter was nicer and we got much more personal service.
A special thank you to the gentleman at the front desk for being so thoughtful and helping to make our 25th getaway more luxurious.
We will be returning and hope to get room 201 again!

Room Tip: room 201 is a wonderful room for a coulpes special get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Y M,
Thank you for visiting the Lamplighter Inn and spending the first part of your Anniversary with us and Congratulations! We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. At every opportunity we have, we try to make our guests stay memorable, and by reading your review this was definitely the case. I will be sure to let the Front Desk Manager who welcomed you to the Hotel know how much you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in guest reviews such as this, using them as a training tool that this is how we want all of our guests to feel after they leave the Lamplighter.
Thank you again for choosing the Lamplighter and we hope you will spend all of your future Anniversaries with us.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We love going to the Lamplighter for mini-vacations. They have awesome facilities, with the pool, hot tub and water slide. Their staff is very friendly, and eager to help. We have been going for years, and can't wait to go back! It is also a great mini-holiday place for couples, with the beautiful jacuzzi suites.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear BikerKitty,

Thank you for your frequent stays at the Lamplighter Inn and for taking the time to complete a review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting our property so much. We take pride in our ability to offer amenities that cater to all our guests, whether it be a family experiencing the Atrium or a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

I am also pleased to hear you find the staff to be eager and helpful. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stopped at the Best Western Lamplighter in London, Ontario in the wee hours of the morning, on our way home from Chicago to Mississauga. Although we only had a very short distance left to travel, heavy fog made it impossible to continue. The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful and was able to provide a double room for us. The room itself was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. A few hours later, when we awoke and opened the drapes, a pleasant surprise greeted us. Our room had a balcony, and overlooked a beautiful indoor pool, water slide, lighthouse, tropical plants, etc. Wow -- absolutely gorgeous. Too bad we had to leave that morning due to prior commitments. Otherwise we would gladly have stayed another day to enjoy the amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LT082010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear LT082010,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to complete a review.

I am very glad to hear your stay was pleasant and that the front desk clerk was helpful. I understand how tiring travel can be, especially when on such a long road trip. In regards to your comments, the atrium is a very unique space and our guests love it; often times it is their sole reason for travelling.

Thank you again for your visit. Hopefully you will stay with us again when you have more time to enjoy what the Hotel has to offer.

Thank you,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
284 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Rd, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing