We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love that waterslide!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Since I was there last, they improved the restaurant greatly. It wasn't like it was bad food before, but it was kinda standard. Now it's an Irish theme, and great ambiance. My only problem was slow service from the bartender. Maybe if they had another waitress, ...who knows. But the food was good, and the beer cold. What more could you ask for right?

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool, it's got either a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photogeek_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Photogeek_1969,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed dining at Shelly’s Tap & Grill. You are right; we have improved/changed our menu a little bit over the past few months. We still have a large selection so everyone can find something, as well, after reviewing our customer comment cards made a few additions and changes.

I do apologize for the slow service on the lounge side. I will speak with the Restaurant Manager regarding that. Sometimes a person is cut when it seems to be quiet, but there should always be more then 1 server on each side of the restaurant. Thank you for letting me know this so I can correct it.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope next time you are in town you will come to Shelly’s Tap & Grill again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel three nights. The room was excellent. The king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with both a tub and separate shower. Everything was very clean, and quiet. The pool area is very pretty and has a nice bar. Our only concern was that there is no security (card access) on the doors coming in from the parking lot. Anybody can enter the building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Linda N,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you very much liked your room. All of our rooms are spacious along with the washrooms. Some of our rooms do have the separate shower stall from the bath tub like you described, which our guests’ love. Especially when you have children.

While some of the exit doors are not locked, we do have staff and at the hotel 24 hrs. a day. The staff monitor the hotel constantly, checking the hallways, doors, the parking lot, etc. for our guests’ security. On weekends during high occupancy we do bring in a Police Officer as well to help out.

Thank you again for your review Linda. We hope next time you are in the area you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel. It is alot larger than it seems. They have a beautiful pool area with a water slide which my son loved. Our room was comfortable. We had a King bed and a sofa bed for may son. The room was clean and quiet.The Resturant on site is good. Reasonably priced. There are also lots in the area if you want something different.Check in/out was flawless. Staff was freindly. Over all it was a good exprience. I would stay here agian. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gagetman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear gagetman96,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

The Hotel does seem small from the outside, but when you come inside it is quite the opposite. It is always fun to see the look on guest’s faces when they discover the atrium, that something that big and beautiful cannot be seen from the outside. We are London’s hidden gem! The atrium boasts a large pool, waterslide, hot tub, koi pond, and so much more all enclosed under a retractable glass roof. You’ll feel as though you have been transported to a year-round tropical paradise.

We have many different room styles to fit all our guests’ needs. Choose from our traditional rooms to suites, atrium view or non atrium. We also have romance suites with double Jacuzzi & gas fireplaces to our large Family Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your King Suite.

Shelly’s Tap & Grill is on the property serving breakfast (ALL DAY), lunch and dinner. They offer a large menu so there is always something for everyone. They are known for being reasonably priced and having great daily specials.

We are situated in between the 401 and the downtown area, easy access to everything you need.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lamplighter, from check-in to check-out. We hope next time you are in the area you will choose the Lamplighter Inn again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We used to live in London, but I'd never heard of the Lamplighter. When we came to visit & the pool was under reno at the hotel we usually stay at, a friend recommended trying the Lamplighter. They have a great pool w/ waterslide for the kids, nice food, free wi-fi, and washer/dryer use at a reasonable price. Our room is great- a king sized bed, with a fold out queen for the kids, in a separate room. Reasonably priced too. I wish we'd tried this hotel the last time we stayed at a hotel in London.

Room Tip: Rooms beside the pool look like they could be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear reader12,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

We are a hidden gem within London, ON but by word of mouth and great reviews such as yours, people are discovering us and all that we have to offer. Please thank your friend for recommending us:)

The indoor waterpark is one of our greatest features at the Hotel. People are very surprised to see how big the atrium actually is and that it holds an indoor pool, hot tub, waterslide, fitness room, gazebo bar, koi pond, and more all surrounded by exotic gardens enclosed under a retractable glass roof! It’s a pretty amazing environment.

Shelly’s Tap & Grill is on the property which is a great restaurant. They offer a wide selection of food items as well as great daily specials. We do offer free Wi-Fi to all of our guests and customers in the restaurant.

We also have on site washers & dryers for the convenience of our guests. We offer this so our guests can feel at home; you never have to leave the property while here!

We have a variety of room styles to meet all our guests’ desires. Standard rooms, suites, atrium view, non atrium view, romance suites and more. All of our atrium view rooms are pretty soundproof as long as you keep your patio doors closed.

Thank you again for your review and we hope next time you are in the area or are planning a vacation you keep us in mind! We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here. The rooms were exceptional and the beds extremely comfortable. The pool area is a great place to relax and an enjoyment for kids. Check-in/out was very efficient. The only direct comments are that there was no tv channel listing in the room and there was no temperature indicator on the thermostat. It won't be long before the carpets throughout need cleaning. Definitely a quiet stay and we will certainly be back. Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Freedom50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Freedon50plus,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor,

We are happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Lamplighter Inn. We provide comfortable mattresses throughout the Hotel, all dressed with premium linens. One wing featuring Tempur-Pedic mattresses.

The Atrium area is the perfect place to relax. Enjoy the pool, hot tub, take a ride down the waterslide, or catch some rays under the retractable glass roof. The Atrium is a great spot for everyone!

While we don’t carry a tv channel guide in the rooms, because we are with Rogers Cable, channel 10 is a guide to all listings for upcoming shows.

Each room has its own thermostat for self control. Because there are 3 different wings it is hard to determine which type of thermostat controller you had. I do apologize for the confusion.

Because we are an extremely busy Hotel, the carpets are cleaned quite often. Sometimes there are stains that might not lift as easily as others and in time that carpet will be replaced.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Spotless, well maintained, and great service. Pool area and slide are great, water kept very warm....outdoor feel with open windows to the sky. Big surprise, the restaurant on site, Shellys Tap and grill...4.99 breakfast and dinner specials with salad bar....I appreciated the family atmosphere...no smoking or drinking in pool area or common areas....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear buffalonian,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It gives us great pleasure when a guest posts a review on our hotel calling it spotless, well maintained and great service. It lets all of us know we have done a job well done and we thank you for that!

Shelly’s Tap & Grill is a great place to eat whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner. The menu is large so there is always something for everyone. We do offer a daily breakfast special and a soup and salad bar special, the prices are great! As well, we also offer an ALL DAY Breakfast menu for those who like to sleep in a little.

The pool, hot tub and waterslide are all enclosed under a retractable glass roof so even though you are indoors you can still feel the breeze, catch some rays of sun, and enjoy all the exotic flowers and plants that surround you. It makes you feel as though you are on a resort when in fact you are still in London, ON!

We are a 100% non smoking facility which makes it a great family atmosphere. And for those who smoke, there are designated places outside.

We hope you enjoyed your stay enough that the next time in London you will stay with us again
and make it another great vacation!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Love the place I stayed there foronce a month for 20 months only needed to be in London for the one day but some how alwaysstayed 2 days or more I travel there for a medical condition and staying at the Best Western just turn the whole trip into something so pleasant very comfortable beds clean room and has many pillows and towels has you wanted they oasis is hust like sitting had the beach and the Tikki bar made great Nacho for my son and a awsome Marqueritta for me its home.thank you .P.S always some kind of snack at the desk to keep those anxious children happy while waitting to process youre transaction

Room Tip: my fav you can have it when am not in town room 119.Make a reservation it fill real fast ,tip even w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogernSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear RogernSuzie,

Thank you for placing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy you chose the Lamplighter to stay at while in London. We have a lot of medical guests who stay with us due to the close proximity of the hospitals, and that we have a hospital shuttle who will drive you to and pick you up from your appointments. This way you avoid the expense parking fees and we are pretty familiar with the hospital properties so we can drop you off at the entrance you need.

It’s nice to hear from our guests that while they are in London for medical appointments they can relax and almost make a small vacation out of it back at the Lamplighter. The Atrium is definitely a place to relax, take a swim, unwind in the hot tub, or enjoy a Margarita as you did at the Gazebo bar.

Thank you for you kind review. We hope you will come back to stay with us again when in London.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
354 reviews
Hotel Metro
#7 of 41 in London
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Rd, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £80 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing