We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mini vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked a one night stay at this hotel just as a little stop over when heading somewhere else. We planned it so that we could check in at 3pm and enjoy the facilities. It was great! We have only been home since last night and my husband is asking when we are going again. The atrium with pool and hot tub is absolutely beautiful. The pool was nice and warm. Our room was a king with fireplace and Jacuzzi. It was spotless and very nice. They provided all kinds of nice little extras like lip balm and bath salts and robes. We don't usually book the fancier rooms but I am glad we did this time. Worth every penny! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again even if it is not in the fancy room. They have rooms that over look the atrium which would be nice too. The whole place was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMacaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely response. I am so glad that you and your husband were able to enjoy a romantic getaway in our tropical paradise. It certainly is an easier way to go South - no passports required.
We look forward to you taking your husband up on his suggestion to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

961 - 967 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Excellent room, especially the beding, and was f ortuante to have a balcony overlooking the pool which allowed us to view our grandchildren in style.
Resturant was excellent at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Jack W,
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn.
I agree with you, the beds and bedding are fantastic, and the atrium rooms are great! They are perfect for guests travelling with children, as it sounds you were.
Shelly's Tap and Grill our on-site restaurant is very popular and our guests enjoy the reasonable prices and the quantity of the servings - little ones love the children's menu.
Be sure to bring your grandchildren back for another visit. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Surprised by the water facilities and atrium, totally unexpected. Would be outstanding for a family adventure.
However, our wing of the hotel did NOT connect to the atrium, had no elevator, and was a long walk to the lobby. On the plus side, as we weren't there to splash 'n play, it was much quieter, and more private. Just make sure you're okay without an elevator ( stay on first floor) and in the pool section if you want to overlook the action and have a small terrace or balcony.
Room was immaculate, beds VERY comfortable, staff extremely pleasant and helpful.
About a five-ten minute taxi ride to town center, about the same distance by car from 401. Taxi phones on premises and happy to book in advance for pick-up. Drivers were exceedingly careful, friendly, and helpful.
Lots of pluses, actually, but gave 4's for our room location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear greagan,
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
You are not alone in being “wowed” by our Atrium at The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn. The large indoor pool, waterslide, hot tub, Gazebo bar, koi pond and more are all enclosed under a retractable glass roof. No matter what time of the year it is, the Lamplighter always has a tropical feel to it.
I am glad to hear all encounters with staff were excellent. We strive for excellent customer service. We want you to feel as comfortable here as you would at home and will go the extra mile for you to do so.
I must say I agree with you, the beds are very comfortable. A good night’s sleep is important.
I will let you know that all wings connect to the Atrium. It sounds like your room was in the west wing where the connection is in the middle of the hallway. The pans have been drawn up for the elevator in the west wing and we hope to have it completed by years end.
Once again, thank you for your comments .I hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed at this Inn recently as part of a large group and on several occasions over the past 10 years as part of the same large group on business workshops/meetings. The facilities at this place are great. The bedrooms are large enough and more than adequate. The rooms are cleaned good daily, the beds comfortable for a good nights sleep and plenty of towels. The food is good at the restaurant and sometimes we ate at other restaurants near the Inn. The pool is large and good. The meeting is large enough as well. Will definitely return to this Inn in the future whenever our business group is in London. Will also use this Inn when our family is in the London area in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryPat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear CountryPat3

Thank you for posting your comments to Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities at The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn. We have many groups, meetings and conferences return year after year, clearly your group is one of them.
We aim to please and our goal is to make sure all of our guests whether they are staying with us for business or please feel as comfortable here as they would at home.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We decided that after the craziness of Christmas, we needed some downtime with our kids. We stayed for 2 nights in a one bedroom suite. Our room overlooked the waterfall and opening our bedroom window made it feel like we were in the tropics.
The room itself was great, and the staff was very helpful in bringing us extra items such as blankets, a pack n' play and even a microwave to warm up bottles.
The kids loved the pool and could have spent the whole day there. We even ate most meals at the hotel restaurant which had reasonably good food. We came away from our mini vacation feeling well rested and now our kids have been begging to come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear TravellingReader,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn. We do our best to make our guests feel as comfortable as they would at home.
Glad you enjoyed our on-site restaurant, Shelly’s . That said, when are you coming back !!!
We hope you visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hotel is designed around an atrium which should be a selling point, but in fact distorts the layout of the hotel so that rooms are tightly fitted into small corridors. Plus you need a compass to find your way between places. Add the fact that the hotel is a popular destination with parents and teams eager to hit the bar while their kids dominate the pool and you have a recipe for disaster if you are looking for a restful stay. A great place for anyone under the age of 50.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear inPhil,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
First of all, let me begin by apologizing that your stay was not pleasant and that our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We do our best to provide amenities to all of our guests, regardless of whether they are travelling for business or pleasure.
To your point that “you need a compass” to find your way between places, any large property is difficult to navigate, however our staff are always around especially during peak check –in periods to help direct new visitors. We always give directions upon check-in with the easiest access for parking. Each guest wing has additional entrances so that you don’t have to walk far.
You are correct in your assumption that the hotel is a popular destination for sports teams and parents; however, we also serve the corporate traveler, hospital stays, weddings and many meeting and conferences.
During all peak periods we have security that patrols the property along with our Duty Managers to monitor the amount of noise and activity, in all areas of the hotel. We do our best to be proactive; however we do also rely on guests to notify us should there be an issue that requires more attention.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope we will be given the opportunity to show you in the future that we can deliver an excellent experience for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
348 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Rd, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £79 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing