We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel offers an indoor pool and spa in a tropical setting for a very reasonable price. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Hotel staff were helpful. The property was close to shopping and a variety of restaurant choices. The meeting rooms were quite suitable for our group and the catering for our meals and breaks was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with our property. We appreciate knowing that our guests enjoy both the service and amenities. We hope that you will visit our little Oasis the next time you are in London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    253
    74
    33
    16
See reviews for
560
168
32
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed in a lot of Best Western hotels. This was our first stay at the London location and I got to say...........OMG what a friendly, clean and just a nice nice place to stay!

Ok I travel with 'cleaning cloths' and when I enter a hotel room ......I clean all around. I got to say ...this Best Western...my cloths did not leave my bag!! The bathroom was so shiny and NOT ONE HAIR to see!! By far this is the best hotel we have stayed in by far!!
Breakfast was $4.99 , 2 eggs, 2 bacon,2 sausage and potatoes or pancakes...that is nuts!! So delicious and staff was so perky so early in the morning. Oppps and the bed was totally awesome!!
Just a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinytina2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We appreciate very much you taking the time to post your review! We are very pleased that you had such a positive all around experience. Shelly’s Tap & Grill is open 7 days a week and also offers room service as well. Our “Wake Up” Breakfast Special at $4.99 is available Monday to Saturday from 6:30a.m. until noon…but we serve Breakfast all day regardless.
Feedback such as you have just shared helps to keep our staff motivated. Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and it was perfect. My son had a camp in London during the mornings so my wife and daughter were able to stay at the hotel and had lots of fun. The pool is a little small for the size of hotel. But the waterslide is a lot of fun.

We had a room overlooking the atrium and it was very quite when the door was closed.

The atrium is gorgeous and it was nice sitting on the balcony in the morning and having a cup of coffee with the sound of the waterfalls.

Definitely recommend. However be aware it can get busy as it is a popular spot for sports teams.

Room Tip: Worth extra for a room overlooking the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrMan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our property. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed our facilities and our Tropical Atrium Oasis. The swimming pool and deck is approximately 3000 square feet not including our Koi fish pond, Water Fall and Water Slide. Although some weekends throughout the year can most certainly be very busy with teams there are many weekends and weekdays that are still great for those special getaways. I would suggest calling ahead directly to the hotel to find out what suites you best. Thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We have stayed at this location many times. First time was when our grandson was born at the hospital close by. We have enjoyed numerous family visits. Great Hotel, Staff & Location! Thank you Wendy!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Win R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. And funnily enough, when in the pool, you do see the sun, the moon and the stars through the retractable glass roof. We are really glad you and your family enjoy it.

We always look forward to your visits and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stanley, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We decided as a family to stay at the Lamplighter for a getaway. It was close to home but it felt like a mini vacation. We took the grandchildren and they had a greattime and as well we had dinner. It was a major blizzard outside but we were nice and warm and felt like the tropics. Could become a familt tradition at Christmas.

Room Tip: Have a room off the pool and imagine you are on vacation in the tropics
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our Tropical Paradise. It is especially nice when you look out the glass roof to see snow falling above the pool and know that you are amongst the palm trees and koi fish in this less than tropical weather. I am glad to hear that you may look to us for your next Christmas getaway - please note, Santa comes here too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I had no stayed at a Best Western for many years and was definitely delighted with this property. The room was very clean and well appointed. We had a view and a balcony overlooking the indoor pool area. The service was very good and the onsite restaurant was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckrobynToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We are glad to welcome you back to Best Western Hotels and in particular our property. We take pride in ensuring that we represent the brand and ourselves in the most positive light.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We visited the hotel during March break and had a wonderful visit. This is a large place with a beautiful pool with real palm trees and lush greenery. The staff were helpful. It was a excellent choice for a mini vacation to beat the winter blues. My son loved it and we will return again soon. We had a mini suite that was poolside. I would strongly recommend paying the little extra it costs as it was well worth it. Excellent value. The resturant Shellys has great breakfast and Lunch specials and was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ground floor poolside rooms are the best for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niagara58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your March Break getaway. This year was very different for us as London also hosted the World Figure Skating Championship so our pool area was much quieter that it normally is during March Break. We try and offer different activities to our March Break guests including movie night, feed the fishes ,daily features in Shelly's Tap & Grill and a Jungle tour with Phil on a daily basis. We have found that our guests really enjoy being part of our whole atrium area and not just the pool.
We hope that you will think of us for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
326 reviews
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing