We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Atrium Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Atrium Oasis”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is guaranteed to please. We stayed in a King size suite and we were amazed at how large it was. Two large flat screen TV's: One in the Bedroom and the other in the living room. The walk out balconi over looked the the beautiful Atrium. It's just like a little villa with real palm trees/garden, walk-ways, large water falls, large fish pond, large pool, slide, hot tub, pool towels/toys, life-guards, gazebo/bar, exercise room and more! All with a warm climate of a tropical paradise. In the summer the glass roof retracts and in the winter it's closed, giving you the feeling of being on vacation in the south. We will return to this hotel in the future once again. Thanks to Best Western for the great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for posting this fantastic description of our hotel and Atrium Oasis! We are so happy you were pleased with your room and with our tropical paradise, and we look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    228
    67
    32
    15
See reviews for
491
154
30
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent two nights at this hotel and I only wish it had been longer! We had a king suite with a view of the atrium. The room was of perfect size, comfortable and exceptionally clean. The only things that I would note however was that the guest directory was full of crumbs and had things sticking to the pages from previous guests. It was kind of gross and off putting trying to look through it for information. I know that Best Westerns have a 110% clean guarantee and this is definitely something they should have housekeepers double check. Also, our door was fairly frustrating at to get it closed when leaving the room you had to really slam it. We later discovered if we stuck our key in the lock, turned the handle and then closed it, it shut easier. Minor things though and this definitely didn't influence the great experience we had. Staff were very friendly, from the front desk agents to the pool attendants to the house keepers. Everyone was great and had a smile on their face. The pool and waterslide were beautiful and very enjoyable. The overall layout and decoration of the atrium and pool area makes you feel like you're somewhere tropical. Waterfalls and real fish only make it more stunning. We had breakfast in the restaurant and while the food was good the time we spent waiting for it was a bit extreme. We felt we could have enjoyed a meal of the same quality elsewhere with a shorter wait time.

We had a great time and will definitely be back. I would say this is one of the best (if not THE best) hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MOJO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn, and also for your recommendation! We love hearing when our guests have had a great stay, and we also appreciate any constructive feedback. We will be passing along your comment regarding the directory to our housekeeping department as well as the long wait time to our restaurant so that we can continue to improve our product and service. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skead, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Loved it at this hotel and in London On....would go again for sure....great pool area with hot tub and lighthouse that has wate slide thru it and comes out into another smaller pool overlooking the bigger pool and hot tub below...like a tropical trip with all the beautiful palm trees and vegetation..even a walk above that you can do looking down at the pool..and many rooms looking out to the pool with balconies off the rooms...and an added bonus a bar area in white gazebo overlooking the pool...never been to a nice hotel like this before in On. Very close to good shopping mall...and many good restaurants..we loved the fish n chip halibut dinner and clam chowder at Archies and the offee was very good too. .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Cheryl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of the Lamplighter Inn! We love when our guests tell us they feel like they are on a tropical trip at our hotel because that is the experience we aim to create! We are thrilled to hear that you would return again in the future and we hope you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent value, accommodation and service. The beds were very comfortable and room quiety. This is a well managed and updated hotel. the housekeeping staff checked in to see if I had everything I needed in my room. The pool area is amazing and the overall set up and facilities are above average.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello Lauren,
We are so appreciative that you took the time to write this review of the Lamplighter Inn, and we are very happy to hear that you feel our facilities are above average! We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I were at this Best Western Plus for the night of August 11, 2013. (We often stay at Best Westerns when travelling for pleasure.)
It was the third time for me at this particular hotel as I had been there before on business. Check-in was very good, with friendly and helpful staff.

Our room, overlooked the large in-door pool and atrium, with a separate area for fish and atrium. It had a large room that be opened or closed and with bedroom being separate from a sitting area, and had everything we needed. Both have TV. A fridge is also included.

We enjoyed the pool, although it was on the full side with children. But they have as much right to use it as adults do.

However, the room carpets are noticeably showing signs of wear and could use replacement. The same goes for some of the wooden furniture.

The restaurant, which had very few patrons in it so was not busy, disappointingly was only 'ok' at best. While front desk service was great, the restaurant service was slow and the food a disappointment, much to our chagrin.

We may go back the next time we are in that area, if for no other reason than to see if the needed upgrades, as well as the front desk alterations, have been completed, but that remains to be seen.

If friends ask about this hotel, we won't be all negative but will just give our honest views. Based on this visit, we wouldn't call it "very good" but would allow overall "good". The restaurant, this time, rated no more than an "average", in our humble opinion and to our surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the atrium. Those rooms each have a balcony, albeit very small ones, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob&Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hello Rob & Liz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience at our property. We enthusiastically welcome all feedback from our guests and use constructive comments as a valuable tool to help us constantly improve our product and service.
We are in the process of upgrading all of our public areas, and we have plans in place to upgrade some of our rooms as well. We are a very busy hotel and as a result the furniture in our guest rooms will show wear and tear from time to time, however we do have a furniture medic come in to touch up the wooden furniture regularly.
I am very sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your experience in our restaurant. The service and quality of food you described is not at all consistent with our standards and your feedback will be addressed by the restaurant manager.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope that you will return once our public area upgrades are complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario,CANADA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The list of amenities is on the hotel's web site, so the focus here is on impressions and the unsaid. For instance, this is a truly PET FRIENLY establishment. Our WestWing room had a sliding door giving on a lawn. Then, the building stretches a whole street block so you're as quiet and privy as can be. Drapes really shade from oudoor light. And this must be known to a whole segment of clientele who use this as a relaxing refuge while visiting patients at the hospital one block away. And one more point:service! Impeccable. Efficient,competent, client driven. This overnight stay EXCEEDED our expectations by a quantum. The Shellby's restaurant and room service came as an unexpected crowning complement...and all of this at a price that defies competition.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeniatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you so much for this review of your recent stay at the Lamplighter Inn! We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are so grateful when our guests let us know that we have succeeded! We are very happy to hear that you were comfortable in your room, and it sounds like your pet was comfortable too! We hope that you will return to the Lamplighter Inn again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Went their primarily because of the water slide for my daughter now that she is tall enough to go on it. Had not been to this hotel for 10 years and after this trip would recommend it.

The lifeguard staff were excellent. Could be a horrible job sitting doing nothing all day and have seen many places where staff, especially younger staff get lax in performing their duties. This trip lifeguards Michelle, Mallory and the young man whose name now alludes me were all attentive, assuring all the kids were safely using the slide and were quick to remind children of the rules when necessary.

Mallory in particular made an extra effort to encourage my girl who was a little intimidated with trying the slide out at first - It was the confidence boost she needed to get going and before long had gone down the slide 50 times. Was also nice for me knowing I could leave my 8 year-old to enjoy the slide and staff were actively monitoring the kids.

For a room we got a King suite that was facing the outside. The room had lots of space, was comfortable and looked very new. (not sure if they had recently renovated). Also liked the way the doors are recessed from the hallway so you don't get as much noise from people in the hallway.

Unfortunately we only stayed one night so really didn't get a chance to settle in and truly enjoy the pool - which looks amazing at night. Next time we're planning to do two nights so we can really get a good visit in. Because we were there on a holiday Monday we had the opportunity to use the slide both in the evening and in the morning however if you are planning a visit with children to use the slide it is open limited hours during the week so you may want to double check times before planning your trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebrocq17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review of our hotel and for your lovely comments about our lifeguard staff – I will be sure to pass them along! We are so happy to hear that your daughter had a blast on the waterslide now that she is taller than 4 feet! We look forward to your return, and we hope you can stay with us for a few nights this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
284 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Rd, London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing