We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parts under construction but awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Parts under construction but awesome stay”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Super clean and under new expansion. Friendly front desk staff. Pool area is like something from Disney World! Super comfy beds and modern tv. Wi fi is weak near room 134 (furthest from lobby) would recommend this hotel to anyone. They also offered hospital visit reduced room rate.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aesmith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation! We are happy to hear that you were impressed with our tropical atrium and pool area, and that you found our beds to be comfortable. We hope you will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    240
    71
    33
    16
See reviews for
515
160
31
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. Nice room. Very clean. I found the bed a little hard but that's me. The pool area is amazing. Pool was colder then I expected but hot tub was perfect. Hot! We ate at the restaurant on site, was good.
I will be staying again. Great location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank evanescencetabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of the Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are planning on returning. When you make your reservation you may want to request a room with a Tempur-Pedic mattress – we actually have a whole wing equipped with these fantastic mattresses! Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Took a mini getaway with our young children. Loved the pool and atrium felt like an oasis. Rooms were clean and comfy and the hotel restaurant Shelly's was fantastic! Great food and wonderful kids options. Best daquiri I have had in years and delish meals.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hello Scott,
Thank you for this great review, we are so happy to hear that you loved your mini getaway at the Lamplighter Inn! We hope that you and your family will return again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The rooms are comfortable and the hallways are quiet. Cleanliness is impeccable. The friendly staff all say hello and smile. Wireless internet access is strong everywhere. It is sometimes a bit of a wait to get turned left onto Wellington St., but that would be the only drawback to the location. The hotel restaurant is as good as any around the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello Julie,

Thank you very much for this great review of our hotel and restaurant! We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that you were impressed with our facility. We are so appreciative that you took the time to post these comments on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

So we get to the hotel and it's actually pretty nice, get to our room and the hallway out side our room was babysitting at least 20 children!!! Parents drinking in the rooms with doors open, it was at that moment I realized our stay was not going to be worth almost 200.00 a night.
Try to make the best of this stay and go down to the pool-- my 13 year old son couldn't even enjoy himself bc kids were jumping on him while he was trying to use the pool, I would have loved to use the hot tub, but couldn't even get into it bc it was PACKED WITH KIDS. I just don't understand these parents allowing their kids to run wild and take up a hot tub they shouldn't be in anyways!! I think the parents should be embarrassed and ashamed even my 13 year old said on the way back to the room after our 30 mins there that he couldn't stand another min and that he couldn't believe the parents allowed the kids to behave like that. Running, jumping on people taking up the entire hot tub. I'm all for having fun but this was beyond redic! So now were back in the room going to rent a overpriced movie instead hopefully we can hear it over the kids who are being babysat by the hallway! I will never stay here again and I will also be advising others I know not to stay here as well unless they at the very least assure parents and kids are flowing the rules clearly stated and ensure to keep the kids out of the hot tub and out of the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dereknash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Hello Derek,
I would like to begin by sincerely thanking you for taking the time to share your observations regarding your stay with us over the weekend. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel itself to be nice! I am very sorry that you felt that the behavior of some of our guests hindered your ability to enjoy your stay with us. We do have rules and regulations in place which are meant to prevent this type of activity, and on weekends when we have several sports teams in house we employ a fully uniformed off duty police officer as security during the evening. These officers and our Managers on Duty are normally very quick to respond when a guest calls down to notify us of any unruly behavior that is disrupting their stay. We encourage all of our guests to please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay more comfortable, so that we have the opportunity to address any concerns and make them right. Unfortunately we have found that even the presence of uniformed police officers sometimes does nothing to curb the inattention of some parents. The Hotel staff certainly tries to inform any non-sports team guest when we will have teams in house so that the non-team guest can make an informed decision about their reservation; however this is not something that we are able to do when guests book online.
Thank you once more for taking the time to write this review. Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. We will be addressing your concerns with our Managers on Duty and working together to avoid this type of situation from happening in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is guaranteed to please. We stayed in a King size suite and we were amazed at how large it was. Two large flat screen TV's: One in the Bedroom and the other in the living room. The walk out balconi over looked the the beautiful Atrium. It's just like a little villa with real palm trees/garden, walk-ways, large water falls, large fish pond, large pool, slide, hot tub, pool towels/toys, life-guards, gazebo/bar, exercise room and more! All with a warm climate of a tropical paradise. In the summer the glass roof retracts and in the winter it's closed, giving you the feeling of being on vacation in the south. We will return to this hotel in the future once again. Thanks to Best Western for the great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for posting this fantastic description of our hotel and Atrium Oasis! We are so happy you were pleased with your room and with our tropical paradise, and we look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent two nights at this hotel and I only wish it had been longer! We had a king suite with a view of the atrium. The room was of perfect size, comfortable and exceptionally clean. The only things that I would note however was that the guest directory was full of crumbs and had things sticking to the pages from previous guests. It was kind of gross and off putting trying to look through it for information. I know that Best Westerns have a 110% clean guarantee and this is definitely something they should have housekeepers double check. Also, our door was fairly frustrating at to get it closed when leaving the room you had to really slam it. We later discovered if we stuck our key in the lock, turned the handle and then closed it, it shut easier. Minor things though and this definitely didn't influence the great experience we had. Staff were very friendly, from the front desk agents to the pool attendants to the house keepers. Everyone was great and had a smile on their face. The pool and waterslide were beautiful and very enjoyable. The overall layout and decoration of the atrium and pool area makes you feel like you're somewhere tropical. Waterfalls and real fish only make it more stunning. We had breakfast in the restaurant and while the food was good the time we spent waiting for it was a bit extreme. We felt we could have enjoyed a meal of the same quality elsewhere with a shorter wait time.

We had a great time and will definitely be back. I would say this is one of the best (if not THE best) hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MOJO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn, and also for your recommendation! We love hearing when our guests have had a great stay, and we also appreciate any constructive feedback. We will be passing along your comment regarding the directory to our housekeeping department as well as the long wait time to our restaurant so that we can continue to improve our product and service. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
305 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing