We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have used the Lamplighter for several years whenever I am in London. The staff make this great facility even better than it is and it is a great facility. The rooms are modern, clean and have all the comforts of a much more expensive property. The only quibble is that the exercise room needs a serious update. The food and service in the restaurant and lounge add to the overall value and experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McSmith978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you very much for this review of the Lamplighter Inn, and for being such a loyal guest! We are thrilled that you choose to return to our hotel when you are in town. I will definitely pass along your kind words about our staff, they will be happy to hear that all of their hard work is appreciated. I will also pass along your comment regarding our fitness room – we appreciate all comments from our guests, even constructive ones! Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Phil the hospital shuttle driver was great! He kept me entertained with stories on my daily visits to University Hospital while my daughter was a patient for 13 days. The staff at the front desk were wonderful too and accommodated my requests to extend my stay until my daughter was discharged from the hospital.

Room Tip: Beds were extremely hard fridge froze milk Hot Tub was awesome at the end of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherinet403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor! We are so happy that we were able to accommodate your extended stay, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Phil, he will be thrilled! We wish you and your daughter all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We recently chose this hotel to stay at while we are always in London for doctors visits and usually stay overnight. We chose this hotel due to the fact they had a pool and it was very close to the hospital. The Atrium and pool were so cold that even the 2 11 yr old boys got out due to it being too cold. The room was very clean and hotel was very quiet while we were there. The tropical getaway feature of this trip was just too cold to enjoy. Overall great hotel but it could use the pool temp and atrium temp turned up.

Room Tip: atrium rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleCampeau23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Lamplighter Inn! We are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and that your overall impression is a good one! With regard to the temperature of the atrium and pool, we have been monitoring the temperatures in this area closely. With the unseasonably low temperatures we have been experiencing this winter, keeping a constant warm temperature in the atrium is extremely difficult given its size and glass roof. We apologize that your children were unable to enjoy the pool due to the cold, and I can assure you that we are doing all we can to maintain a comfortable temperature, and continue to do so. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that when you return your children will have a more enjoyable experience in our pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We loved this hotel!!! It was myself and two kids and we had a room right by the water slide. The pool was beautiful, the rooms were clean and quiet (for being right by the water slide). Our room had a little garden around the patio; which, made it feel even more tropical. The staff seemed friendly enough. They had a little arcade (nothing spectacular but enough to give the kids something to do for a half hour or so). The restaurant on site was great, too. Plenty of options to please everyone.

Everything was great here - if it wasn't so far from home, I think we would make it a weekend get away, every so often instead of once a year.

My only complaint is the height restriction for the water slide - my son is a pretty good swimmer and not afraid of the water slide; but, was just not quite tall enough. I had a hard time finding the height restriction on the website - which is pretty important when traveling with kids.

We were seeing a show downtown London - it was a little out of the way from downtown; but, still the preferred place to stay.

We booked a weekend special, which included two nights, game tokens, voucher for the restaurant and a free in-room movie. Well worth it!

But other than that, it was fantastic and I would definitely return to this hotel and have no problem recommending to friends and family.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids - make sure you check the height restriction for the water slide. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at the Lamplighter Inn! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room with the walk-out to our tropical atrium. Thank you for mentioning the 4 foot height restriction for our water slide. We will be sure to highlight this information more clearly on our website as well as our social media outlets so that there are no surprises when our guests arrive. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again sooner than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice with good amenities and decent rooms with new TV's and comfortable beds. However They often have hockey families staging with very loud children and very little Consideration for other guests . Its a pity because it spoiled our enjoyment of an otherwise decent place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MrW0rldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at our hotel, and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your guest room. We are very sorry that you weren’t able to enjoy your stay as a result of the sports teams we had in house over the weekend. Our award winning pool and waterslide are indeed a draw for families and we are one of the first hotels in the area to fill up with sports teams on weekends when there is a tournament in town. We do our best to advise guests who are not with the sports groups when there is a tournament at the time of booking, however it is not possible to communicate this all guests since many people choose to book their reservations online. We go to great lengths to maintain order in the hotel on these weekends, including enlisting the help a uniformed police officer to monitor the hallways. We do appreciate when our guests notify us of any excessive noise or disturbances so that they can be addressed immediately, since the officer and our duty managers cannot be everywhere in the hotel at once. We sincerely hope you will give us another try, and we recommend calling the hotel directly to make your reservation. If it is possible for you to book a weekend when we do not have sports teams in house we can assure you that you will have an enjoyable and relaxing experience at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Wish we had planned this visit better, as it turned out to be amazing and we wished we were staying a bit longer. The room was great, very clean and quiet. The hotel itself has a large swimming pool with a twisted water slide. Over looking the pool there is a terraced area with seating and a cocktail bar. The restaurant onsite was beautiful and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance to get better rates and more chance of getting a room with a balcony overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you so much for this review, we love hearing when our guests don’t want to leave – it means we are doing a good job! We are very happy that you found your room to be clean and quiet and you enjoyed our tropical atrium as well as Shelly’s Tap & Grill. We hope you can stay longer the next time you visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Clean rooms, friendly staff and the pool is wonderful....close to the hospital for convenience monthly..excellent meals at the restaurant and easily access without leaving the hotel..my first choice to stay in London Ont...:-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

We love that we are your first choice when you stay in London! Thank you very much for saying so on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
343 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing